We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sam's No. 3

Sam's No. 3
1500 Curtis St, Denver, CO 80202-2343
303-534-1927
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #27 of 2,508 restaurants in Denver
Price range: $0 - $15
Cuisines: American, Diner, Greek, Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Description: Sam’s No. 3™ was the third of five Coney Islands restaurants opened by Sam Armatas during the 1920′s. The original location was at 1527 Curtis Street in the heart of downtown Denver.On Sept. 28th, 1998, Sam’s son, Spero, with his grandsons Sam, Alex, and Patrick, re-established his most famous of the Coney Islands restaurants, Sam’s No. 3™. In honor of the age old tradition, they made a promise to each other to continue to provide excellent quality of food and embrace the inviting, warm atmosphere started by “Mr. Sam” more than 75 years ago!In April 2011, our little kitchen was featured on Food Networks "Diners, Drive-ins and Dives". We were selected because so many local fans had written. A must-stop on any trip to Denver.
New Orleans, LA
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Awesome Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

This place was very good. They are sort of a mix between American, Mexican, and Greek. They were featured on Diners, Drive-ins, and Dives and have an icon on the menu to let you know what Guy tried.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

609 reviews from our community

88% Recommend
    308
    231
    52
    11
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Huge menu”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013 via mobile

4 or 5 page menu . So many choices it could be cut down. Green chili fries were awesome. Meatloaf melt was a little to thick for my liking. Toaster oven was on the fritz smelled burnt bread most of my visit. Staff was accommodating and everyone's food was all around good . Above average diner and worth a visit if your in the area.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Awesome Breakfast!!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

As many have stated, I tried Sam's No. 3 because of the feature on Diners, Drive-ins and Dives plus the recommendation from my amazing concierge whom I explained that I wanted a great breakfast at a decent price unlike the breakfast I had the previous morning at the hotel. I LOVE IT! Firstly, I feel anytime there is a wait, there has to be something good happening in the kitchen, and I was not disappointed. Luckily, we happened upon some counter seating which is first come, first seat. This cancelled out our 45 minute wait which was great because we were starving. There was more food than could be eaten at one setting on my plate. I got the Greek Skillet and it was phenomenal. The Kickin' Pork Green Chili sauce had a little heat, but not too much to where it was unbearable and gave a great added dimension to the meal.

Overall, I would definitely recommend this spot as a go to for breakfast, which by the way is served all day! The staff was friendly and I wouldn't hesitate to return.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Lots of food, friendly staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013 via mobile

It was packed on a Saturday morning so we sat at the counter. Service was fast. My omelet order was a bit mixed up when it was given to somebody else. They quickly made another so I started on the mini cakes which were huge, super light and hot. I would definitely go back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“I am truly surprised by all these great reviews!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

First and foremost...it was dirty: The walls, the booths, the silverware. Not just dust. grime.
Chili came out cold and in a chipped (not just one chip) bowl. The chili was not great. Really folks, it wasn't great. The burgers were okay. One of our burgers was smothered...so that bread was ..well, smothered. The other burger's bread was toasted....and well....that bread was burnt (not just dark brown). Fries were ok. Coleslaw was not ok.
I didn't order drinks but did look at the drink menu and some sounded great. So maybe after a few I could look over the dirt and just enjoy myself too.
Then again,no, I wont be going back.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sam's No. 3 also viewed

 

Been to Sam's No. 3? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sam's No. 3, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.