We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good shushi (huge rolls), OK atmosphere” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sonoda's - CLOSED

Sonoda's
1620 Market St, Denver, CO 80202 (Downtown)
(303) 595-9500
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Japanese, Seafood, Sushi
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Downtown
Transit: 16th Street Mall "Free" shuttle bus.
New Mexico
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
“Good shushi (huge rolls), OK atmosphere”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

The sushi at Sonoda's was good. The rolls are very large. I had 2 rolls and could barely finish them. Had the dragon roll and the poki roll. Both very tasty. However, there is no atmosphere or ambiance. The building is old, not well kept, and really nothing special about it. Go there for the food, it's very good, but not for the atmosphere.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

38 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    14
    6
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Arvada, Colorado
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Loved it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

My girlfriend and I ate here on 3-8-2013 for the first time and were very impressed. We had a 6-piece oyster sampler (the best we have ever eaten) and the 5280 special which had several different types of sushi, beef, veggies and shrimp which was very good as well.
The service was top-notch and always with a smile. Upon departure we were also given a sincere thanks.
Accessibility was very easy via light-rail and the 16th street mall shuttle which was greatly appreciated by my as I despise finding a parking spot while in the downtown area.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly, Wyoming
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Great sushi in a funky little place.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013 via mobile

Great location if you're staying downtown. The sushi is wonderful. Great specials at good prices. My wife only likes vegetable sushi and she was happy as well. NOT one of the new, glitzy sushi places around the 16th Street Mall. You have to really look for this place, but its worth it.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurora, Colorado
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Good food for all”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

Great vegetarian sushi options and great tofu steak. Also many options for everyones taste. Have been there many times with friends and family and no one has ever had a complaint

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurora, Colorado
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Delicious sushi!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

This family-owned restaurant is perfect for down-to-earth sushi! The atmosphere is appropriate for sharing lunch with business colleagues. The food taste delicious. Adventurous? Try out the chirasi bowl - perfect portion of fish and great balance with sushi rice.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sonoda's also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sonoda's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.