We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ROB the waiter is a MUST!!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Capital Grille

The Capital Grille
1450 Larimer St, Denver, CO 80202-1705 (Downtown)
303-539-2500
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
The Capital Grille is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #12 of 2,346 Restaurants in Denver
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $41 - $80
Cuisines: Steakhouse, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Doing business, Bar scene, Special occasions, Large groups, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Neighborhood: Downtown
Cross street: 15th Street
Description: Come see why steak lovers are on a mile-high high in Denver. As the Zagat Guide praised, you’ll find “awesome steaks served by the pros are the order of the day” at The Capital Grille. We’re centrally located in historic Larimer Square, just a few blocks’ walk from the Convention Center and Coors Field as well as the Denver Center for The Performing Arts. Complimentary valet parking makes it easy to succumb to the urge for the perfect steak.
Dallas, Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“ROB the waiter is a MUST!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

Had reservations at 9:15, everything was perfect at 9:15. Rob's recommendations where excellent. From the steak and lobster tails to the local brewed beers. Was thrown back when the chef showed class and brought out a special plate the I'll always remember. They also brought out steamed towels for our hands. Will be a tradition of the family on 4/20 make a visit to see Rob. Dallas Texas loves you Rob!!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

320 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    216
    67
    22
    12
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
1 review
“Made our Trip Five Star!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

I Must Say this was by far the best restaurant i have ever been to. From the Service to the way it looked on the inside. The was was just great, my group was even special enough to get a dish complimentary from the chef and I must say it was a very delicious Dish. Our server was just awesome, If you do go which i recommend Ask For the Server "ROB". From the time we sat down to the time he gave us our warm towel at the end of our meal. Rob Made our experience Sooooo much better So asking for Rob is a MUST!!! So if you are lucky enough to get Rob tell Him Texas Said Hi!!!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mobile, Alabama
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent Service, fantastic food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

If you want an incredible steak, this is the place. Lobster was perfect. Order the cheesecake, you won't regret it.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Good find, Great food & atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

At the suggestion of our hotel staff, my group went to the Capital Grille. We did not have a reservation though it is recommended. We were provided a table immediately; great timing. I had delicious spinach salad, green beans and Filet Mignon. The steak was amazingly tender, juicy and tasty. The steak was too big for me so I ended up only eating half. No room for dessert. The dress code: I was worried about the dress code since half of our group wore jeans like well dressed ranchers. Other guests were dressed very well, jacket n ties and cocktail dresses. Our waitstaff was helpful, pleasant and had a touch of humor which I appreciated. The atmosphere was dark wood elegance with a mounted deer on the wall here and there.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gardabaer
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Excellent service and really good steaks”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

We were a group of 6 that had made a reservation, no waiting and everything went smoothly. The restaurant was full but the noise level was low. Our waiter was very nice, polite but good humored, knowledgeable and gave good advice regarding the wine (not the most expensive ones) as well as the steaks. A top waiter. As a matter of fact all the service personnel we met were very good. I would not hesitate to recommend this restaurant to anyone I know who wants an excellent steak and good service in a nice atmosphere. Pretty close to 5 Tripadvisor stars, although not a Michelin star.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Capital Grille also viewed

 

Been to The Capital Grille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Capital Grille, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.