We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“love it” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Willie G's Restaurant

Willie G's Restaurant
1585 Lawrence St, Denver, CO 80202 (Downtown)
(303) 575-9000
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Willie G's Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #344 of 2,558 Restaurants in Denver
Price range: $21 - $40
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Downtown
Cross street: 16th Street
Transit: Public Bus stop 16th and Lawrence. Light Rail 4-blocks away at 16th & California.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“love it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

My husband and I have been to Willie G's twice and are never disappointed. Service is amazing and the food even better. We went this year on New Year's Eve and it was fantastic. Waitstaff is spot on and they know their stuff. I always take their recommendation for drinks and dinner and find myself stepping outside my box with amazing results. Way to go Willie G's

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    67
    58
    48
    17
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“2nd Time Around!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Our first experience at Willie G's last month was less than what we expected. Living just a block away, we decided to give this restaurant another try, hoping to have a better experience. So, on Friday the 18th another couple and us went there for dinner.

Our appetizers, 2 orders of fried Brussels sprouts, one calamari, and a chicken wrap arrived promptly with our drinks. Not tasting any vegetable. we opened the breaded Brussels sprouts to see what was inside. We were shocked by what we didn't see. There was a pea size half B. s. inside, rest, breading. Same went for the calamari, the smallest rings we have ever seen, with heavy breading. Needless to say, we sent them back, had our drinks, and left.

This is too bad! Willie G's has been around for a long time, and it is sad to see that they go to great extremes to give the very least, and charge the most. Maybe they need a new chef, maybe a new management, who knows, but I know we won't go back!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excellent Excellent Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

The staff gives you top #1 service. They make it their business to have your meals prepared just as you personally like.
The food is always good. The prices are good and the service is fantastic.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“It was Ok...but not special”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

I ordered the chowder...it lacked flavor and was not hot...rather disappointed...I don't plan to return anytime soon.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wyoming
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Don't miss this place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

Mandarin shrimp is excellent, as were all the dishes served to our large party (12 of us). Wait staff was the best we've ever experienced and they accommodated our desire for separate checks with a smile and super service. Very modern and fun place to be with an outstanding menu and drink selection.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Willie G's Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Willie G's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Willie G's Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.