We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great steak but equally great seafood” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sullivan's Steakhouse

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Sullivan's Steakhouse
1745 Wazee St, Denver, CO 80202-5967 (Downtown)
303-295-2664
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Sullivan's Steakhouse is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #563 of 2,558 Restaurants in Denver
Price range: $35 - $80
Cuisines: American, Barbecue, Seafood, Steakhouse, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Bar scene, Large groups, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Downtown
Cross street: 18th Street
Transit: Union Station on the Light rail is 1 block West of the Restaurant. Enjoy a great evening downtown and a short walk to the trains to take you home.
Portland, Oregon
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great steak but equally great seafood”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

Fairly typical atmosphere for an upscale Steak house but still quite enjoyable. Good prompt service with a well balanced menu. I had the seafood special which was sea bass prepared expertly. Other members of our group order the filet which was stated to have been one of the best prepared and served steaks they had had in quite awhile. They also have a fairly complete wine list to choose from with price ranges that should satisfy everyone.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    22
    18
    4
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Novi, Michigan
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Excellent Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

We decided to eat at Sullivan's on the last night of business trip. Reviews had talked about its very active and lively bar scene. We must have hot a dead night (Thursday) as the place was virtually empty. Only a few bar patrons and diners were seen throughout the restaurant. I was in the mood for steak and scallops and even though no such combination existed on the menu our waiter said it would be no problem. All food (filet and scallops) was excellent. I am not sure many better steaks exist in Denver. We had very attentive, but not overbearing service.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
colorado
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Dinner after a show”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

Very nice atmosphere, good service and good food. No complaints, the brussel sprouts were great and my wife usually hates to eat them, but ate several with dinner. Had the filet trio special with different sauces and all where very good, and prepared properly with great cut of meat. Wife had sea bass and was delicious too.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Fantastic steaks, LODO area Denver”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

I normally don't review chains and Sullivan's is an upper end chain steakhouse. This one deserves attention however. To begin with, the location in the lower downtown area of Denver is excellent. There are lots of local watering holes, local shops and great people watching in the neighborhood. Be careful with parking however. There is a lot available, but read the meters carefully as the city of Denver seems to be balancing its budget on the back of tourists and the parking fees they pay.

They have a good bar with live music although it could be just a little lower in volume. The steaks are priced on par with other high end steak houses. Competitive but certainly not cheap. I went with a business crowd and not a single one of us had anything but great reviews for the quality of the beef. Rib eyes, Filets, Strips, etc. all were top notch. A very extensive wine list allowed for some great wine choices. Most were on the high side of normal price but they did have a few "sleepers" on the list which were fun to try. We had outstanding service with very pleasant waiters. Worth a return trip for sure.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado, United States
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Great place for steak”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013 via mobile

We go here often. It is a great room that always offers good steaks. I like it because there just isn't the attitude of other up scale steak places. Staff is friendly, room is warm with wood panelling. Live entertainment in the bar. Good wine selection with all price ranges. There are private rooms available.
If you want a grate steak in a more laid back place, pick Sullivans.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sullivan's Steakhouse also viewed

 

Been to Sullivan's Steakhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sullivan's Steakhouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.