We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yum!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mizuna

Mizuna
225 E 7th Ave, Denver, CO 80203 (Capitol Hill)
(303) 832-4778
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Mizuna is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #70 of 2,606 Restaurants in Denver
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $41 - $80
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients, Romantic, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Capitol Hill
Cross street: Sherman
Transit: 8th & Grant
West Orange, NJ
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Yum!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

So delicious! Food is fantastic, but expensive. I had the lobster mac and cheese, then the diver scallops. They were perfectly cooked. The staff is knowledgeable and attentive. For dessert try the peanut butter cup it is to die for! Ask to sit in the wine room, it is very charming.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    86
    24
    9
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Naples, FL
Top Contributor
147 reviews 147 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“WOW - What a find!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

After narowing a long list of great restaurants in Denver proper, this selection was like winning the lottery. Did NOT partake of the 5 or 8 course tasting menu, but I would the next time! Sharing the Foie Gras app and the Lola Rosa salad (think figs) with my partner, we knew the main courses would be astonishing and they were. Interesting and less heavy is a great way to think of the Bouillabaisse and it was delicous as was the presentation. Not heaby like in Marseille. My better half had the Duck Cassoulet and expected a heavy dish, as well. Once again. Surprise! Light and oh so fantastic. Service was top notch and the GM Missy Ihli made sure everything was running as a great restaruatn should. Casual and warm atmosphere inside made the entire experience wonderful.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Littleton, CO
Top Contributor
174 reviews 174 reviews
121 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Outstanding Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

First, the place is expensive, but worth it! On our latest visit, the food was simply outstanding. We started with a foie gras appetizer that was the best foie gras I have ever tasted. Our entrees were divers scallops and monkfish. Both were fresh and creatively prepared and presented. The menu changes monthly so these may not always be there. The wine list is extensive with a wide range of prices. We will definitely be back!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Superior!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

I took my girlfriend here for her birthday, we splurged big-time and each got the 8 course Prix Fixe. The food, wine and service were spectacular. Highest recommendation.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
north carolina
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Mizuna was a winner!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Mizuna came highly recommended and it did not disappoint. Restaurant is small, sophisticated, yet cozy and comfortable. Wine steward was knowledgeable and not snobby. We selected a J. Christoper Pinot Noir from Williamette Valley-about $50 and it was excellent. Menu was interesting and all five foodie women were pleased with their meals. Lobster Mac&Cheese was a hit as was the pumpkin soup. My lamb was cooked expertly medium-rare and the salad nicoise received raves. Wait staff was friendly and attentive, but not intrusive. We were seated in the wine room at a round table which was perfect for our group of five women. I would highly recommend Mizuna on your next trip to Denver.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mizuna also viewed

 

Been to Mizuna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mizuna, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.