We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Amazing Patterson Inn” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Patterson Inn

Save Saved
You added Patterson Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Patterson Inn
3.5 of 5 Inn   |   420 East 11th Avenue, Denver, CO CO 80203 (Capitol Hill)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book With Us Directly
Ranked #3 of 10 Denver B&B and Inns
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“The Amazing Patterson Inn”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

The high point of our recent trip to Denver was our five-day stay at the amazing Patterson Inn, a beautifully restored 1890’s chateau on Capitol Hill. The stunning wood paneled foyer and staircase, the bright and cheerful breakfast room, the charming pub and the second floor landing reading area immediately impressed us. The friendly, helpful and very attentive staff clearly understands the importance of guest service.
We stayed in one of the two rooms on the first floor, The DaVinci. It was exquisitely decorated, large, sumptuous, quiet and offered everything a discerning guest could desire including a balcony. Over the length of our stay, we got to peek into most of the other eight rooms; each is uniquely and beautifully appointed.
Wine and cheese was served each afternoon. Breakfasts were fresh, delicious and offered a variety of choices.
One evening, with the help of Mike and Melissa (the keepers of the house), we transformed the breakfast room and hosted twenty guests for a catered dinner. The fully equipped, modern, spacious kitchen easily handled the caterer’s requirements and the breakfast room became a perfect dining setting. It is easy to see how small weddings, rehearsal dinners and business groups could utilize the Inn. Our guests were in awe at being entertained in such a special setting.
The Inn has a very interesting history and, if a guest is so inclined, it is worth it to learn about it during your stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    29
    9
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
18
4
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Colorado
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

A couple of months ago, I heard about this newly restored mansion-turned-into-inn on Capital Hill, and immediately booked a room even though the website wasn't fully functional and did not have room pictures yet. The owners preserved many interior architectural details, though some are no longer in their original locations. The innkeepers on duty gave us a tour of the house: all the rooms are beautiful, though some have better views than others. We stayed in No. 9, the smallest room in the inn, on the third floor tucked under the roof. It faced front with a view of the Capital dome. Though small, it was comfortable and well-furnished, and had a large, beautiful bathroom with a cast iron clawfoot tub, thick towels, and plenty of storage space with the double vanity. The bed, being new, was very comfortable, with good pillows and nice linens.

The inn is in the final stages before its official launch, so there are some bugs to work out. The good: the innkeepers on duty were really friendly, loved the afternoon wine and nibbles, the hot/cold water dispenser and ice machine on each landing, the air conditioning, the eco toilet. The inn also served a delicious (and generous) continental breakfast of coffee, juice, fresh fruit, pastries, granola, and yogurt. The (minor) peeves: given that there were the hot/cold water dispensers, it would have been nice to have had an accompanying selection of tea also on hand, if not on the landings, then in the dining room. As for the AC, it would have been good to have room control -- AC was not needed on the cool fall evening, and we would have loved to have slept with the window open for some fresh air. It would also be nice to have a lighter blanket alternative available in the closet -- I love goose down comforters, but it was not cold enough for down and not warm enough for sleeping under just a sheet. Finally, we really liked the location of the inn, but parking was a bit of a nightmare, not surprising given the age of the neighborhood and its very narrow streets. The B&B does have 3 off-street parking spots but when we arrived all three were occupied by staff.

Over all, we enjoyed our stay, and look forward to coming back in the near future to try out the other rooms.

Room Tip: All the rooms are beautiful, but some rooms look right into windows of the adjacent apartment buildi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Littleton, Colorado
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

Great stay last weekend: here's our review from bedandbreakfast.com: Having already been given a tour of the Inn, we were excited to book a room (The Prague) for our anniversary. It is a beautiful place and the innkeepers were very nice and accommodating. We were given another brief tour and told about some of the history of the building and the renovation. The bed was very comfortable and the shower was great. Overall, a very comfortable, enjoyable and historically interesting place to stay. Definitely recommended! For those interested in the "haunted history," I think I saw one (friendly)!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

Stayed at the newly remodeled Patterson Inn for 4 nights in late August. The hosts were incredibly nice and helpful. When we arrived we were greeted promptly and shown to our room. We were also given a tour of this remarkable Inn and I can honestly say there is not a single room I would have been disappointed to have. We stayed in the Antoinette, which was on the main floor. I never heard any noise from any other guest and the room was very spacious. The room Davinci is also on the main floor and the next time we are there, I will be staying in that room. Incredible. The bed was incredibly comfortable. Breakfast was always fresh and there were plenty of options. There are three parking spots reserved for guests on the property, but there is also street parking. We didn't really walk to anywhere but we drove all over Colorado and the location of the Inn is perfect. Easy access to everything. I wouldn't stay anywhere else in Denver and I would recommend it to friends and family.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheyenne, Wyoming
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

I brought my wife Lynn to the Patterson Inn to celebrate our 25th wedding anniversary and was blown away by what the owners of this inn have done to create an incredible environment.
First of all the Patterson is located in the perfect location. Just south of downtown Denver. Great place if you are in Denver for a vacation or business. (Cab ride to the Buell Theatre downtown was $7!)
The Patterson was built in the late 1800's and was home to a Colorado senator for years. It is a mansion/castle located in a great mixed neighborhood.
The owners have spent the last year renovating this place and have done an incredible job keeping it's historic charm yet providing modern amenities and large suites. We stayed in the Antoinette Suite which is one of the smaller suites. Yet it still features a large king bed and oversized bathroom.
We got a peek and some of the other guests suites and they are spectacular. One features a 20+ foot vaulted ceiling. Other suites had both over-sized showers and tubs.
Lots of open space both inside and out including some patio and courtyard seating areas. WiFi throughout the facility.
The owners and managers were wonderful hosts and very proud of there work (as they should be).
Given that we come to Denver on a regular basis we are happy to have found such a wonderful place to stay and would recommend this place to our friends.

Room Tip: Lower level rooms are handicap accessible. A real plus for a historical building. They have some o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
huron, oh
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

We were scheduled to be their first guests. I had visited the property before they restored it. They weren't quite ready for us, so Gloria graciously put us up in another property and took care of the bill.......not at all necessary, but indicative of the quality of the new owners. We visited the Inn, to say "thank you" to Gloria, and we were given the grand tour. WOW It is beautiful!!!! Can't wait to stay there on our next visit to Denver

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Patterson Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Patterson Inn

Address: 420 East 11th Avenue, Denver, CO CO 80203
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Denver > Capitol Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Denver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Patterson Inn 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A stately and distinguished National Landmark, the Patterson Inn is situated on a quarter acre of exquisitely landscaped grounds in the heart of one of Denver’s original high-end neighborhoods. Historically intriguing yet complete with all the comforts of modern amenities, it offers a luxurious reprieve from the stresses of everyday life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, T4B, Priceline, Tingo, Expedia, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Patterson Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Patterson Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.