We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What- no lounge?” 3 of 5 stars
Review of JW Marriott Denver Cherry Creek

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added JW Marriott Denver Cherry Creek to your Saves list
JW Marriott Denver Cherry Creek
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   150 Clayton Lane, Denver, CO 80206 (Cherry Creek)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #13 of 149 Hotels in Denver
Houston
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“What- no lounge?”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We have been coming to Denver for many years to visit our children who live in the Cherry Creek shares. We were surprised and disappointed to understand the lounge is gone. We always loved running into the lounge in the morning to grab a bite to eat, talk to others in the lounge then run off for a day with our children. In the evening we would visit the lounge for a cookie and coffee and enjoy the view in s quiet atmosphere.
I'm not sure what the JW Marriott brand is trying to achieve but we may move to downtown Denver for service and amenities. Too bad- we are loyal but that only seems to go one way. Guess the bottom line....money is more important. Also- vouchers handed out are minimal and now the wait in the resturant for service.....well, you know.

Stayed March 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BJ V, Guest Relations Manager at JW Marriott Denver Cherry Creek, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Thank you again for your continued feedback. As I mentioned before, we definitely miss the lounge as much as you do. I appreciate the open mindedness of our loyal guests with the voucher or points offering we are doing in lieu of the lounge. We have found that the choice really seems to please most our guests needs. I definitely agree that the lounge was a nice place to meet new people and have an exclusive place to relax. This is exactly what we are trying to accomplish in our restaurant and bar; especially in the outdoor space with the fire pits. Clearly, this was not your experience I will work with my team to ensure that the experience itself is perfected. Thank you again!

BJ Vigil
Guest Service Manager
JW Marriott Denver Cherry Creek
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

555 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    400
    106
    26
    13
    10
See reviews for
118
143
29
185
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Very business friendly, I travel 250+ days a year, my room was spotless, my bed after a long day was heaven to fall into, the lounge/eating was great an th bartenders poured a perfect drink. The small pool & Hot Tub along with th workout center were perfect for any type of workout.

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Bay, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I travel a lot for business and this is one of my favorite places to stay. Very nice hotel. The staff is great also. Had room service that delivered and it was great too. I go to the spa each visit as well. It is also top notch. I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
denver, United States
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I booked a reservation and had to cancel due to an illness! I have called several times to get a refund on my credit card, calls always goes to a voicemail. I finally was able to speak with Spencer in accounting and he was very rude, not helpful, would not let me speak to his manager. I am still waiting on my refund. I will never do business with JW Marriot Cherry again. I usually stay at the Hyatt Regency Denver and their level of customer service is top notch. I regret choosing the JW. I will stay loyal to the Hyatt and their brands!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
iBJVigil, Manager at JW Marriott Denver Cherry Creek, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
I am very disappointed and confused that you have been working on this credit for just under a year. Please accept my apologies as I assure you this is not the standard we pride ourselves on. I have looked into the credit and can see it was made on the 6th of march. It can take 7-10 business days to be processed by the bank. Please feel free to reach out to me if i may assist you personally.

BJ Vigil
Guest Service Manager
JW Marriott Denver Cherry Creek
303-253-3030
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

So sad to see the JW lose it's soul. This was one of our favorite hotels in the states. We always enjoy the club lounge as part of the JW Marriott experience and this one was exceptional. Over the years we have met so many Marriott loyalty members in the club and it felt like coming home each visit. We learned upon checking in this past week that the club level is being replaced by additional rooms which was beyond disappointing. The hotel no longer has that special feeling. We noticed the condition of some furniture and doors were dented and basically we felt the property is not being properly maintained..at least not what one expects at a JW. The staff at the front desk was fielding complains regarding the club level being gone. My husband was getting ready for a conference call in the room at 6:30 am..went looking for coffee in the hotel, the service was out, no coffee, he was told to go to the restaurant for coffee. Overall, they certainly are not raising the bar for the JW brand. I hope the additional room revenue they are getting for the rooms replacing the club make up for the lost customer loyalty.

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BJ V, Guest Relations Manager at JW Marriott Denver Cherry Creek, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
On behalf of the leadership team at the JW Marriott Denver Cherry Creek, thank you for taking the time to inquire for we truly value communication with our elite guests. Gold/Platinum Elite guests truly exemplify loyalty and trust for the hotel and the Marriott brand. It is that fact that inspires this team to exceed their expectations and truly deliver a one-of-a-kind experience. This has been a year of change for the JW Marriott Denver Cherry Creek and we know that it has certainly impacted our guests, however change can be good and we will try our hardest to create great experiences in the future.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to the JW Marriott Denver Cherry Creek in the near future. Please let me know if I can be of further assistance.

Warm Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2015

Great robes, nice amenities, good service. Paid for a mountain view- but was looking at the top of Crate & Barrel. Do not pay attention to the promo photo and don't pay extra for the view that you don't get. If you happen to be in your room when the sun goes down the sunset was beautiful- but you could catch that anywhere.
No spa, our guests had to pay $17 plus tip for parking. These were college students and didn't have that kind of $. If you don't leave your room by 8am your room won't be cleaned until 8pm that evening.
If I had it to do over again the deal at the Four Seasons was better. Stay 3 nights, get 1 free so the price came out to be the same, plus The Four seasons has better amenities.
Nicely furnished, bad artwork on the walls. Bar was crowded every night. Restaurant just average.

Room Tip: Rooms were well insulated and nice and quiet. West facing rooms have sunset view but do not pay the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2015

This hotel is 3 blocks from my house. Since I had my beautiful neices for Valentine's Day I thought I would do something special and spend three nights with them in the hotel.

We were on a very tight schedule, as we had breakfst, lucnch and dinner plans everyday. Tickets to an Avalanch Game and ofcourse, shopping.

What eneded up happening is on day two, no maid service, when I complained, they said the do not disturb sign was on the door, although I can't swear on my life, i'm very certain that it was not.

Day three, we had put our breakfast order on the door for delivery between 7:30 and 7:45, 8 am rolls around and no room service, we check the door, and the order is still hanging there. An hour later we got breakfast, which meant no shopping that morning at the Cherry Creek Mall.

From my room I would call and let them know exactly what time I needed my car, We always waited over ten minutes for the valet to bring the car up. Given that I had alwasy given atlest 15 minutees of notice, this was unexceptable. It only hurt their valets as usualy I tip five for the car, but now they got two.

When I brought all this up to management, they sent me up a bottle of wine with an very nice appology letter. This was hearfelt but I don't drink and my neices are under 21.

I had planned a wonderful weekend, packed with activities and fun. The lack of services here put a big damper on our weekend.

This morning when I checked out, they took the breakfast charges off my card but made me feel as if I was the bad guy for complaining. When you pay 300 a night for a room, you expect exceptional service. Not excuses or to be made feel bad that you bing things that went wrong to the attention of the staff.

You may not understand why I stay in hotels in my home town, but I enjoy it. I frequent the Teatro, Four Seasons, Ritz and Brown Palace. I enjoy being able to get out of my house and being treatd to the serives one should expect at these types of places.

I will never return to this hotel and would point my followers to look at the Teatro if you are going downtown to see a play, the Four Seasons, if you plan on a spa stay, the Riitz if you enjoy saying that name an if you want to indulge in history the Brown Palace is a must.

Remoiing a seventy dollar charge for breakfast doens't cut it. Not for the type of experience we had.

I would recomend that the General Manager check the procedures for Valet, retreiving the breakfast orders from the rooms, and how the front desk makes it's guest feel when they have a problem and bring it up.

Just because I'm wearing sweats, doesn't mean I'm not to be treated well, nor does it mean I don't have money to pick where I spend it.

Room Tip: I like rooms with a view , so if you choose to ignore my advice to go elsewhere, get a mountain view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BJ V, Guest Relations Manager at JW Marriott Denver Cherry Creek, responded to this review, February 16, 2015
First off, Thank you very much for sharing your experience with me. It sounds as if you had a truly wonderful experience all planned out for your neices and I am very disappointed that your experience was not just as perfect. We spent a great amount of time trying to create these same experiences this weekend. I will absolutely follow up with every department in the hotel to ensure that these kind of service failures do not happen again. You can see by the responses surrounding yours that this is certainly not to the standards that my staff and I pride ourselves on delivering. I would love the opportunity to rectify this for you personally. Please feel free to contact me directly. 303-253-3030

BJ Vigil
Guest Service Manager
JW Marriott Denver Cherry Creek
robert.vigil@jwmarriottdenver.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to JW Marriott Denver Cherry Creek? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Denver Cherry Creek

Address: 150 Clayton Lane, Denver, CO 80206
Location: United States > Colorado > Denver > Cherry Creek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Denver
#5 Luxury Hotel in Denver
#9 Family Hotel in Denver
#10 Business Hotel in Denver
#11 Romantic Hotel in Denver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — JW Marriott Denver Cherry Creek 4.5*
Number of rooms: 196
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, Marriott, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your JW Marriott Denver Cherry Creek reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jw Marriott Denver Cherry Creek Hotel Denver
Jw Marriott Cherry Creek
Marriott Denver
Denver Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage JW Marriott Denver Cherry Creek, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.