We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Christmas Party” 4 of 5 stars
Review of JW Marriott Denver Cherry Creek

Save Saved
You added JW Marriott Denver Cherry Creek to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
JW Marriott Denver Cherry Creek
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   150 Clayton Lane, Denver, CO 80206 (Cherry Creek)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #3 of 147 hotels in Denver
Denver, Colorado
1 review
“Christmas Party”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

We recently had our company Christmas Party at the JW Marriott Denver Cherry Creek and it was a total success! The food was great, the room was exquisite and the staff was a perfect combination of fun and professional. We had a total of 200 people attend, and every one of them had only positive things to say. We have had a Christmas party every year for about 15 years at many places around Denver, and I have to say this one is at the top of the list. Not only was it a great party, but after its over you get to walk around the beautiful Cherry Creek. I would recommend this hotel for anyone who wants to throw a party, wedding, or just stay in a great hotel with great staff. Thanks JW :)

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick W, Manager at JW Marriott Denver Cherry Creek, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
Dear Christmasparty_12,

Thank you so much for taking the time to post your very kind review. It is very much appreciated. I am happy to hear everyone with your party had such a wonderful time. Hopefully you all come back next year to do it all over again. I hope you have a great holiday season.

Sincerely,

Nick Welker
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

477 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    351
    88
    21
    10
    7
See reviews for
102
122
25
160
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cheyenne, Wyoming
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

We looked at tons of "luxury" hotels in the Denver area and chose the JW Marriott reading reviews. We were disappointed. While the hotel was nice, it was far from luxury--at least what we've exp. before. Upon arrival the front desk informed us that our room was not ready and offered a handicap room. We politely declined just in case someone needed that room for the purpose it was intended for. We were then assigned another room (309) which had a horrible smell. After struggling with the smell, I asked for a different room. A different front desk person quickly obliged and offered the same type of room on a different floor but with access to the concierge lounge. The lounge was ok, but not fabulous or even quiet. We noticed there were numerous unattended teenagers running around the floors and yelling in the hallways into wee hours.

The rooms were nothing more than standard. The beds were very uncomfortable and the pillows were flat and old. The bathroom was about the only thing worth noting--more upscale than the average.

The hotel restaurant was very noisy and slow with service.

Looking at the website, it stated a self-parking option was available but when asked upon check in we were told there wasn't an option and valet was mandatory.

Certainly more was expected for the price and the advertising of a luxury hotel. We'll go back to the area but it’s not worth the time (or money) for the JW Marriott.

Room Tip: Ask for a higher room on the west side for a view of the mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick W, Manager at JW Marriott Denver Cherry Creek, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Dear AllUSAGrl,

Thank you for taking the time to post an online review. I wanted to apologize for your less than satisfactory stay with us. We generally do a very good job of "wowing" our guests as you can see by the vast majority of the other reviews and I am sorry this was not your experience. I would love to have you back in the future to show you what a great hotel we can be. Please let me know when you are coming and I will do my absolute best to ensure your stay is as perfect as possible. If you would like to discuss this further please feel free to contact me.

Have a great day!

Nick Welker
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines, Iowa
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

Spent two nights here on our way to Beaver Creek. Our experience was fantastic.

We arrived late afternoon on a Friday. When we pulled up, the street was very busy and a little chaotic. Being unfamiliar with the area, we were a little nervous. No worries, the valet swooped in and saved the day. They are a well oiled machine. Then our check in was effortless. Michael was very friendly and informative. Great first impression.

The rooms are great. Very spacious, lots of storage and a huge bathroom. The decor was very nice, loved the layout, especially having a sofa as well as the usual chair. It felt very inviting.

The concierge lounge was very nice. View was amazing. Lots of room to eat or relax. The food was very good as well.

We ate dinner at Second Home. Great food and atmosphere. Definitely not the typical hotel restaurant.

The location couldn't be better. Everything is within walking distance. Lots of dining and shopping choices.

Only one minor complaint. In room coffee, only one regular coffee was provided, and one decaf. Would like to have had two regular as both of us drink that. Housekeeping gave us an extra when we saw them in the hallway. Never had that issue at another hotel.

Great stay, hope to have the opportunity again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick W, Manager at JW Marriott Denver Cherry Creek, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Dear Cpccarly,

Thank you for taking the time to post an online review. I was happy to see that you enjoyed your recent stay with us. Sorry, for the chaos on the street, but I am happy to see the staff made sure you were taken care of quickly. Also, thank you for recognizing Michael for his efforts. I will pass along your comments to him. Hopefully you can come back real soon.

Sincerely,

Nick Welker
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

Great hotel and what you'd expect out of a J-Dub. Service was great, rooms were pristine and you're in the heart of Cherry Creek with lots of shopping, restaurants and other activities. The hotel also has a really good bar for a nightcap.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick W, Manager at JW Marriott Denver Cherry Creek, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Dear Greg C.,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review. It is truly appreciated. I was happy to see you enjoyed the Hotel, the Bar, and the Cherry Creek area in general. Please come back and see us real soon. Have a wonderful day!

Happy Holiday's,

Nick Welker
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

I stayed two nights at the JWM Cherry Creek earlier this month. What a great hotel. It's new, modern, in great shape, and clean. It's small enough to feel like a boutique hotel. Check-in was quick, and the desk manager was very friendly and very helpful. Actually, everyone at the hotel was very friendly and service-oriented. The sitting area is off the lobby and feels like a nice living room, with stuffed chairs and a fireplace; because it's off to the side, there is no traffic going through it, and it's really quiet and relaxing. I had a dinner and breakfast in the restaurant. The menu was imaginative without being weird or fussy, and the food was quite good. I also had a drink in the bar, again on a comfortable stuffed chair. My room was well appointed, the bathroom was huge (tub and walk-in shower), and the wireless internet was easy to access and without interruption. The neighborhood is full of restaurants and shops, and nice to walk around. There is a mall down the street which I did not go to, but it has a Neiman's and an Apple store, so I assume that it's pretty upscale. I'm going to stay here again the next time I go to Denver.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick W, Manager at JW Marriott Denver Cherry Creek, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Dear Marc J.,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review. I was so happy to see that you enjoyed your recent stay with us. Thank you as well for recognizing the staffs efforts. I will pass along your comments. Please come back to wonderful Cherry Creek as soon as you can.

Have a great day!

Nick Welker
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

Spent thanksgiving holiday here visiting in-laws in Cherry Creek. A good respite from sight seeing all day & coming back to a comfortable room to relax. Great location to all kinds of shops & restaurants. Hotel's restaurant Second Home had a very reasonable breakfast menu. Good value hotel, look into getting the package deals. Wish they had a pool. No complaint here.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick W, Manager at JW Marriott Denver Cherry Creek, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Dear V D,

Thank you for posting a review regarding your recent stay and choosing to spend your holiday here with us at the JW Marriott Denver Cherry Creek. I too wish we had a pool. Unfortunately, there is simply no place to put one. Hope to see you and your family again in the future. Have a great holiday season.

Sincerely,

Nick Welker
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

My wife, daughter, dog and I had a great six night stay here over Thanksgiving. It is not our first stay at the JW CC; we've been staying for over 5 years. We had great service from everyone at the hotel from start to finish...valet guys, bellmen, front desk, bar, restaurant, concierge, club staff...everyone. We noticed that much of the staff has been there since we first stayed at the hotel.

This hotel can be expensive, but there are great AAA rates available when you book through their website. There are a ton of dining options within two blocks of the hotel ranging from burgers at the Cherry Cricket to Italian next door at North to cooking classes across the street. Shopping ranges from a large mall two blocks away to a ton of boutiques.

There is no pool.

Rooms are clean and have been kept up to date with technology. Wifi is free to all guests in the room, wired or wirelss. Second Home is the bar/restaurant. We orderd a lot of take out and went down to get the food instead of ordering room service.

We always look forward to returning to the JW CC!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick W, Manager at JW Marriott Denver Cherry Creek, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Dear Mike D.,

Thank you for taking the time to post this review. I wanted to also thank you for your continued loyalty over the last 5 years. It is greatly appreciate. We value you as a customer. Hopefully your family can return again real soon.

Happy Holiday's,

Nick Welker
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to JW Marriott Denver Cherry Creek? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Denver Cherry Creek

Address: 150 Clayton Lane, Denver, CO 80206
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Denver > Cherry Creek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Denver
#2 Luxury Hotel in Denver
#2 Spa Hotel in Denver
#4 Romantic Hotel in Denver
#12 Business Hotel in Denver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — JW Marriott Denver Cherry Creek 4.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Marriott, Tingo, Travelocity, Otel, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your JW Marriott Denver Cherry Creek reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jw Marriott Denver Cherry Creek Hotel Denver
Jw Marriott Cherry Creek
Marriott Denver
Denver Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage JW Marriott Denver Cherry Creek, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.