We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Enough” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel VQ

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel VQ to your Saves list
Hotel VQ
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1975 Mile High Stadium Circle, Denver, CO 80204 (Formerly Red Lion Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #78 of 148 Hotels in Denver
Lexington, Kentucky
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Good Enough”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

SO I was just there one night, driving through Denver. I made the reservation on Kayak and I only paid $60 for the room. Even though it is listed as being downtown, it is, but there's a giant highway between downtown and the mall. But they have free shuttles to and from downtown every 20 minutes. I think the hotel had seen better days, but I was satisfied with the accomodations. If i were staying in Denver on vacation, I would have picked a nicer hotel closer to the downtown mall. One of the desk attendants was super nice, the other was a sourpuss. But, as I said before- It was good enough!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

386 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    104
    99
    59
    59
See reviews for
57
110
42
82
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

What a great View!! What a great Bed. Since I only needed a room to sleep in I thought this would be better than motel 6. The elevators squeaked, creaked, and the doors were misaligned and closed slowly. The rooms are outdated as well as the amenities, but was quiet. Free shuttle to anywhere I needed to go. Tried the "Skybox Restaurant", the $25 steak was like shoe leather, but the potatoes, veggies & sauce was great, (yes I ordered something else) the chicken Cesar salad was really good, as well as the desserts but way over priced.

Room Tip: Great place to sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Des Moines, Iowa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Hotels can get expensive in Denver especially in and around the downtown. This isn't a bad option if everything else in the area is priced too high but you still want great location. I've stayed here at least ten times in the last year for business travel. The beds are good, the bathrooms are seriously dated but functional and the higher floors facing east have a great view of the downtown. Of course all of that goes out the window on game days....

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the downtown. Great view. If you're a super light sleeper, however, don...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billings, Montana
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014

I really wanted to like this Hotel. It really stands out next to Sport Authority Stadium and seems from appearances that it should have been an amazing place. But sadly it missed the mark. We arrived at 2:30 (:30 minutes earlier than checkin) and I asked if we could get in. The guy at the front say, "What don't you understand about "3" o'clock check in? Its not 3. Is it?" I kept my cools and said that I would came back a little later. After going to eat we got back and it was the same guy and an older woman working. She was extremely rude and told me, "Sorry but we are out of King rooms you'll have to have a double Queen. We had to give them away to the people who were here before you." And that's when I snapped...I told her that I was here at 2:30 before ANYBODY was here and I expect to get the King room that I paid for almost 2 months earlier. I was irate with the way they were treating us. Finally they made some "arrangements" and got us a King room. When we went upstairs we walked into the room and it was a double queen room! So I went back downstairs and the guy says that he accidentally gave me the wrong room...no apology not sorry nothing. On top of it the beds were broken down and the tvs were from the 80's. Most of the channels were snowy and unwatchable...and their "free" wifi didn't have a strong enough connection to use. Ridiculous.

Room Tip: Towards the Denver skyline.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

The hotel is conveniently located near the football stadium and a 5-10 minute walk to light rail. The rooms are small but the bed was very comfortable. The place needs some freshening up. The televisions are old tube style and the fitness center has just 3 outdated pieces of equipment. The price is good compared to other hotels in the area but you do tend to get what you pay for. Not a bad experience, but not plush by any means.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

Stayed here the other night. Room was dated with old TV and creepy comforters.

Coffee but no coffee machine. Iron but no ironing board.

Wireless did not work. When I called the front desk they said "too many people" are connected, try again later. Do not stay here if you depend on wireless for work.

Shuttle driver was nice. Front desk was not helpful.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seattle
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

Stopped here for a night on my way out west. Nice, clean hotel, which began life as a "Metropolitan" style Holiday Inn. (How do I know these things?). Thus, all the rooms are wedge-shaped, and most have great views of either the city or the mountains. Add a nice little bar/restaurant on the top floor, friendly staff, and a good rate, and you have a great stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel VQ? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel VQ

Address: 1975 Mile High Stadium Circle, Denver, CO 80204 (Formerly Red Lion Hotel)
Location: United States > Colorado > Denver
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #78 of 148 Hotels in Denver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel VQ 3*
Number of rooms: 169
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Downtown ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Hotel VQ reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vq Hotel Denver
Red Lion Denver

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel VQ, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.