We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you're thinking about staying here, DON'T.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel VQ

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Denver
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel VQ
Save
You added Hotel VQ to your Saves list
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1975 Mile High Stadium Circle, Denver, CO 80204 (Formerly Red Lion Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #79 of 149 Hotels in Denver
Rapid City, South Dakota
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“If you're thinking about staying here, DON'T.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

I stayed at this hotel March 5th and 6th with some girlfriends. We chose this hotel for its location and free shuttle downtown. As far as those two things go the hotel was excellent, Juan the shuttle driver was awesome. He knew just where to take us and was good company. And the cab fee back to the hotel was $9, awesome! Unfortunately the rest of the staff and stay was not the same. As soon as we got to the hotel and checked in we waited for the elevator for about 7 minutes. Not even over exaggerating. It wasn't busy and we even ended up asking if the elevator even worked. It finally came. We were greeted by a huge stain on the floor in the hallway outside our door, looked like paint or something. The hallway also smelled like smoke but when we went into the room it just smelled dusty, so we opened the window, problem solved. When we went into the room it was kind of crammed and definitely outdated (which we expected after reading other reviews, not a big deal). After unpacking and relaxing for a minute, which with 4 girls our room was basically covered in a layer of clothes, luggage, and everything you would expect. At this point someone went to use the sink and it was not working. We talked to the front desk and without apologizing or sounding sincere in any manner said "Oh, that was supposed to be fixed." They ended up offering a room move but it wasn't a big enough deal for us to pack up again we just decided to use the bathtub to brush our teeth and such. We really weren't picky. The trip went well up until checkout, we asked for a late checkout which was 1 o'clock. From about 10am on the maids were knocking on the door about every half hour trying to get us out so they could clean. It got to the point where we ended up being rude so that they would stop. They even parked their cart right outside our door. We almost tripped on it walking out of the room. Checkout went smooth, no problem there. Later on one of the girls realized she left her military i.d. and a debit card in the drawer in the hotel room, we all saw her put them in there as soon as we checked in. Yes it is definitely her fault for leaving them but [--] happens. We went back to get her things where the front desk staff was very rude about it. We were leaving town so we obviously needed those things back. Finally the maid went and got her things but just came back with the military i.d., no sign of the debit card. When we asked the maid about it she said it wasn't there and that she didn't need money so she wouldn't steal it. Ummm, I'm sorry but your a maid. I'm sure you wouldn't turn down some extra cash if offered. After insisting to her that the debit card was literally right on top of the military i.d. she went back up to the room and brought us the bible, handed it to us and said that was all that was in the drawer and that nothing else was in there so we must have misplaced it. YEAH, SURE. As we are waiting in the lobby trying to figure out what to do we hear the front desk staff talking [--] about us 4 feet away. Saying how its not their fault that we left things in the room, maybe we should be more careful. Granted yes it was our fault but really... that means we deserve to be stolen from and you couldn't wait to talk badly about us at least until we left? She ended up cancelling her card, done deal things happen. And you would think this is over huh? No, today, a week later I looked at my account online to find a $250 charge to Hotel VQ. I called because it was obviously a mistake, I payed online and that charge was there too, which btw was $141. When I called they said it was a smoking charge. First of all, I don't smoke. Yes, a couple of the girls I was with did but they did NOT in the room. If we wanted a smoking room we would get a hotel where there was smoking that we wouldn't be charged for.. its pretty simple. I told the woman that, who transferred me to someone else, where I told everything again, who then again transferred me to the general manager where I had to tell it all over again. The general manager was very nice but said when there is a dispute with something like that he talks with the head maid, you know the one who was pushing us to get out of the room and the one who stole the debit card, and would check out the room to see how bad it smelled and then would get back to me. I haven't heard back but if the charge is not removed the owner of this crappy hotel will be hearing from me. I've never written a complaint of any kind and we were not hard to please, I mean we didn't even need a running sink to make us happy. I just want people to know if your reading reviews and thinking.. "Ehh it can't be that bad I'm not picky." That's what we were thinking and it was a terrible mistake. Do NOT stay here.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

392 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    106
    101
    60
    60
See reviews for
60
110
43
82
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Colorado Springs, Colorado
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

I stay at VQ on March 8th to March 10,2013,when i say that i will tell my friends about this hotel i will. i work for the gov and have travel to lots of different places, never recevied such excellent service. i want to thank jerold,angle,curtis and there were 2 other van driver. everybody was nice and friendly, very helpful in every way. let me just say thank you, really nice place to stay and i will be back.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, NC
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

Upon checkin, I was gratified to discover that Hotel VQ was entirely nonsmoking. It didn't take much time, though, to realize that this was (just) an ideal. Within an hour of checkin, I started to smell smoke wafting in from somewhere ... not enough to make my clothes smoky, just enough to be annoying. I called the desk and was told that they would have security check it out. The smoke didn't go away, but didn't get worse. Should point out that I have a pretty sensitive nose.

The next night, upon emerging from the shower at 12:30 AM, I smelled smoke coming into the room. It was clearly coming directly through the (closed) door to the connecting room! This smoke was much more intense than the night before. Again, I called the receptionist, who asked a number of questions to ascertain the room number from which the smoke was coming. She said they would be charged the $250 fee for smoking in a room. After a half hour of trying to fall asleep, I called the desk again. The receptionist said she would call that room. Didn't hear the phone ring, though I could hear guests' voices through the wall. Woke up again about 3 AM and the smell was gone.

Otherwise, the in-room wireless has been out of order for two nights in a row, due to a DNS server problem. Wireless does work in the lobby, however.

Others have commented favorably on the free shuttle. My experience has been less favorable. Wait times till pickup have been 18 min., less than 5 min., 30 min., and 16 min. (avg. 17 min.).

Room Tip: On the rooms on the I-25 side, be prepared from some noise from traffic and trains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wichita, Kansas, United States
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

Recently stayed here and accidentally left a bag behind. My fault. I totally admit this. No one forced me to leave behind a bag. i called the front desk and they assured me it was no problem. They would ship the bag to me COD. I appreciated this greatly.

I was told the supervisor of housekeeping would do this on Monday when she got in. Great.

The shipment arrived today. COD = $100. What????? I asked the mailman if there was some mistake. he said, "No, the postage was $33.94, but they are charging you $66.06 for their own services." REALLY??? Sticking my bag in a well-worn box, taping it up and slapping a label/postage on it is worth almost twice the cost of postage?? And seriously, NEVER once did they mention this upcharge. A nominal fee of $15.00? Sure. But $66???? That's not only ridiculous, it's HORRIBLE customer service.

I have stayed here multiple times, and find it sad they even attempted to do this to a returning customer. Again, if they had told me the fee upfront, I could have tried to make other arrangements, or chosen to accept it. But, to be blindsided by such a ridiculous amount was unfair!

Make sure you NEVER make a mistake in this hotel...it will cost you dearly.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Polson, Montana
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

Stayed at Hotel VQ February 12-222/2013. I was not anticipating much as this Hotel has been at this physical locations forever. Rooms were a little rough around the edges - been through a lot, but were clean and quiet. The restaurant upstairs was surprisingly good, and reasonalble in price. The front desk went out of their way to help me. The shuttle service was excellent (even during a February blizzard), and I never had to wait more than 10 minutes, Juan, the shuttle driver, and former US Army jump master, was knowledgeable and friendly. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coaldale, Colorado
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013 via mobile

Outdated, threadbare, & plain. Didn't wan't 2 pay for ambiance. Good value. Contrary 2 previous review I liked the bed. Room seemed quite clean, good linens. Good hot shower in small, spare bathroon. Restaurant/bar upstairs surprisingly good,W/ best sweet potato fries ever seen. Serve Jameson's. Just value without being dirty or scary.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

I wasn't sure what to expect after reading reviews of Hotel VQ - I was here two days on business and found it great; the room was large enough and comfortable although definitely not new - the bathroom in particular looked a little worn, but it was still clean and functional.

The hotel is located in an odd spot (next to the Broncos stadium carpark) but they do have a shuttle. Wifi worked well and I'd definitely recommend it.

Room Tip: try and get a room that faces the downtown skyline. beautiful view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel VQ? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel VQ

Address: 1975 Mile High Stadium Circle, Denver, CO 80204 (Formerly Red Lion Hotel)
Location: United States > Colorado > Denver
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #79 of 149 Hotels in Denver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel VQ 2.5*
Number of rooms: 169
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Downtown ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Vq Hotel Denver
Red Lion Denver

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel VQ, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.