We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Has hard time enforcing no-smoking policy” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel VQ

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel VQ to your Saves list
Hotel VQ
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1975 Mile High Stadium Circle, Denver, CO 80204 (Formerly Red Lion Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #78 of 147 Hotels in Denver
Raleigh, NC
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Has hard time enforcing no-smoking policy”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

Upon checkin, I was gratified to discover that Hotel VQ was entirely nonsmoking. It didn't take much time, though, to realize that this was (just) an ideal. Within an hour of checkin, I started to smell smoke wafting in from somewhere ... not enough to make my clothes smoky, just enough to be annoying. I called the desk and was told that they would have security check it out. The smoke didn't go away, but didn't get worse. Should point out that I have a pretty sensitive nose.

The next night, upon emerging from the shower at 12:30 AM, I smelled smoke coming into the room. It was clearly coming directly through the (closed) door to the connecting room! This smoke was much more intense than the night before. Again, I called the receptionist, who asked a number of questions to ascertain the room number from which the smoke was coming. She said they would be charged the $250 fee for smoking in a room. After a half hour of trying to fall asleep, I called the desk again. The receptionist said she would call that room. Didn't hear the phone ring, though I could hear guests' voices through the wall. Woke up again about 3 AM and the smell was gone.

Otherwise, the in-room wireless has been out of order for two nights in a row, due to a DNS server problem. Wireless does work in the lobby, however.

Others have commented favorably on the free shuttle. My experience has been less favorable. Wait times till pickup have been 18 min., less than 5 min., 30 min., and 16 min. (avg. 17 min.).

Room Tip: On the rooms on the I-25 side, be prepared from some noise from traffic and trains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

380 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    101
    96
    59
    59
See reviews for
57
108
39
82
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wichita, Kansas, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

Recently stayed here and accidentally left a bag behind. My fault. I totally admit this. No one forced me to leave behind a bag. i called the front desk and they assured me it was no problem. They would ship the bag to me COD. I appreciated this greatly.

I was told the supervisor of housekeeping would do this on Monday when she got in. Great.

The shipment arrived today. COD = $100. What????? I asked the mailman if there was some mistake. he said, "No, the postage was $33.94, but they are charging you $66.06 for their own services." REALLY??? Sticking my bag in a well-worn box, taping it up and slapping a label/postage on it is worth almost twice the cost of postage?? And seriously, NEVER once did they mention this upcharge. A nominal fee of $15.00? Sure. But $66???? That's not only ridiculous, it's HORRIBLE customer service.

I have stayed here multiple times, and find it sad they even attempted to do this to a returning customer. Again, if they had told me the fee upfront, I could have tried to make other arrangements, or chosen to accept it. But, to be blindsided by such a ridiculous amount was unfair!

Make sure you NEVER make a mistake in this hotel...it will cost you dearly.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Polson, Montana
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

Stayed at Hotel VQ February 12-222/2013. I was not anticipating much as this Hotel has been at this physical locations forever. Rooms were a little rough around the edges - been through a lot, but were clean and quiet. The restaurant upstairs was surprisingly good, and reasonalble in price. The front desk went out of their way to help me. The shuttle service was excellent (even during a February blizzard), and I never had to wait more than 10 minutes, Juan, the shuttle driver, and former US Army jump master, was knowledgeable and friendly. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coaldale, Colorado
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013 via mobile

Outdated, threadbare, & plain. Didn't wan't 2 pay for ambiance. Good value. Contrary 2 previous review I liked the bed. Room seemed quite clean, good linens. Good hot shower in small, spare bathroon. Restaurant/bar upstairs surprisingly good,W/ best sweet potato fries ever seen. Serve Jameson's. Just value without being dirty or scary.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

I wasn't sure what to expect after reading reviews of Hotel VQ - I was here two days on business and found it great; the room was large enough and comfortable although definitely not new - the bathroom in particular looked a little worn, but it was still clean and functional.

The hotel is located in an odd spot (next to the Broncos stadium carpark) but they do have a shuttle. Wifi worked well and I'd definitely recommend it.

Room Tip: try and get a room that faces the downtown skyline. beautiful view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mechanicsburg, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

I stayed here while attending a conference near-by. The hotel had just encountered an internal water main break. There was no apparent water damage in the areas I frequented, however, the water collected in the elevator well (normally dry) making it a reservoir. This took out both elevators and the top floor restaurant (no water service).

The hotel staff were making the best of a terrible situation and doing it with humor. Front desk staff is polite and helpful; the free shuttle was prompt. The stairwells had impromptu signs "You're in for the climb or life" which harks back to Red Green's line, "we're all in this together." I did not climb 12 stories to read all the signs!

Continental breakfast was moved to the lobby and staff did not miss a beat.

The rooms are basic and clean - which is what I require. Frills are just that - nonessential to my purpose.

The circular/columnar building is unique. There are no guest rooms on the "inner" side of the circular corridors. That space is dedicated to building utilities, elevators and two fire stairs. Guest rooms are around the outside perimeter.

The room is not sprinklered, however, the between-room walls are masonry. This diminishes the potential for firespread. HOWEVER, the two fire stairs lead to the interior of the first floor and to a corridor that leads to the outside. I did not notice sprinklers on the first floor; if present, they would make the fire stairs arrangement a nonissue.

If business brought me back, I would stay here again.

Room Tip: higher floors (I did not walk up too high due to elevator outage) western view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CO
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

Bought a room for a friend for her 30th birthday party. Wanted a room that held many people for an inexpensive price, and at a good location! The Hotel VQ met all of these needs.

The building itself is quite unique with it's tubular design. The lobby is semi-posh in its decor, and implies that the rooms would be nice as well. Walking into the room, however, one immediately gets the feeling of "generic hotel room", complete with bad art, tasteless bed covers, and hospital-like sheets. The TV was small, but the inclusion of tea and coffee was nice. The bathroom was rather small, and not equipped for 4 people (which was the maximum capacity of the room) - there was a lack of towels and not enough soap for all to shower.

The most disappointing part of the stay, however, was the next morning when we tried to order room service. Our celebration last night didn't leave us in a state where we WANTED to be seen in public, but after about 30 minutes of trying to order room service, it was clear that the restaurant simply took their phone off the hook. Despite the pamphlet stating that room service was offered, this was clearly not the case.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel VQ? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel VQ

Address: 1975 Mile High Stadium Circle, Denver, CO 80204 (Formerly Red Lion Hotel)
Location: United States > Colorado > Denver
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #78 of 147 Hotels in Denver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel VQ 3*
Number of rooms: 169
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Downtown ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel VQ reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vq Hotel Denver
Red Lion Denver

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel VQ, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.