We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Plain Jane, but good value.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel VQ

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel VQ to your Saves list
Hotel VQ
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1975 Mile High Stadium Circle, Denver, CO 80204 (Formerly Red Lion Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #78 of 148 Hotels in Denver
Coaldale, Colorado
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Plain Jane, but good value.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013 via mobile

Outdated, threadbare, & plain. Didn't wan't 2 pay for ambiance. Good value. Contrary 2 previous review I liked the bed. Room seemed quite clean, good linens. Good hot shower in small, spare bathroon. Restaurant/bar upstairs surprisingly good,W/ best sweet potato fries ever seen. Serve Jameson's. Just value without being dirty or scary.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

386 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    104
    99
    59
    59
See reviews for
57
110
42
82
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

I wasn't sure what to expect after reading reviews of Hotel VQ - I was here two days on business and found it great; the room was large enough and comfortable although definitely not new - the bathroom in particular looked a little worn, but it was still clean and functional.

The hotel is located in an odd spot (next to the Broncos stadium carpark) but they do have a shuttle. Wifi worked well and I'd definitely recommend it.

Room Tip: try and get a room that faces the downtown skyline. beautiful view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mechanicsburg, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

I stayed here while attending a conference near-by. The hotel had just encountered an internal water main break. There was no apparent water damage in the areas I frequented, however, the water collected in the elevator well (normally dry) making it a reservoir. This took out both elevators and the top floor restaurant (no water service).

The hotel staff were making the best of a terrible situation and doing it with humor. Front desk staff is polite and helpful; the free shuttle was prompt. The stairwells had impromptu signs "You're in for the climb or life" which harks back to Red Green's line, "we're all in this together." I did not climb 12 stories to read all the signs!

Continental breakfast was moved to the lobby and staff did not miss a beat.

The rooms are basic and clean - which is what I require. Frills are just that - nonessential to my purpose.

The circular/columnar building is unique. There are no guest rooms on the "inner" side of the circular corridors. That space is dedicated to building utilities, elevators and two fire stairs. Guest rooms are around the outside perimeter.

The room is not sprinklered, however, the between-room walls are masonry. This diminishes the potential for firespread. HOWEVER, the two fire stairs lead to the interior of the first floor and to a corridor that leads to the outside. I did not notice sprinklers on the first floor; if present, they would make the fire stairs arrangement a nonissue.

If business brought me back, I would stay here again.

Room Tip: higher floors (I did not walk up too high due to elevator outage) western view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CO
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

Bought a room for a friend for her 30th birthday party. Wanted a room that held many people for an inexpensive price, and at a good location! The Hotel VQ met all of these needs.

The building itself is quite unique with it's tubular design. The lobby is semi-posh in its decor, and implies that the rooms would be nice as well. Walking into the room, however, one immediately gets the feeling of "generic hotel room", complete with bad art, tasteless bed covers, and hospital-like sheets. The TV was small, but the inclusion of tea and coffee was nice. The bathroom was rather small, and not equipped for 4 people (which was the maximum capacity of the room) - there was a lack of towels and not enough soap for all to shower.

The most disappointing part of the stay, however, was the next morning when we tried to order room service. Our celebration last night didn't leave us in a state where we WANTED to be seen in public, but after about 30 minutes of trying to order room service, it was clear that the restaurant simply took their phone off the hook. Despite the pamphlet stating that room service was offered, this was clearly not the case.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012 via mobile

This hotel is outdated, beds are hard as a rock and there is barely enough room to turn around in the bathroom. The upside is the view and service in the restaurant/bar on the top floor, the free shuttle service and being with in walking distance from the stadium!

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

The rooms are clean but everything in them is old and run down. I don't think the place has been renovated since before it was the Red Lion. The lobby is nice and although it was too cold for us to go swimming when we were there the pool area was pretty and complete with a fire pit. I'm giving it 3 dots because the location was fantastic and they have a shuttle that drops you off and picks you up at the location of your choice downtown. We had a car (they have free parking) so we drove to some places but the shuttle was a big help so we didn't have to pay for parking in a lot downtown or risk parking on the street. The hotel is located literally next door the the stadium and a few feet from an interstate on ramp. If you are looking for a no frills hotel at an incredibly inexpensive price this is the place to stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

Interesting hotel. From the outside, looks like it could be nice. I stayed here for business b/c the rate was cheap for 2 nights. Walking in, the lobby is presentable and looks nice, clean and comfortable. My room was on the 2nd floor and looked like I was in a time warp. I mean come on, this hotel is next to Broncos Stadium and I guarantee this place sells out every weekend they play at home that you would think they would upgrade the rooms. Old carpet, beds look like they are from 1980, the clock by the bed is def from 1974. The hotel changed names but hasn't upgraded at all. The bathroom had a cracked sink and the toliet would randomly run. The restaurant on the 14th floor is decent and does have a nice view...which is the highlight of the hotel. Without any sort of updated in the rooms, I would never stay here again. Be warned, some rooms are still smoking rooms...I didn't know this was still allowed.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel VQ? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel VQ

Address: 1975 Mile High Stadium Circle, Denver, CO 80204 (Formerly Red Lion Hotel)
Location: United States > Colorado > Denver
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #78 of 148 Hotels in Denver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel VQ 3*
Number of rooms: 169
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Downtown ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Hotel VQ reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vq Hotel Denver
Red Lion Denver

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel VQ, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.