We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“1 Step up from a hostel but great location!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel VQ

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel VQ to your Saves list
Hotel VQ
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1975 Mile High Stadium Circle, Denver, CO 80204 (Formerly Red Lion Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #79 of 148 Hotels in Denver
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“1 Step up from a hostel but great location!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

The rooms are clean but everything in them is old and run down. I don't think the place has been renovated since before it was the Red Lion. The lobby is nice and although it was too cold for us to go swimming when we were there the pool area was pretty and complete with a fire pit. I'm giving it 3 dots because the location was fantastic and they have a shuttle that drops you off and picks you up at the location of your choice downtown. We had a car (they have free parking) so we drove to some places but the shuttle was a big help so we didn't have to pay for parking in a lot downtown or risk parking on the street. The hotel is located literally next door the the stadium and a few feet from an interstate on ramp. If you are looking for a no frills hotel at an incredibly inexpensive price this is the place to stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

386 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    104
    99
    59
    59
See reviews for
57
110
42
82
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
NJ
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

Interesting hotel. From the outside, looks like it could be nice. I stayed here for business b/c the rate was cheap for 2 nights. Walking in, the lobby is presentable and looks nice, clean and comfortable. My room was on the 2nd floor and looked like I was in a time warp. I mean come on, this hotel is next to Broncos Stadium and I guarantee this place sells out every weekend they play at home that you would think they would upgrade the rooms. Old carpet, beds look like they are from 1980, the clock by the bed is def from 1974. The hotel changed names but hasn't upgraded at all. The bathroom had a cracked sink and the toliet would randomly run. The restaurant on the 14th floor is decent and does have a nice view...which is the highlight of the hotel. Without any sort of updated in the rooms, I would never stay here again. Be warned, some rooms are still smoking rooms...I didn't know this was still allowed.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park City
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

I first stayed at this property 39 years ago when it was a Holiday Inn, so returning had a certain level of nostalgia. Familiar was the unusual octagon-shaped structure with the top-floor restaurant/bar with huge windows framing the picturesque Denver skyline.

Check in was a breeze assisted by friendly/knowledgeable staff. The rooms were clean and nicer than expected. The bed was very comfortable and the TV was newer with HD.

Restaurant was pretty decent, perhaps somewhat enhanced by by the incredible views.

But for me, the best amenity was the FREE, on-demand hotel shuttle that would take you anywhere within a 5-mile radius. I was there for a concert at the Pepsi Center which, no doubt, made this a valuable service for me. The driver was pleasant and the vans were new and comfortable. Unbelievably, the van was waiting outside the main entrance of the venue after the event! Very convenient indeed!

Overall, this is a very nice property with a staff working hard to keep my business. I even stayed there a couple months later for another concert with my wife. She really liked it as well and she's pretty picky.

I'll likely stay here for every visit to downtown Denver and recommend it to all.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

Needed a hotel at the last minute going to a conference. Everything was sold out and this wasn't too far away. Reasonable price too. Breakfast in restaurant at top of hotel had a great view of the city. Shuttle can take you to convention center or if you don't want to wait you can drive there in under 10 minutes.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

After spending $199 a night in a hotel with no hot water, no internet, etc., a co worker told me about Hotel VQ. Staff was wonderful, accommodating, funny, and warm. Hotel its self is slightly outdated, but comfortable and clean. Great happy hour on 14th floor. Terrific views of city. Great shuttle that go us to downtown denver and back multiple times during the day. Will stay here again! Thanks to the great staff!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 79 cities Reviews in 79 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

Was very dissappointed with this hotel. It looked good on the website but went downhill from there. While the staff and shuttle service were terrific, everything else was pretty poor. The beds were terrible, seemed like something out of the early 80's. The fitness room was right above me... gotta love the sound of that first thing in the am! Internet was spotty at best and the bed covers were a flashback to the 80's as well. Very out of date. Would I stay here again? Probably not. I think the VQ stands for Very Questionable!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

The Hotel VQ was almost comically awful in most respects. To call my room dingy is an insult to dinginess everywhere. Both upholstered chairs had weird, vaguely disturbing stains on them; the carpet had at least a couple of outright holes, plus some stains; the sink had a big, ugly crack that had been repaired to stop the leak, but not to address the appearance; and I could see dead bugs inside the frame of the picture over the bed. Also, the shower made a continuous screeching sound and I was awakened at least four times/night by an incredibly loud train whistle nearby. Wifi in the room was free, but slow and unreliable. The shuttle service was very convenient and the drivers were nice, but I noticed that several seats in the van lacked seatbelts. Whoever owns this place just isn't keeping up with basic maintenance. On the upside, the breakfast was excellent and the wait staff in the restaurant were friendly and efficient.

Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel VQ? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel VQ

Address: 1975 Mile High Stadium Circle, Denver, CO 80204 (Formerly Red Lion Hotel)
Location: United States > Colorado > Denver
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #79 of 148 Hotels in Denver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel VQ 3*
Number of rooms: 169
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Downtown ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Hotel VQ reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vq Hotel Denver
Red Lion Denver

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel VQ, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.