We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location for downtown Denver” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel VQ

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hotel VQ to your Saves list
Hotel VQ
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1975 Mile High Stadium Circle, Denver, CO 80204 (Formerly Red Lion Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #80 of 150 Hotels in Denver
Park City
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Perfect location for downtown Denver”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

I first stayed at this property 39 years ago when it was a Holiday Inn, so returning had a certain level of nostalgia. Familiar was the unusual octagon-shaped structure with the top-floor restaurant/bar with huge windows framing the picturesque Denver skyline.

Check in was a breeze assisted by friendly/knowledgeable staff. The rooms were clean and nicer than expected. The bed was very comfortable and the TV was newer with HD.

Restaurant was pretty decent, perhaps somewhat enhanced by by the incredible views.

But for me, the best amenity was the FREE, on-demand hotel shuttle that would take you anywhere within a 5-mile radius. I was there for a concert at the Pepsi Center which, no doubt, made this a valuable service for me. The driver was pleasant and the vans were new and comfortable. Unbelievably, the van was waiting outside the main entrance of the venue after the event! Very convenient indeed!

Overall, this is a very nice property with a staff working hard to keep my business. I even stayed there a couple months later for another concert with my wife. She really liked it as well and she's pretty picky.

I'll likely stay here for every visit to downtown Denver and recommend it to all.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

393 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    107
    101
    60
    60
See reviews for
60
110
43
82
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

Needed a hotel at the last minute going to a conference. Everything was sold out and this wasn't too far away. Reasonable price too. Breakfast in restaurant at top of hotel had a great view of the city. Shuttle can take you to convention center or if you don't want to wait you can drive there in under 10 minutes.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

After spending $199 a night in a hotel with no hot water, no internet, etc., a co worker told me about Hotel VQ. Staff was wonderful, accommodating, funny, and warm. Hotel its self is slightly outdated, but comfortable and clean. Great happy hour on 14th floor. Terrific views of city. Great shuttle that go us to downtown denver and back multiple times during the day. Will stay here again! Thanks to the great staff!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Level Contributor
135 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

Was very dissappointed with this hotel. It looked good on the website but went downhill from there. While the staff and shuttle service were terrific, everything else was pretty poor. The beds were terrible, seemed like something out of the early 80's. The fitness room was right above me... gotta love the sound of that first thing in the am! Internet was spotty at best and the bed covers were a flashback to the 80's as well. Very out of date. Would I stay here again? Probably not. I think the VQ stands for Very Questionable!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

The Hotel VQ was almost comically awful in most respects. To call my room dingy is an insult to dinginess everywhere. Both upholstered chairs had weird, vaguely disturbing stains on them; the carpet had at least a couple of outright holes, plus some stains; the sink had a big, ugly crack that had been repaired to stop the leak, but not to address the appearance; and I could see dead bugs inside the frame of the picture over the bed. Also, the shower made a continuous screeching sound and I was awakened at least four times/night by an incredibly loud train whistle nearby. Wifi in the room was free, but slow and unreliable. The shuttle service was very convenient and the drivers were nice, but I noticed that several seats in the van lacked seatbelts. Whoever owns this place just isn't keeping up with basic maintenance. On the upside, the breakfast was excellent and the wait staff in the restaurant were friendly and efficient.

Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

Changed our hotel 1 day in as our beds were so uncomfortable. Everything was very old and looked dirty. Internet was broken and never connected. Front desk staff was nice and shuttle service was prompt.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

They claim they have Internet and it just doesn't work, of course if you are a neo-Luddite with a passion for living in an Amish post apocalyptic utopia without Internet then it isn't a bad hotel. If you work in business though and being online isn't one thing it's the only thing you NEED from a hotel, it's really annyoying to work in your car by a WiFi connection

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Denver hotels
Denver International Airport
Fairfield Inn & Suites Denver Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Highland
Hampton Inn & Suites Denver-Speer Boulevard
Downtown
Warwick Denver Hotel
Warwick Denver Hotel
#35 of 150 in Denver
4.0 of 5 stars 1,066 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel VQ? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel VQ

Address: 1975 Mile High Stadium Circle, Denver, CO 80204 (Formerly Red Lion Hotel)
Location: United States > Colorado > Denver
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #80 of 150 Hotels in Denver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel VQ 3*
Number of rooms: 169
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Downtown ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel VQ reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vq Hotel Denver
Red Lion Denver

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel VQ, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.