We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Uncomfortable” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel VQ

Save Saved
You added Hotel VQ to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel VQ
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1975 Mile High Stadium Circle, Denver, CO 80204 (Formerly Red Lion Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #77 of 147 hotels in Denver
Minnesota
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Very Uncomfortable”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

Was very dissappointed with this hotel. It looked good on the website but went downhill from there. While the staff and shuttle service were terrific, everything else was pretty poor. The beds were terrible, seemed like something out of the early 80's. The fitness room was right above me... gotta love the sound of that first thing in the am! Internet was spotty at best and the bed covers were a flashback to the 80's as well. Very out of date. Would I stay here again? Probably not. I think the VQ stands for Very Questionable!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

352 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    62
    90
    86
    55
    59
See reviews for
51
97
35
78
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Louisville
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

The Hotel VQ was almost comically awful in most respects. To call my room dingy is an insult to dinginess everywhere. Both upholstered chairs had weird, vaguely disturbing stains on them; the carpet had at least a couple of outright holes, plus some stains; the sink had a big, ugly crack that had been repaired to stop the leak, but not to address the appearance; and I could see dead bugs inside the frame of the picture over the bed. Also, the shower made a continuous screeching sound and I was awakened at least four times/night by an incredibly loud train whistle nearby. Wifi in the room was free, but slow and unreliable. The shuttle service was very convenient and the drivers were nice, but I noticed that several seats in the van lacked seatbelts. Whoever owns this place just isn't keeping up with basic maintenance. On the upside, the breakfast was excellent and the wait staff in the restaurant were friendly and efficient.

Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012 via mobile

Changed our hotel 1 day in as our beds were so uncomfortable. Everything was very old and looked dirty. Internet was broken and never connected. Front desk staff was nice and shuttle service was prompt.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012 via mobile

They claim they have Internet and it just doesn't work, of course if you are a neo-Luddite with a passion for living in an Amish post apocalyptic utopia without Internet then it isn't a bad hotel. If you work in business though and being online isn't one thing it's the only thing you NEED from a hotel, it's really annyoying to work in your car by a WiFi connection

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

Just returned from a weekend at the Hotel VQ and while the Bronco's let us down, the hotel and the amazing, AMAZING staff/management did not. The rooms are gently used but very, very clean and things are being updated! Proximity to the field can't be beat and the free shuttle to downtown is a major perk!
But it's the staff that so impressed me, the front desk, bar, housekeeping, shuttle driver....everyone was happy and more than willing to keep their guests happy! We'll be back for this one!

Room Tip: I had a beautiful view of Denver's skyline (front of building room) - even with the interstate I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

I got stranded in Denver after Greyhound overbooked their buses. Someone mentioned the Hotel VQ, so I stayed here. The rooms are spacious & clean; the staff is superb! On BRONCO GAME DAYS/WEEKENDS, their rooms to up to $140; that's super cheap, especially since you are literally backed up to Mile High Stafium's Parking Arena!

I'll definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
85 hotel reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

I stayed here in mid August after winning a bid on Priceline. I immediately came hear to read the reviews and I was concerned as many reviewers did not like this hotel. Very pleasantly surprised when I showed up. Great views of the city, decent sized rooms, comfortable king sized bed, friendly and helpful staff (had a great chat with the manager about hockey and baseball while I awaited my airport shuttle on checkout). Those were the pros, as for the cons, some of the fixtures were showing their age. The bathroom and vanity could be updated, but seriously, are you here to admire the toilet? Some people like to nitpick, I'm not one of those people. Also the window to my room would not lock shut. As I was there in summer, this wasn't a problem but in winter it would be a nuisance. I didn't feel like this was a security concern, as I was on the fifth floor and I don't think Spiderman is really into breaking into Denver area hotels. A greater nuisance was the internet. There is free internet throughout the building...in theory. It never worked for very long in the room...or on any floor. The only place that had reliable, continuous wifi was upstairs at the restaurant. So I would take my laptop up there, have a drink while I did what I needed to do. An irritant, true, but I was not in Denver to surf the web. I did that during breakfast or when I felt like a snack. Lastly, the location can be either a blessing or a pain. If you are in Denver to see something at the Mile High Stadium, this is THE place to stay. Right next door...literally! Otherwise if you want to go somewhere, you'll need a car or take the free hotel shuttle. I was without a car and I don't have the patience on vacation to wait for a shuttle. Plus, I am a walker and my whole point in being in Denver is to explore the city. So that is exactly what I did, I walked downtown. This can be done and it takes about 20 minutes to get there. The only problem is you need to negotiate the interstate and the North Platte river, which is between the hotel and downtown. There are two under/overpasses that can get you where you need to go. There is one underpass right in front of the Mile High stadium that leads to the LRT station and another overpass towards the aquarium (which is also near by) that brings you to the LoDo. Never when I was walking, did I feel uncomfortable or had any concern for my safety. If you are not a walker or you think you may be concerned, then the shuttle bus is there for you. All in all, I liked this hotel and although being in downtown proper would have been more convenient at times, I would absolutely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel VQ? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel VQ

Address: 1975 Mile High Stadium Circle, Denver, CO 80204 (Formerly Red Lion Hotel)
Location: United States > Colorado > Denver
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #77 of 147 hotels in Denver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel VQ 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Downtown ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Otel, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Hotel VQ reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vq Hotel Denver
Red Lion Denver

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel VQ, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.