We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breathtaking” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Clyfford Still Museum

Clyfford Still Museum
1250 Bannock Street, Denver, CO 80204
720-354-4880
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #25 of 330 things to do in Denver
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Attraction details
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Breathtaking”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

This museum is one of the country's gems. An emotional and rivetting trip through the work of this monumental abstract expressionist.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    109
    38
    16
    5
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
western colorado
Top Contributor
175 reviews 175 reviews
66 attraction reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
“fascinating”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

I was impressed by the building, the art, and how it was presented. My only complaint was the staff did not know the answer to one of my questions about Still's technique. I will have to do research on my own.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“wonderful art and architecture”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

It is a small enought museum to tour easily.
Seeing much of the artist's work all at once was the best way to appreciate it

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Make this a stop on your trip to Denver”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

Excellent museum and very much worth the trip. The works are outstanding and the staff are very helpful. This was a manageable and comprehensive museum. I usually get museum fatigue, but not the case here. I read every description, watched every video, and enjoyed every room. It truly is a deep look into Clyfford Still's work. The museum's educational materials helpfully position his oeuvre in cultural, American, and art history. A wide variety of Still's work and a great atmosphere. Highly recommend.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, NE
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Denver is so lucky!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Going to this museum was a highlight of our trip. Housed in a brand new building, the museum shows the growth of Clyfford Still from his early days to his large powerful abstract expressionist paintings.

Clyfford Still's masterpieces are not to be missed. Use the benches in every room to spend some actual time with these paintings. Just beautiful.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Clyfford Still Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clyfford Still Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.