We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for lunch” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Balistreri Vineyards

Balistreri Vineyards
1946 East 66th Avenue, Denver, CO 80229
303-287-5156
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #24 of 330 things to do in Denver
Attraction details
The Villages
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Great for lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

A group of 8 60 year old ladies visited this winery for wine tasting. The price was $12 each for the tasting and the tour. You get to taste at least 12 wines and are told the different locations the grapes come from. Julie, one of the owners, gave us a delightful tour. We chose to eat lunch at the winery and were so glad we did. Your choices were mostly sandwiches, which were wonderfully prepared. We chose to eat outside because the day was lovely. Great service. There is also a small store on location.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    10
    2
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great wine choice for my Engagement Party”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

I have never been to a Vineyard before and this was a wonderful experience! I went with my fiancée for a wine tasting to chose our wine for our toast at our engagement party. This was so awesome. While tasting numerous wines we where entertained with beautiful views and stories about each wine and the history of the family owned place. I believe the young man serving us was a grandson :) I want to go again to pick out our wedding wines! We are also considering using this place in some way for our wedding or reception or dinner :)

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southeast
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
42 attraction reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“I hope you are not in a hurry”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

This is one of the few wineries that actually looks like one when you pull up. It has a huge tasting bar and they are extra generous on your trying every thing on the menu. There are over 15 bottles of wine that you will try. If there are more than one group of people trying it only seems like the owner's wife is doing the sampling. She is amazingly sweet with her stories and she will spend lots of time answer questions. But, don't be in any hurry. We allowed 30 minutes to be here but it was well over an hour. Even the owner stopped in to say hello. I loved the Cabernet, the Syrah and the Cherry. They will box the wine up for you to ship or take home on the plane with you.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Royalton, Ohio
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Mothers day visit a wonderful experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

Visited on Mother's Day with wife. We had hoped for a nice weekend but if you were there you know it snowed the night before to ruin our sightseeing plans. But the warmth of Balistreri saved the day. Without reservations ( you don't need them but as this attraction grows if you have a group call ahead) Greeted by the grandson, we set upon a lively tasting, (and I'm a beer drinker who usually passes on ordering wine). My wife loved the history and discussion of the wines offered. And this was mixed with a lunch - She had the tomato soup with goat cheese. (She claims the best tomato soup ever) I had the sliced chicken on a baguette along with a apple, pear, strawberry, cheese crackers appetizer. Soon afterward, the winemakers wife took us on a tour..The facility brings in their grapes from outside basically into the basement and ferments them the old fashioned way ( no sulfates, no additives). And you then realize they cork each bottle, wax it, and apply a label all by hand one bottle at a time. The whole mom and pop approach a refreshing experience. Hidden in the industrial part of town the modern clean building was an oasis on a snowy Mother's day. And of course we ordered a case shipped back home. Our only regret is not remembering the grandson's name, a wonderful host.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hereford
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

We really enjoyed the visit- tasted 16 wines cheese and crackers/biscuits also provided -interesting information on each wine.we also had a short tour of the winery.The staff were knowledgeable and helpful- no pressure to buy -we also ate here and the food was excellent -good vegetarian options -well worth a visit and would highly reccomend

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Balistreri Vineyards? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Balistreri Vineyards, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.