We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Scarest Drive I have ever driven!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mount Evans Scenic Byway

Mount Evans Scenic Byway
Denver, CO
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 107 Attractions in Denver
Type: Scenic Drives, Outdoors
Activities: Mountain biking, Driving
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This high-altitude scenic drive climbs more than 7,000 feet in just 28 miles, reaching an altitude of 14,264 feet.
San Francisco, California
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Scarest Drive I have ever driven!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

But it's totally worth it once you reach the top. It was summer and it was still very cold so I recommend bringing a warm jacket anytime of the year while visiting. There are free roaming goats and other animals to see along with the beautiful scenery. This was the highlight of my trip to Denver. I saw license plates from all over the U.S coming to visit. It's a must see.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

427 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    356
    62
    6
    1
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Breathtaking...literally”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

Although the final leg to the summit was closed, the trip to Summit Lake was well worth the trip. Breathtaking views, hand-gripping drive (for your passengers) but a spectacular trip at minimal cost.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Willow Springs, Illinois
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great day-trip and beautiful drive”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

Loved the views all around. Echo lake was one of our stops, glad we decided to take the drive. Top of Mt. Evans was closed but still enjoyed the views.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great Fall colors now”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

I want to say that this place sucks so nobody else goes. I want to ride my bike to the top one day. We saw big horn sheep and mountain goats along the road near summit lake

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Woodlands, Texas
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“It is like another world......”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

Once you leave the tree level at about 8,000 feet, the whole scenery changes. The road narrow...watch out for bikers...but you do feel like you are on another planet. Gorgeous!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mount Evans Scenic Byway also viewed

 

Been to Mount Evans Scenic Byway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mount Evans Scenic Byway, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.