We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, high marks on convenience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Embassy Suites Denver - Downtown / Convention Center

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Embassy Suites Denver - Downtown / Convention Center to your Saves list
Embassy Suites Denver - Downtown / Convention Center
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1420 Stout Street, Denver, CO 80202 (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Internet Deal
Ranked #9 of 148 Hotels in Denver
Chesapeake, Virginia
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
“Great location, high marks on convenience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

Stayed here for a meeting at the Denver convention center, which is literally across the street from the Embassy. The location is also within easy walking distance of restaurants and shops. There is a Starbucks in the same block and a TJMaxx as well as a bunch of other stores 2 blocks away.
Breakfast is very good with cooked to order items and a wide variety of foods. Good oatmeal with walnuts, raisins, and brown sugar toppings offered. Fresh fruit, cut up and whole
Room was clean and well maintained. Front desk staff appeared indifferent rather than friendly.

TIP: think twice before you pay extra for the "corner room with mountain view." Corner means the inside corner of the building -- not an exterior corner. Mountain view is also misleading. If I look to the left, I can see mountains in the distance, but the primary view is a parking deck and the street between us. The room was a little larger than a typical Embassy room, which could be advantageous for a small (<6 people) meeting, but was a waste for one person. Embassy should revise the description of this room.

Room Tip: don't be misled by "corner room with mountain view as detailed above.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe P, Front Office Manager at Embassy Suites Denver - Downtown / Convention Center, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
I appreciate you taking the time to provide us with some feedback from your recent visit. I'm glad that you were able to take advantage of our wonderful breakfast as well as the manager's reception. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,477 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,025
    326
    87
    24
    15
See reviews for
372
232
24
562
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (283)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

we spent 6 nights 9/3-9/8/13 this hotel is located in a perfect spot. you are 2 blocks from th 16st mall so it is quite and away from the hustle and bustle yet convenient to all. we have stayed in other embassy suites in the past, but this is the best one so far. loved the breakfast cooked to order, we had something different each morning. great happy hour from 5:30pm to 7:30pm each night. the front desk was very helpful (rachael) needed advise regarding our flight home, and taxi to the airport. the valet service was excellent in getting us a cab. i would highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: we were on the 15th floor and each morning as we walked out the door of our room we had a view of th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe P, Front Office Manager at Embassy Suites Denver - Downtown / Convention Center, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Thank you for the great review about your recent stay at our hotel! I'm glad that Rachel was able to assist you with your departure and I will be sure to share your comments with her. Please come visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FoCo, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

Good hotel in a good location, close to several Lodo attractions. Breakfast drink area is a little cramped if there is more than one person wanting a beverage. Room service menu offers good food with prompt service.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe P, Front Office Manager at Embassy Suites Denver - Downtown / Convention Center, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
I'm glad that you had a great stay with us and we certainly appreciate the feedback you shared. Please come and visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverton, Utah
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

We stayed here for a sports weekend... Baseball and football games. We checked in before the Rockies game, and the gal at the registration counter was very unfriendly and even less helpful...."I need your cc and here's your keys" She didn't even give us room number, thank goodness they are on the key holder. The 2 room suite was very spacious and we love having the fridge and microwave (one of the reasons we usually choose Embassy). The public areas were very, very well kept, hardly a dirty dish or room service tray to be seen. The toiletries were not stocked when we checked in. No coffee for morning. But the biggest complaint I have is how dirty the bathroom was. The counters had been wiped down but there was black mildew in between the large tiles in the shower, pink mildew around the caulking of the tub, and on the bottom of the door the paint was literally peeling off. The room had not be deep cleaned as we found bobby pins leftover from the previous guest. A very bright spot is the funny and helpful valet team, they were fast, friendly and efficient. Always willing to take a minute if needed extra help with directions. Location is great for access to Mile High and Coors Field. The train stop is literally right across the street and super easy to navigate. 16th Street mall is just up a block.

Room Tip: Choose rooms on the East side, they are quieter. Don't waste money on a mountain view, the mount...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe P, Front Office Manager at Embassy Suites Denver - Downtown / Convention Center, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Thank you for providing us with some feedback from your recent stay with us! I apologize that your stay did not live up to the standards that we are known for at our property. I will be going over your comments with our entire staff to ensure that this is not an ongoing issue. Next time you are in the Denver area please feel free to contact me directly and I will make sure you are well taken care of! We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

We stayed at the Embassy Suites Denver-Downtown/Convention Center the weekend after Labor day to visit our daughter for a mini-vacation. I travel quite a bit but I found this Embassy Suites to be the best one I have ever stayed at. The staff, particularly Michael out at the front desk, were exceptional, made us feel very welcome, accomodated our requests within a very short time. The location in downtown is excellent! Within walking distance of of restaurants and shopping. Rooms were really quite, couldn't hear much of any noise, were incredibly clean, breakfasts and the wine tasting better than any other hotel i have been at. We would definitely stay here again and would recommend it to anyone.

Room Tip: Go for the mountain view and in a corner with no interior windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe P, Front Office Manager at Embassy Suites Denver - Downtown / Convention Center, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with a great review on TripAdvisor! Michael is a huge asset to our team and we are lucky to have him! We hope that you will come and visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

We stayed at this Embassy property Labor Day weekend 2013. Very nice. The rooms are nice with a separate living room and bedroom, thus the name Embassy Suites! The breakfast was more than adequate with many offerings including a made to order omelette station. The evening reception was very nice with wines, beers and mixed drinks along with assorted munchies, different fare every evening. The rooms were clean, the beds comfortable and having two flat screens in each suite was a nice touch. Staff was friendly and helpful. The cost of $31 to park each evening is par for the course in most big cities and the valets were most pleasant and helpful with luggage, driving directions (even restaurant suggestions). The location made walking to many sites and restaurants easy. The free bus that runs on 16th Street made it possible to go and come to Ravens game, and local restaurants with no cab fee.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe P, Front Office Manager at Embassy Suites Denver - Downtown / Convention Center, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
I'm glad that you chose to stay at our hotel for the Broncos/Ravens game! We are in a great location for attending Broncos games and other nearby attractions! We certainly appreciate the feedback and hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Far unlit unknown
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

The location is excellent, close to the 16th Street mall, and its frequent, free shuttle. The happy hour is great, as is the included breakfast. The staff in the breakfast room and restaurant were excellent, and the front desk staff kindly provided a toothbrush because I'd forgotten mine. The suite was spacious but our rooms faced the atrium, which made it very noisy. Fortunately, closing the door between the bedroom and sitting area helped. A previous tenant had left trash in the room that housekeeping missed, though it was addressed as soon as I brought it to their attention. The rooms also smelled rather strongly of mildew, and the air conditioning didn't seem to work well so the room tended to be stuffy. Overall, the pluses outweighed the minuses.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe P, Front Office Manager at Embassy Suites Denver - Downtown / Convention Center, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review on TripAdvisor for our hotel! We certainly value the feedback and I will be sure to share it with our team. Please come and visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Embassy Suites Denver - Downtown / Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites Denver - Downtown / Convention Center

Address: 1420 Stout Street, Denver, CO 80202
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Denver > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Denver
#8 Business Hotel in Denver
#9 Romantic Hotel in Denver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites Denver - Downtown / Convention Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 403
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Embassy Suites Denver Downtown / Convention Center - the ideal destination hotel offering the perfect setting for business or pleasure and a gateway to the city's rejuvenated downtown scene. A contemporary convention property, our LEED Silver Certified hotel in Denver is a lively destination within walking distance of the best attractions in downtown. Your stay includes cooked to order breakfast each morning and a complimentary manager’s reception for two hours each evening. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels, getaroom.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Embassy Suites Denver - Downtown / Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Denver - Downtown / Hotel Denver

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Embassy Suites Denver - Downtown / Convention Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.