We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Out Dated and ripoff for parking” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Embassy Suites Denver - Downtown / Convention Center

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Embassy Suites Denver - Downtown / Convention Center to your Saves list
Embassy Suites Denver - Downtown / Convention Center
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1420 Stout Street, Denver, CO 80202 (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Internet Deal
Ranked #11 of 149 Hotels in Denver
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Tampa, Florida
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Out Dated and ripoff for parking”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

31$ for parking and only offer valet when lots around the hotel are 7$. Also rooms were a little old and rundown and need updated. Hotel entrance is not very clear and it is not easy to find entrance, a ton of one way streets so if you miss it your driving in circles

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe P, Front Office Manager at Embassy Suites Denver - Downtown / Convention Center, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
I wanted to apologize about your experience at our hotel. Our hotel has only been open for two and a half years and we take great pride in the design of our hotel. I will be sure to share your comments with our entire team and ownership group. We would love to have you give us another try on your next trip to Denver!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,595 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,102
    352
    93
    29
    19
See reviews for
398
249
26
612
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (303)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Riverside, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

This very large Embassy Suites Hotel is in an excellent location for sightseeing in downtown Denver, across from the Convention Center and two blocks from the 16th St. Mall, as well as a nice home base for those who want to visit many of Colorado's attractions that are two hours away or less; we were there for six nights and did both. I love the Embassy Suites concept, because there is great value in staying there for the free hot breakfast every day, as well as the "manager's reception" every evening, featuring an open bar and snacks. These greatly reduce the cost of daily meals. We generally eat one special meal, usually a late lunch or early dinner, at a $$$ restaurant each day, which we can afford to do because of this.

But this is a great example of bigger not always being better. The communication between housekeeping and their staff is problematic. Two days we found broken glass on the carpeting in in our room, and complained both times. We did not break any glass while staying there; we suspect it came from the vacuum cleaner used to clean up another room's broken glass, and was redeposited in ours. Not one day was the maid service totally right; one day they forgot to leave clean glasses, another there were no liners in the trash receptacles. And the room was not as clean as other Embassy Suites we've stayed at.

The front desk and restaurant staffs are generally friendly and attempt to be helpful, but don't seem quite able to do so, I suspect because of poor communication and other management issues.

Room Tip: The mountain view rooms are worth the slight extra fee, especially on the top floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe P, Front Office Manager at Embassy Suites Denver - Downtown / Convention Center, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Thank you for providing us with some feedback from your recent stay with us. I wanted to personally apologize about the level of service you received during your stay. We take great pride in being known as one of the top hotels in the area, and I will be sure to follow up with our entire team regarding your feedback. We would love to have you visit us again and please feel free to contact me directly on your next trip!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawthorne, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

My husband and I checked in for a quick holiday before I had to do business in Colorado. The hotel had spacious rooms, in a perfect location, close o shopping and wonderful restaurants. We rented a car but then realized it was a waste because we could walk to almost every single activity we did with the exception of a concernt we attended.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe P, Front Office Manager at Embassy Suites Denver - Downtown / Convention Center, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
We appreciate you choosing to share some feedback about your stay on TripAdvisor! We hope to have you stay with us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

I loved the location of the hotel. It was within two blocks from 16th street, light rail a block away and B-bikes across the street. The hotel provided free happy hour and breakfast. We spent the week of the 4th at the hotel. It was busy, but the staff worked to accomodate the large number of guest on the 4th and 5th.. Thanks to Josh Ventry who started our stay with great information about what to see and do in Denver.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe P, Front Office Manager at Embassy Suites Denver - Downtown / Convention Center, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
I'm glad that you chose to stay at our hotel over the 4th of July! Josh is a great asset to our team and we are lucky to have him! Next time you are in the area please stop in and say hello!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McDonough, Georgia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

The hotel is quite nice. We paid extra for a mountain view but given the small window and the location of the window (and the haze over the mountains) I wouldn't pay extra for it in the future. The complimentary breakfast was very nice (made to order omelets, lots of hot food choices) but if you don't get there early, you may be in a huge line to eat. Also, the hotel was so busy (it's a big hotel) that we had to take our breakfast to our room to eat (they have 4 eating areas and all were packed with lots of folks looking for a place to sit). The same is true for the evening reception - huge lines for both food (chips/salsa & veggies/dip) and drinks. I would also recommend checking out early because since all parking is valet, if there are 20 families wanting to leave about the same time, you will wait until an attendant can get your vehicle. Staff were friendly and we would stay there again. Oh and no hot tub in the pool area. The "spa" (which many hotels call a hot tub) was the massage type of spa. Given the cost and type of hotel, we were surprised that there was no hot tub and a fairly small pool.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe P, Front Office Manager at Embassy Suites Denver - Downtown / Convention Center, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with a review on TripAdvisor! I will be sure to share all of your comments with our entire team, and we look forward to having you stay with us again in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NC
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

After staying in an amazing Embassy Suites in Alaska last summer, and based on previous reviews, we chose to stay at this location for our last night in Colorado before returning home. Here are our observations.
Our room on the seventh floor had a slight mildew scent.
Bathroom was clean, but not spotless.
We were shocked that wireless was $10 per device. Outrageous!
We had only three bath towels in the room.
Breakfast was well-stocked.
Beds were very comfortable.
Overall, our stay was fine, but we have come to expect a little more from Embassy Suites than we experienced in downtown Denver.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe P, Front Office Manager at Embassy Suites Denver - Downtown / Convention Center, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
I appreciate you taking the time to provide us with some feedback from your recent stay with us! It is disappointing to hear that you didn't feel our hotel was one of the top Embassy Suites, as we are always striving to be the number one hotel in Denver! I will be sure to share your comments with our team, to use as a training tool moving forward. Next time you are in the area please contact me directly and I will make sure that you are well taken care of!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

This was a great hotel. Not only did they comp me the parking but the hotel included a free happy hour and a free breakfast. The free breakfast wasn't the usual free breakfast. It was an omelet that was made for you with fresh ingredients. I would not say any place else in Denver.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe P, Front Office Manager at Embassy Suites Denver - Downtown / Convention Center, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Thank you for the great comments you shared about your stay! We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Embassy Suites Denver - Downtown / Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites Denver - Downtown / Convention Center

Address: 1420 Stout Street, Denver, CO 80202
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Denver > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Denver
#7 Business Hotel in Denver
#12 Family Hotel in Denver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites Denver - Downtown / Convention Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 403
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Embassy Suites Denver Downtown / Convention Center - the ideal destination hotel offering the perfect setting for business or pleasure and a gateway to the city's rejuvenated downtown scene. A contemporary convention property, our LEED Silver Certified hotel in Denver is a lively destination within walking distance of the best attractions in downtown. Your stay includes cooked to order breakfast each morning and a complimentary manager’s reception for two hours each evening. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Embassy Suites Denver - Downtown / Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Denver - Downtown / Hotel Denver

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Embassy Suites Denver - Downtown / Convention Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.