We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dinner and a Concert. Good Food. Great Live Venue.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Tavern

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
The Tavern
7401 E. 1st Ave., Denver, CO
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 145 Nightlife in Denver
Type: Bar/ Clubs, Performances, Concerts, Clubs
Attraction details
Colorado Springs
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Dinner and a Concert. Good Food. Great Live Venue.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

Took my teenage son and daughter along with a friend of mine to see The Rippingtons. We had a nice dinner upstairs and walked downstairs to the live performance club. The sound treatment in the room is state-of-the-art. The stage is small, but not cramped, making it an intimate setting for the performers and their fans. The sound mix is very good and not overpowering. I really liked the entire experience and would encourage anyone to attend a concert in this venue.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    5
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Montana
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“GREAT VENUE”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2012

My wife and I were in town to see Tom Petty and Tom Russell was at the Soiled Dove a couple of nights later so we took friends. Tom Russell is one of our favorite acts so I didn't care where he was playing. But we were pleasantly surprised when we found a well laid out club with tiered seating and a wonderful sound system. The wait staff was courteous and got the job done with little noise.

There is ample free parking close and the parking lot was well lit. Anyone with mobility issues may have problems navigating the steep stairs to the club entrance.

My only other music club experience in Denver was at Ebbets Field back in the 70's and the Soiled Dove took that concept and improved it.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northbrook, Illinois
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great small venue to see a concert”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2012

All of the seats are excellent and close to the stage and you can choose your seats ahead of time.Drinks are a bit expensive and they don't pour a full drink. Staff was excellent though and I would be happy to visit this venue again. Parking was easy, plentiful, close and free. Can't beat that!

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
31 attraction reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Crazy cool joint for listening to tunes..”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

I've enjoyed myself every time I've been here for concerts-my friends and I find that the staff is outstanding as well..always fun and engaging. Their concert calendar is also full of great artist-that pull me under every visit!

Visited October 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highlands Ranch, Colorado
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Great Concert Venue”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2011

One of the best venues in Denver for concerts and shows. Intimate setting with great sound quality.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Tavern also viewed

 

Been to The Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Tavern, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.