We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Sunday Brunch” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Gallop Cafe

Gallop Cafe
2401 West 32nd Avenue, Denver, CO (Highland)
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #301 of 2,555 Restaurants in Denver
Price range: $5 - $13
Cuisines: Café, Bistro, Soups, Sandwiches
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch
Neighborhood: Highland
Description: This is a real good place for brunch and lunch. Also has a full bar along with good coffee beverages. Small neighborhood setting,in the historic Weir building in Denver's Highland neighborhood. Has outdoor seating and friendly staff along with a very convenient location in close proximity to downtown.
St Louis, MO
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Nice Sunday Brunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013 via mobile

We came here on Fathers Day morning. I had the Colorado croissant with avocado & sprouts. My husband had the Tour due Force. We split them. Both were good but we liked the Force best. They both came with a side of potatoes, orange slices & a watermelon slice.

I also had an excellent Americano.

The outdoor patio is quant but a nice atmosphere. Highly recommended!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidGrafke, Owners at Gallop Cafe, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Happy belated Father's Day to you! Thank you for celebrating it with us. We're thrilled you both enjoyed your meals. There's plenty more delicious dishes to explore on our menu, so we hope you'll be back soon.

Best wishes,

David & Glen, Owners
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    10
    1
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Weston, Florida
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“The best "find" in Denver”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

This place is a gem. It's cozy, homey and the food is incredible. All homemade. Try the bloody mary's, (omg good), my favorite sandwich is the Turkeystop . . . it's yummy with the jalapeno bacon . . . . and the homemade desserts are out of this world melt in your mouth amazing. We go every chance we get.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidGrafke, Owners at Gallop Cafe, responded to this review, June 8, 2013
Marla, thank you for calling us a "gem"; it's wonderful to hear you treasure us so much! We'll keep serving the same delicious dishes if you keep stopping by to see us whenever you're in Denver. Will you be back soon? We miss you.

Best wishes,

David & Glen, Owners
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“I've not quite decided just what I think...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013 via mobile

At most it was average. And over priced. It is definitely a cute cozy place and the staff was welcoming and wonderful.
We had brunch around 11, which came with a side of cold potatoes that weren't very flavorful. My breakfast sandwich was something a 10 yr old could have made. Plain and simple. The fresh squeezed juice was a hit. As well as the hot coco, so maybe just stick with the coffee bar the next time you're at the Gallop.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
denver
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Needs a Gluten free choice??”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

3x times we have gone there for breakfast. Taken one look at the menu and walked away. For a place that enjoys cooking they are cutting their throats by not having healthy choices!!!!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidGrafke, Owners at Gallop Cafe, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
vannessdenver,

We're sorry to hear that you weren't impressed by our breakfast menu, but you may have missed our many healthier options, including our Colorado Trail Hot Cereal, the Gallop Granola and Yogurt, a number of our breakfast wraps (with egg Whites) and the Sherpa's Sunrise Breakfast bowl features vegetarian/vegan, with roasted vegetables and organic trail creal. without the curried cream which is always on the side. There are many more too. We can adjust many menu items to your liking, I'm pretty sure. Have you dined with us before? We'd like to encourage to step inside and join us sometime soon. Best wishes,

David & Glen, Owners
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katy, Texas
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Great little cafe”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2012 via mobile

We visited here a few times while staying in Denver on vacation. During the week it shuts early (3 pm) and on the weekend stays open till 10 pm. We dropped in for drinks each time and the service was excellent - especially at night when the barman was very attentive. We sampled some of their dessert - a brownie bread and butter pudding - which was excellent. The evening menu had a good choice of dishes and there appears to be a steady local crowd.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidGrafke, Owners at Gallop Cafe, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
GightRunner,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us! We love hearing from our guests. We're glad to hear you enjoyed both your desserts as well as our friendly service. What did you think of the drinks? We'll pass your compliments along to our staff.

Next time you're in Denver we hope you'll join us again. We look forward to welcoming you back!

Best wishes,

David & Glen, Owners
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gallop Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Gallop Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gallop Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.