We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“On Top of the World” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mount Evans

Mount Evans
39, 591270 -105, 644360, Denver, CO
720-369-6292
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 330 things to do in Denver
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Activities: Mountain biking, Driving
Attraction details
Denver, Colorado
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“On Top of the World”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

Mt Evans is a great opportunity for you to experience summiting a mountain without the physical climb. Accessible by car, but the drive is not for those who are scared of heights. The road to the top is a narrow two lane road as you ascend and descend this mountain. If you can brave the drive the view from the top is worth it & you may even experience a mountain goat or two along the way.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

869 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    738
    115
    9
    3
    4
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Evergreen, Colorado, United States
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great drive if your not afraid of heights”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

Beautiful drive to one of Colorado's fourteeners. Lots of switch backs and very few guardrails so it is not for the faint of heart. There is a fee charged to go to the top and walk around the old stone building. Lots of times the mountain sheep will be wandering through the old building. If you are out for a drive and don't care if you get out at the top, you can tell them at the gate and skip the fee as the road is actually a publicly maintained road. However, they do have rangers at the top to make sure you don't cheat. That includes using the restrooms at the top. Whether you pay to stop or not, it will be a breath taking ride in every sense. Lots of marmots to photograph too!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Hike Evans to Bierstadt”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

I had a limited amount of time when I was last in Denver to see various sites around town but was very glad that I took the time to go to Mt. Evans and take a few hours to hike the Sawtooth. I was staying downtown so I rented a car across from the convention center and drove out of town. Directions were very easy to follow from Denver going out I70 to Idaho Springs. The road once you get past Echo Lake park is a blast to drive. I would have liked to have had a Ferrari but my SUV did well anyway and offered me plenty of opportunities to pull off the road at various spots and take pictures. The summit offers amazing views so make sure to at least get out of the car and hike up from the parking area; it is well worth it. The hike across the Sawtooth is pretty tenuous at spots and the altitude makes it necessary to take a few stops along the way, but you are going to want to do that anyway. Bring layers of clothes and a hat as the temperature is drastically different at this elevation and the wind is constant. If it is a sunny day, you'll shed some layers along the way as it is pretty strenuous climbing up and down rocks. There is not a clear trail along the way, it is just scattered rocks to climb up and down and over and thru. The marmots along the way seemed surprised to see a visitor coming thru.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Scary yet superb....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

This is an experience of a lifetime. I have never been more scared in all my life driving up a mountain. There were bicyclists everywhere on a road that is already narrow enough for two cars. I was white knuckled the whole way up and the whole way down the hill. At least the views were beyond breathtaking and the wildlife at the top of the summit made everything worthwhile. It is definitely worth the risk!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bluffton
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Breath-Taking.....Literally”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

This is a great place to visit while you are in the area. I tried to go to Estes Park and could not get in due to the damages caused from the flooding. Therefore, my husband and I decided to go to Mt. Evans instead. Definately worth it if you like site-seeing and nature watching! The views are amazing and the drive is at times "nerve racking" considering how high up you are and there not being any guard rails on the cliffs. The views from Echo Lake are amazing. Too bad that the top was already shut down for the season.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Mount Evans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mount Evans, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.