We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A pleasant diversion, with a little history too” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Forney Transportation Museum

Forney Transportation Museum
4303 Brighton Boulevard, Denver, CO CO 80216
303-297-1113
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #19 of 107 Attractions in Denver
Type: Specialty Museums, Museums
Attraction details
Richmond, Virginia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“A pleasant diversion, with a little history too”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

A museum for many ages, this one concentrates on automobiles and railroads, although other transportation (motorcycles, planes, tractors, others) are represented too. One of eight surviving instances of the world's largest steam locomotive is nicely displayed, along with passenger cars of the golden era of railroading. I'm pretty sure that the large number of "woody" station wagons was a special exhibit, but there were literally dozens of other autos from the 30s, 40s, 50s and 60s. More sobering for a baby boomer, there are also cars from well into my adulthood! Less numerous but still plentiful were autos from the dawn of the automobile era, including Model Ts and Model As. Mrs. Forney (the wife of the founder) also collected vintage clothing, and the models (mannequins) amongst the exhibits are dressed in clothes of the era, a very nice touch. I found the outfits almost as interesting as the "large metal hulky things" as my wife describes my museum tastes.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    75
    36
    14
    4
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denver. CO
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Terrific for all ages!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

This ever-evolving museum just gets better and better! In addition to rotating special exhibits you will enjoy the world's largest steam locomotive, Amelia Earhart's gorgeous 1923 car, a cool bicycle collection showing one so old it doesn't even have pedals or brakes, a hot motorcycle collection, stage coaches, and of course lots and lots of beautiful collector cars. A favorite is the Hispano Suiza which has appeared in the movies. If you haven't been in the last 4 years you need to see again......it is brighter, better displayed, and features rotating exhibits and special shows. The current woody show is really special. I had no idea how enjoyable it would be!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longmont
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“An unexpected delight!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013 via mobile

I took my son (who is obsessed with trains) and my daughter (4 and 2) here and they both had a blast! The trains were unbelievably huge and the collection of cars was beautiful and all of historic significance. I have been in the muscle car hobby for 20+ years and I loved every minute of this museum. Worth the drive and the cheap price to get in. Try it. You'll like it.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsburg, Virginia
Top Contributor
226 reviews 226 reviews
82 attraction reviews
Reviews in 121 cities Reviews in 121 cities
172 helpful votes 172 helpful votes
“No fun allowed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

If you are over 50 this is your place. It is the home of grumpy old men. They have a nice collection of cars, some trains and lots of bikes. But there is litte to no signage to explain the exhibits. Thus it is really just a collection not a museum.

Very strict rules that you are told to repeat to your children. The staff is down right mean. No bags or purses allowed in, guess they had a problem with folks stealling cars in there purses or camera bags...

It could be a nice fun place but nice is not tolerated here....

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“allow two hours at least”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Cars, trucks, trains, motorcycles and more. Climb into the cab of the Big Boy engine, a train so large that you can't get it all in one picture. When I was there they had a special display of woody wagons. These cars are works of art! For you riders, lots of old motorcycles, especially Indians.

Well lit and spacious, you can get a good look at everything. Lots of free parking except when the National Western stock show is in town in January.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Forney Transportation Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Forney Transportation Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.