We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyed it” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Washington Park

Washington Park
Louisiana Ave and Downing, Denver, CO 80209 (Washington Park)
303 964 2522
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #17 of 330 things to do in Denver
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Activities: Walking, Running
Attraction details
Colorado
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
29 attraction reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Enjoyed it”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

We enjoy our visits to the park. It is great for relaxing, exercise, people watching, and what have you.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

252 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    142
    88
    21
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“WASHINGTON PARK-THE ATHLETIC MECCA OF DENVER”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

Whether it is jogging, running, walking, biking, volleybal, soccer, flag football, tennis, croquet, lawn bowling, paddle boating the lake or windsurfing the lake, it is all seen and done at Washington Park in Denver. In addition, it is a great place for a barbeque, a firm get together and the Denver Municipal Band will play there on Sunday nights in the summer. Washington Park is Denver's best area and park! There are certain areas close (Gaylord Street, Pearl Street, Denver University Area) that offer food and an additional variety of attractions. Although smaller, Washington Park is to Denver what Boston Commons is to Boston and what Central Park is to New York.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Gorgeous”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

My fiance and I visited Wash Park in July and it is absolutely gorgeous. First, the park is really big and they're still working on adding more sidewalks and bike trails. Second, there is so much diversity in the activities going on at the park. There was everything from volleyball, to frisbie, to a pond with paddle boats, to a manicured croquet field. Not to mention on a clear day, the mountains are in perfect view. Oh, and the park is a short walk from some great boutiques and restaurants.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moraga, California
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Fun place for a walk or run in a very nice neighborhood”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

My son lives about a mile away on the other side of I25. We have walked/jogged to Wash Park 6-8 times over the 4 visits we made to Denver in 2013. I really enjoy running around the perimeter. It's between 2-3 miles around I think. My wife, son, & daughter in law jogged around it on 12/23 after a snow the night before. The white winter wonderland and frozen lakes were just spectacular on a cold, clear morning. Really a fun spot. Good people watching, especially on warm days. And nice public facilities, i.e. restrooms. My son is moving away from Denver this year and I will miss this park!

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parker, Colorado, United States
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
“So glad someone thought of designating this great park space.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

The size and variety of this park is amazing! So much to do and see. Yes, it gets crazy crowded, but what a gift to have in the city. Never disappointed. Makes one happy to be a Denverite.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Washington Park also viewed

 

Been to Washington Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Washington Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.