We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the most enriching places in this world.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Denver Museum of Nature & Science

Denver Museum of Nature & Science
2001 Colorado Blvd, Denver, CO 80205 (City Park)
303-370-6000
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 107 Attractions in Denver
Type: Natural History Museums, Science Museums, Observatories/ Planetariums, Theaters, Museums
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Denver Museum of Nature & Science is the Rocky Mountain region’s leading resource for informal science education. A variety of exhibitions, programs, and activities help Museum visitors experience the natural wonders of Colorado, Earth, and the universe.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“One of the most enriching places in this world.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

Come here to learn about important things. Take time to read and understand what you are looking at. Absorb the knowledge that has taken lifetimes of many researchers to contribute. Critical issues, wonderful accomplishments, from microscopic to telescopic. There are few things in life more fulfilling than learning what the Denver Museum of Nature and Science has to offer.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,183 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    798
    306
    63
    11
    5
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Daytona Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
44 attraction reviews
Reviews in 85 cities Reviews in 85 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“A Great Museum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

This is a late review from our 2012 summer road trip across the US. We stopped at the museum recommended by a friend we visited in Avon, CO. We had the choice between the Denver Zoo or museum. A rainstorm was the deciding factor.
My grandson and I really enjoyed the museum, making it our favorite of the trip, and we stopped at quite a few. The museum was well organized with plenty of assistants explaining various displays. The dioramas of wildlife I thought were the best in any museum I have visited. They were very life like, and displayed behind glass, that was angled perfectly to avoid reflections, from the crowd or other displays. Other museums should take a lesson from this great museum.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
colorado
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“We go here every Mother's Day”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

This is one of the top museums in the country. Fifteen years ago I suggested to my kids and grandkids that they no longer buy me gifts but instead we spent time together for Mother's Day. So our tradition became a gathering for lunch, either a picnic outside on a sunny day, or a meal at the cafeteria inside, then an afternoon together exploring the wonders of this museum. Consequently, my grandchildren know this place inside out, and have all learned first to say "wodokwosite" then to spell rhodochrosite. Wear comfy shoes, take lots of breaks on the many benches throughout, but experience this amazing place!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgetown, Texas
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
33 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great Museum.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

We visited for the Pompei exhibit which was AWESOME. We also wandered around the museum to look at the other exhibits. Such a wonderful museum. Sites for children to adults. I especially enjoyed the gem and mineral exhibit. Very enjoyable afternoon at the museum.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Something for everyone”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

This museum can't be beat. It's got something for everyone. Personally I love the dinosaurs and mineral collections. But the Native American section has a stupendous collection. There is always a great IMAX movie going on and you can plan on having a good lunch at the T-Rex cafe. We haven't missed a major exhibit in years. If there's one going on when you go, plan to include it in your visit -- they've always been well done with lots of docents to explain things if you have questions. And it's right next door to the Zoo to finish off a grand day!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Denver Museum of Nature & Science also viewed

 

Been to Denver Museum of Nature & Science? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Denver Museum of Nature & Science, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.