We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyed the Childerns Area and Seseme Street IMAX” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Denver Museum of Nature & Science

Denver Museum of Nature & Science
2001 Colorado Blvd, Denver, CO 80205 (City Park)
303-370-6000
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 107 Attractions in Denver
Type: Natural History Museums, Science Museums, Observatories/ Planetariums, Theaters, Museums
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Denver Museum of Nature & Science is the Rocky Mountain region’s leading resource for informal science education. A variety of exhibitions, programs, and activities help Museum visitors experience the natural wonders of Colorado, Earth, and the universe.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Westminster, Colorado
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Enjoyed the Childerns Area and Seseme Street IMAX”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2012

With limited time we were able to run to the Childerns zone (great but unsanitary) and then head to a great IMAX movie.

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,177 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    793
    305
    63
    11
    5
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Top Contributor
477 reviews 477 reviews
153 attraction reviews
Reviews in 115 cities Reviews in 115 cities
284 helpful votes 284 helpful votes
“Something for everyone”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2012

For general adult admission it is $12. Admission for students and children under 18 is $6. We did not go to the IMAX theater. My husband was very interested in the extensive minerals and gems collections. My son was enthralled with the live snake and lizard exhibit. There are six areas: space, zoology, geology, anthropology, health science and paleontology. The dinosaur exhibit was very informative and interesting. There is a lot of hands on for the younger children. The animal dioramas were great. There is a gift shop and also a cafe. The view of downtown Denver is quite spectacular.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Typical Museum”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2012

Nothing super spectacular, if you've seen one you've seen them all type of museum.

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
52 attraction reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
119 helpful votes 119 helpful votes
“So much to see, I never get bored here!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2012

This place is always adding attractions and it is big enough and well managed enough to keep the exhibits interesting and relevant. My parents (in their 70s) enjoy going as does my child and even I like to see what's new. If you are military, show your ID card for discounted admission. This place gets BUSY, so try to arrive early to get the best experience. Oh yeah, parking goes FAST. You've been warned!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Virginia, VA
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“A great natural history museum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2012

During our recent trip to Denver, we spent the morning at this fantastic museum. Since we just had a few hours, we concentrated on the Native American, dinosaur, and mummy exhibits. We found the museum to be a really good collection of artifacts and very well displayed...we learned quite a bit too. Even though our home museum is the Smithonian, the Denver Museum of Nature & Science wowed us!

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Denver Museum of Nature & Science also viewed

 

Been to Denver Museum of Nature & Science? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Denver Museum of Nature & Science, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.