We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just okay” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Denver Zoo

Denver Zoo
2300 Steele Street, Denver City Park, Denver, CO 80205
720.337.1400
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 107 Attractions in Denver
Activities: Viewing wildlife
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Adventure Awaits! Every day, Denver Zoo seeks to inspire exploration and discovery, and creates connections with people, animals and nature. And every day, we’re working to save animals and conserve wildlife here and around the world. Your visit and support aids in all these efforts- Thank you. Denver Zoo is home to 3,800 animals representing more than 650 species and is accredited by the Association of Zoos and Aquariums (AZA). AZA accreditation assures the highest standards of animal care. A leader in environmental action, Denver Zoo is dedicated to ensuring the safety of the environment in support of all species and is the first U.S. zoo to receive ISO 14001 certification for the entire facility and operations. This international certification ensures the zoo is attaining the highest environmental standards. Since 1996, Denver Zoo has participated in 594 conservation projects in 62 countries on all seven continents. In 2012 alone, Denver Zoo participated in 98 projects in 18 countries and more than $1 million in funds was spent by the zoo in support of animal conservation in the field.
Boulder, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Just okay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

Part of the problem may have been because the zoo was under construction. Also, I used to spend a lot of time at the New Orleans zoo (before Katrina) and that was an amazing zoo. For two adults it was boring, but the big cats were fascinating. We left the zoo and spent most of the afternoon wandering in the City Park and then on over to the Vine Street Pub for really good craft beer and food. So if you combine a trip to the zoo with something else, it wouldn't be bad.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,427 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    827
    449
    111
    22
    18
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pearl City, Hawaii
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
50 attraction reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Fun Time!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

We arrived at the zoo, a few days after a heavy snowfall. This meant that majority of the animals were indoors; we wished we could view them in a natural setting but mother nature was not on our side this day. Despite the weather, we still witnessed the animals in their indoor areas. The zoo is very well kept. We walked the entire grounds in a 3.5 hour span; you really can't rush the total experience. We also had lunch in one of several eateries; staff are so friendly/making you feel welcome; food was good with diverse food options.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
colorado springs
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Day at the Zoo”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

Family of five and a friend spent the day at the Denver Zoo, Saturday. A lot has changed since I had my family here the last time. It seems the Denver Zoo has made a number of changes and it has made it a much better Zoo. KIds had a great time, cost is average for a good Zoo and worth it. Free parking is great, need top get there early or you may have to drive around awhile before you find a space. Once in the Zoo it did not seem as crowded as it was. SanDiego Zoo was so crowded kids could not see animals have of the time, this was not the case for us. Crowded around the shows but broke up after that. Good time for the family.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, CO
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“a great zoo”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

I love everything about this zoo. They are constantly upgrading which is hard to do when you have no room to expand. There is a wide variety of animal in exciting and large habitats. If animals have to be in a zoo, this is a good place.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado, United States
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“An amazing zoo -- great gorilla exhibit.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

Have been many times with grandchildren. Love the gorillas. The kids love everything. The polar bears are a big hit with the kids.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Denver Zoo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Denver Zoo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.