We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice zoo!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Denver Zoo

Denver Zoo
2300 Steele Street, Denver City Park, Denver, CO 80205
720.337.1400
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 330 things to do in Denver
Activities: Viewing wildlife
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Adventure Awaits! Every day, Denver Zoo seeks to inspire exploration and discovery, and creates connections with people, animals and nature. And every day, we’re working to save animals and conserve wildlife here and around the world. Your visit and support aids in all these efforts- Thank you. Denver Zoo is home to 3,800 animals representing more than 650 species and is accredited by the Association of Zoos and Aquariums (AZA). AZA accreditation assures the highest standards of animal care. A leader in environmental action, Denver Zoo is dedicated to ensuring the safety of the environment in support of all species and is the first U.S. zoo to receive ISO 14001 certification for the entire facility and operations. This international certification ensures the zoo is attaining the highest environmental standards. Since 1996, Denver Zoo has participated in 594 conservation projects in 62 countries on all seven continents. In 2012 alone, Denver Zoo participated in 98 projects in 18 countries and more than $1 million in funds was spent by the zoo in support of animal conservation in the field.
Maryland
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Nice zoo!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2012

Fun for a half day. Some exhibits were closed or emply. We had a great time and especially loved watching the baby elephant play with a hose of water by a trainer. Ate luch at a cafe there- a little pricey, as you may want to bring your own lunch. Very friendly staff and easliy marked directions.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,608 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    930
    507
    129
    24
    18
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Southern USA
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Enjoyable morning at the Denver Zoo”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2012

My husband and I enjoyed our morning at the Denver Zoo. The highlight was Big Horn sheep, the male standing guard with three females and each with a very young lamb. The lambs were running, jumping and generally having a great time. Our visit was on a weekday morning and there were school groups everywhere. So we had kids to watch, as they delighted in the animals also. Due to the size and layout of the zoo, there was plenty of room for everyone. We saw the new elephant area which is due to open in June and were somewhat disapointed that we could not see the elephants. Parking was confusing at best, we drove thru a parking garage, found no space and decided to leave. On the way out we saw another lot where the buses were parking and just by chance a truck was leaving. Glad we got a space and stayed.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edgewater, Colorado
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Awesome Zoo!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2012 via mobile

The Denver Zoo is one of the best in the world. I have been to zoos all over the world and Denver Zoo tops them all. To the crazy people who write on Trip Advisor they will never come back because all the animals were sleeping. To you yes you "explicit" the animals need a break for again "explicit" like you who come in loud and try to get the animals attention by throwing stuff at them or having your children yelling at them. We are guest in their new surroundings out side of their natural habitats. As most Americans you have zero respect for any one or anything but your selfish self. So stay away from the Denver people who enjoy going will have a much better time with out you there. The animals are much better with out you visiting nor does the zoo need your support. Thank you as a annuall pass holder we love the zoo and the staff and the inexpensive food. We will be annual holders for life as long as we reside within 100 miles of the zoo. We thank you!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado, United States
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
54 attraction reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“This zoo is big and fun”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2012

I never make it through Denver Zoo in one visit. It's huge and continues to update. Got little kids and it's hot. They can stop and play in the "creek" hidden over by the polar bears and sea lions. Tropical Discovery and the Bird House will get you out of the sun or the cold and are both fascinating. I have read that the food is being upgraded.
I don't know this from personal experience. Otherwise, it's just edible burgers and cotton candy. I pack a lunch. Haul your kids and junk around in a wagon you can rent. Ride the carousel and train. It's a must for families with kids and animal lovers.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2012

Had to park far away, there were no signs telling visitors where to park. Too crowded. THey had huge new section blocked off. It was done but it just "wasn't time for them to open it" so we didn't see any elephants. bathrooms hard to find! some animals not in their exhibits with no signs telling us why.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Denver Zoo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Denver Zoo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.