We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's a zoo...that's about it” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Denver Zoo

Denver Zoo
2300 Steele Street, Denver City Park, Denver, CO 80205
720.337.1400
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 107 Attractions in Denver
Activities: Viewing wildlife
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Adventure Awaits! Every day, Denver Zoo seeks to inspire exploration and discovery, and creates connections with people, animals and nature. And every day, we’re working to save animals and conserve wildlife here and around the world. Your visit and support aids in all these efforts- Thank you. Denver Zoo is home to 3,800 animals representing more than 650 species and is accredited by the Association of Zoos and Aquariums (AZA). AZA accreditation assures the highest standards of animal care. A leader in environmental action, Denver Zoo is dedicated to ensuring the safety of the environment in support of all species and is the first U.S. zoo to receive ISO 14001 certification for the entire facility and operations. This international certification ensures the zoo is attaining the highest environmental standards. Since 1996, Denver Zoo has participated in 594 conservation projects in 62 countries on all seven continents. In 2012 alone, Denver Zoo participated in 98 projects in 18 countries and more than $1 million in funds was spent by the zoo in support of animal conservation in the field.
Denver, Colorado
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“It's a zoo...that's about it”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2012

I with I could say something more positive but as zoos go, it's about average. If you have little kids and some time to kill it's a decent place to visit. It's about an average zoo.

Visited June 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,435 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    833
    451
    111
    22
    18
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Silverthorne, Colorado
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“WORST!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2012

This has been one of the worst zoos I have been too. I have been to quite a few. I have been here several times and the animals are never visible and if they are they are always sleeping.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Family fun, good value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2012

My wife and I went on a Saturday morning, and fortunately we were there by opening, as with the good weather, the parking lot was filling up fast. There were lots of animals out in their pens and informative exhibits everywhere. We avoided eating lunch or getting drinks at the zoo, as it seemed a bit pricey, but there are cold water fountains everywhere and no one bothers you if you bring your own water or snacks. All in all a pleasant experience that we both enjoyed.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
loveland,colorado
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“A trip to the zoo with the family 4-1-12”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2012

What a beautiful day to go to the zoo. April in Colorado usually isn't this nice but we enjoyed it. Going this early we didn't see the flowers and greenery like normal but it wasn't too hot or miserable. We went first thing in the morning so we beat some of the rush but they came very shortly after. We always enjoy the monkeys because they always make us laugh. The bears were playing in the water so that was fun to watch. We love going in with the lorikeets and like feeding them. The aquarium is out favorite part and we always spend alot of time in it. We used a denver groupon so it helped save us some money and alot of the family was able to go. It was a great visit and a wonderful day.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Renovation in progress”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2012

It was a beautiful day for a zoo visit. Seems that a lot of renovation is taking place with areas closed and it looks like work being done on some. The new elephant enclosure looks exciting, This is what you can see till the official opening. Seemed many areas the animals were not present. Penguin area closed, Plus the train was not working. Important with a 4 year old. Food was good and reasonably price at the grill. Would go again to see what is happening. Easy getting around.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Denver Zoo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Denver Zoo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.