We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“4th Grade Field Trip” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Colorado State Capitol

Colorado State Capitol
200 East Colfax Avenue, Denver, CO 80203 (Capitol Hill)
303 866 2604
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Top Rated
$35*
and up
Denver City Sightseeing Tour
Ranked #20 of 107 Attractions in Denver
Type: Government Buildings, Cultural
Activities: Group tours/walking tour
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A key feature in the Denver skyline because of its gold bell-shaped dome, the Capitol Building, fittingly in the Mile High City, has a point located at exactly 5,280 feet above sea level. Free tours are available for visitors.
Niwot, Colorado
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“4th Grade Field Trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

Lucky to score a chaperone position on this trip! It's a gorgeous place; rich in history, architecture and process. If you get a chance to go, don't miss it. I would love to return without 75 whacky 4th Graders and spend a little more time exploring.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

322 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    136
    136
    41
    6
    3
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
54 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Beautiful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

We took the opportunity to duck inside the Colorado State Capitol during the In and Out Tour. It was a beautiful building and a quick self-guided tour was not quite enough, be sure to check out the guided tours!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carshalton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
158 reviews 158 reviews
71 attraction reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
“Shame the dome was shut”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

I found this quite interesting, I didn't realise we would be able to get access to so much of it given it's a government building. It's a shame the dome was closed to visitors due to renovation when we were there. I like the fact that the step that is a mile above sea level is clearly marked but I read on the internet afterwards that it's now thought to be a couple of steps above that and there is another marker, which we missed - not sure about that so if you're intending to visit it might be worth looking it up!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Under construction but worth a visit!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Nice state Capitol. Very ornate on the inside and beautiful artwork. Great portraits of all the presidents. Only draw back was no A/C in the summer. Doesn't take much time and it's free!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomfield HIlls, Mich USA
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
27 attraction reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“We always visit every state capitol”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

All of them are worth seeing. Each one is different, some plain, some glitzy, perhaps reflecting the character of the people? This one was in between, the gold dome is gorgeous, and is being restored. The interior featured beautiful details in the rotunda ceiling, brass railings, elevator doors, rose onyx walls. Enjoyed the student led tour. This capitol was short on anything like state facts (state flower, motto etc) which some capitols have built into their decor.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Colorado State Capitol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Colorado State Capitol, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.