We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bed Bugs!!! Don't stay here!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Embassy Suites Denver- Stapleton

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added Embassy Suites Denver- Stapleton to your Saves list
Embassy Suites Denver- Stapleton
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   4444 North Havana, Denver, CO 80239   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Freedom Package
Ranked #25 of 148 Hotels in Denver
Cranston, Rhode Island
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Bed Bugs!!! Don't stay here!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2006

The area where this hotel is located (in a business park) is scary if you arrive or depart after dark. When you walk into the hotel you think it is wonderful. Well, when you walk in, it IS beautiful. However, when you get to your room things take a turn for the worse. The "suite" is a stock hotel room. Nothing fancy..very dry and business looking.

I stayed at this hotel on the second floor, right off the elevator on Oct 8th, 2006. It was horrible! When we walked into the room it had a pungent sweet odor--- little did I know that the smell was being emitted by bed bugs who would soon bite me as I hopped into bed after a long drive in the pouring rain from Northern Colorado! The bathroom looked like it has not been cleaned. There were marks on the floor that looked like something of wet dirty feet. The toilet is white so you definitely saw the huge green snot that was dried onto the toilet seat. There were no sheets, blankets or pillowcases for the sofa bed, and in the bedroom there was a half full water bottle on the night table behind the lamp. As I climbed into bed and started to drift off to sleep, I began to itch. Little did I know my bed and the bed next to mine was infested with bed bugs! I had welts all over my body including my face and head. At 3am after sitting in the chair at the desk and contimplating about going to the front desk, I began moving both matresses on the beds and in between the mattress and boxspring I found dead bed bug carcasses and egg sacks. DISGUSTING! The people I was with went to management and told them about this issue. All they asked was if we wanted to move to a different room. HELL NO! WE WANTED OUT! So, we demanded that they not charge us for the room and thankfully they didn't. We left and on the way out the lady at the desk called out "Sorry for the inconvienience!" Real nice!!!!!! HORRIBLE! DON'T STAY HERE! If you want a nice hotel stay at the Staybridge Suites in Lone Tree or Cherry Creek! They are wonderful!

  • Liked — Nice Pool and spa
  • Disliked — Bed bugs!
  • Tips/Secrets — Dont stay here!
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

403 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    220
    113
    38
    19
    13
See reviews for
133
61
20
133
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2006

We recently moved across th country and had a 3 day drive with all of our belongings, our 2 year old and 2 dogs. It is usually very difficult to find a nice place that accepts dogs, so we expected a dump.

When we arrived at the hotel, I couldn't believe they were going to allow our Great Dane in because it was such a nice place. The lobby and courtyard areas are beautiful. Our room was very, very nice. It was clean, spacious and comfortable.

The location was great for us because we had a 26 foot U-Haul towing a car. We didn't want to be driving through town, so it was nice that it was right off the freeway. We felt safe parking the truck and didn't worry about anything being stolen.

The staff was efficient and friendly. The breakfast in the morning was amazing. My husband spent some time in the hot tub and said it was very nice.

We have absolutely no complaints about this hotel. I hope they'll continue to allow dogs and that dog owners will act responsibly.

  • Stayed April 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VA
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2006

Positives:
- Easy access from I-70
- Check-in was a breeze

Negatives:
- Old, thread-bare, musty and dirty.
- Manager's reception included Crackers...Period.
- Didn't provide me the room I requested.
- In an odd place of the highway - Industrial area.

  • Stayed April 2006, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawrence, KS
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2005

My family and I had a very positive experience at this hotel. The staff was friendly and helpful, the rooms were clean and well-appointed, and the breakfast buffet was wonderful. Would recommend this hotel to anyone interested in staying in the Aurora area.

  • Stayed July 2005
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilbert, Arizona
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
168 helpful votes 168 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2004

This is the second time I have stayed at this particular Embassy, and once again I was not disappointed. It IS in an industrial area, so if you are looking for a picturesque, resort atmosphere, you probaby will be disappointed with the surroundings. If you ARE looking for a clean, comfortable room, with super-easy highway access to get around the metro area, you should be happy with this clean property, staffed with friendly helpful employees. Typical managers reception (with killer Margarita's!), and a nice cooked to order breakfast. If you score a western facing room, you'll be treated to a great view of the front range (on a clear day). Indoor pool is a great touch.

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2004

we stayed in this same area and we agree the location is not the greatest , we stayed here because we had an early flight and it was close to the airport. be carefull of the construction in the area, we drove for an hour to get to the hotel.
i agree the hotels in this area are ok, but the location is not.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
77 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
465 helpful votes 465 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2004

I feel bad for this hotel and its management. They've taken care of all of the basics that guests typically gripe about: comfortable rooms, nice hotel and easy parking.

But the location is just horrible. It's just off I-70 in an industrial area. Why they ever built a hotel here is beyond me. There is nowhere to go, nothing to do and you're trapped at the hotel unless you're driving 10 or 15 minutes somewhere else.

We booked this hotel blind on a stay to the Denver area. We wanted a non-downtown location. But the Aurora neighbhorhood is certainly not the place you want to be spending 3 nights.

I have no other complaints about the hotel. Checkin staff were wonderful and hotel workers were really above average. The location is just depressing and one to avoid if you're a tourist on vacation. It's always tough trying to locate a hotel when you're far away trying to get the lay of the land. But this was definitely the wrong hotel for our family vacation!

Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Embassy Suites Denver- Stapleton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites Denver- Stapleton

Address: 4444 North Havana, Denver, CO 80239
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Denver
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Best Value Hotel in Denver
#18 Romantic Hotel in Denver
#22 Family Hotel in Denver
#29 Business Hotel in Denver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites Denver- Stapleton 3.5*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Embassy Suites Denver Stapleton is the perfect combination of location, amenities, service and value. Our 210 Suite Hotel is conveniently located 15 minutes from the Denver International Airport and provides complimentary shuttle service to and from. The property is 10 minutes from Downtown Denver and the Convention Center. Surrounding a lush seven story Garden Atrium with fountains, each of our two room suites include complimentary cooked to order breakfast and a nightly Manager's reception with complimentary cocktails and hors d'oeuvres. All suites feature: Complimentary hi-speed internet access, Refrigerator, Microwave, Coffee maker, Wet bar, High definition flat screen TVs. The latest Hilton amenities. The Hotel is located 5 minutes from the Northfields Premier Shopping Center and Mall and the Stapleton Shopping District both of which offer diverse shopping, entertainment and dining options. Within two miles is Dick's Sporting Goods Park, home of the Colorado Rapids and the largest sporting park in the United States. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hilton Hotels, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Embassy Suites Denver- Stapleton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Hotel Denver
Embassy Suites Denver
Denver Embassy Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Embassy Suites Denver- Stapleton, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.