We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Huge place with nice sushi” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sushi Hai

Sushi Hai
3600 W 32nd Avenue #D, Denver, CO 80211 (Highland)
(720) 855-0888
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Sushi Hai is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #566 of 2,346 Restaurants in Denver
Price range: $15 - $40
Cuisines: American, Bar, Sushi, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Highland
Cross street: Lowell Blvd and 32nd Ave.
Denver, CO
Top Contributor
441 reviews 441 reviews
331 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 110 cities Reviews in 110 cities
112 helpful votes 112 helpful votes
“Huge place with nice sushi”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013 via mobile

We were a group of seven friends that decided to seat at the room downstairs. The place is much larger than what one would expect. Service was a little slow for reasons that were difficult to understand. But the good was very good. All the rolls we ordered were delicious. Due to the noise, I would recommend avoiding the bar.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    14
    7
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Sushi!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We tried Sushi Hai in the Highlands with a living social coupon, and we would definitely go back and pay full price! The food was great and fresh, the service was attentive without being over bearing.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Good service but kitchen and managers need help”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

We went here with a large group for a birthday dinner and had some positives but also some negatives. The ambiance is comfortable and the atmosphere is relaxed. I do understand that everything here is cooked to order and that ticket times are lengthy, but some of the things we experienced were inexcusable. One individual with us ordered a maki roll and expressed his concern for timeliness as he had a prior engagement. This roll was not expedited so he had to ask for it to-go which then took another 20 minutes after the request; he didn't receive it until he was walking out the door. The first round of appetizers went smoothly and timely but when the second wave was ordered, we waited over an hour to receive any items. After receiving most of our food, the duck was severely overcooked to the point of being dry and the sushi was not worth the wait. At this point, we had talked with the server about the timeliness of our food on several occasions but it was still getting worse... One person at our table ordered a medium-rare steak at the same time as our second wave of appetizers. Even after the hour wait, the steak was still not served. It turns out the steak was never fired and it took nearly two hours from order to being served the steak after all was said and done. Needless to say, our server was working her butt off and was very accommodating and apologetic for the restaurant's mistakes. Once the manager finally got involved (after the kitchen closed), they gave us a lame excuse and offered some discount coupons for a return visit. Too little, too late! The damage was done long before and should have been addressed when something could be done to fix it.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“Delicious and fabulous sushi”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013 via mobile

We went with my two year old. Edamame and dumpling delicious appetizer. All the rolls were super delicious. My son loved his chicken and rice. The waitress have him special chopsticks he could use and loved them. It was awesome and will be back

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arvada, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Awesome night!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

Awesome food and Awesome wait staff! I was blown away by the oysters! Every bite we took was so awesome, will go back.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sushi Hai also viewed

 

Been to Sushi Hai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sushi Hai, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.