We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible experience” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Teatro

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Teatro to your Saves list
Hotel Teatro
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1100 14th St., Denver, CO 80202   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #34 of 149 Hotels in Denver
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Houston, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Terrible experience”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

I stayed at the Teatro, there is nothing great about it. I was charged twice for a room I stayed in one night. I contacted the GM and apparently The Teatro isn't into doing the right thing. So I paid twice for one night in a very average room.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TeatroRoomsDirector, General Manager at Hotel Teatro, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Dear mama033,
Thank you for posting your recent experience at Hotel Teatro on TripAdvisor. We sincerely appreciate receiving guest feedback, both positive and negative as it allows us to improve upon our service. That said, I was particularly taken aback by your post, as I have attempted to contact you on several occasions via email, but have yet to receive a response.

As was explained previously, you secured two separate reservations for the same evening, both of which were secured through a third party, online travel agency, and prepaid to that entity at the time of booking. As a result, we advised you to contact their customer service to facilitate a refund, which I encourage you to continue to do. The website through which you secured your reservation is the only party that received payment from you, and therefore the only party that can initiate a refund. We, the management of Hotel Teatro will gladly assist you in any way possible.

We pride ourselves on the world class service that we provide each of our guests, and remain at your disposal to satisfactorily rectify your issue. I apologize if any part of this has been miscommunicated by our staff and again appreciate your post.

At your service,
Mark Plonkey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

832 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    538
    173
    55
    40
    26
See reviews for
45
363
76
258
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

My husband and I would've had THE worse wedding weekend if it hadn't been for Hotel Teatro. We originally planned to stay in Vail for our wedding day weekend but due to weather conditions we weren't able to. We called every hotel in Downtown Denver trying to find something affordable, but since it was so late notice there was nothing that fit our budget or taste. I called Teatro, and after explaining to the hotel staff that we just got married, he set us up in an AMAZING room for a price we could not refuse. He gave us a great deal. The room was more then anything we could've asked for and the staff was incredibly sweet and personable. They all knew our names by the next day! My husband and I have decided that we will be coming back to Hotel Teatro every year for our anniversary. They are so much better then those big hotel chains, and the luxury they offer can't be beat!

Room Tip: Deluxe king corner room was fantastic!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio TX
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

We stayed here a little more than a year ago but always wanted to make the review just didn't find time for it but here it is.

All around a good hotel, we enjoyed the old school architecture with the modern amenities. The staff was really well prepared and helpful. Rooms are nice, odd looking for a hotel as they look more home like.

Good location and good lobby ambience.

Will definitely stay here again, hope they keep up the good work.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broomfield, Colorado
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

After having stayed at the Hotel Teatro a couple of times, we were looking forward to staying again over the Colorado Rockies Home Opening weekend. While the hotel is still quite nice, there were a couple of mis-steps that indicate the former 1st class quality is not there. This is a minor quibble, but there was a significant tear in the bedspread when we went to bed. Not a big thing, but shouldn't happen in a fine hotel. I tried checking out through the guest services program on the television, but it said checkout was not accesible. I went to the desk to checkout and waited 15 minutes while the sole front desk clerk was helping one other guest. To make it worse, he also had to take room service orders while at the desk. I finally gave up (as did the guest behind me), and left the hotel. A nice visit, but not up to high standards.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms facing the street. Police and fire sirens may keep you awake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Superior, Colorado, United States
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

A very cute little hotel located in downtown Denver. Just blocks away from all the greatest restaurants and night-life. Hotel lobby is quiet and little; a nice change from the big-chain hotels with huge foyers and too much going on. Room was very nice. It had a great view of the city, the bed was VERY comfortable and the bathroom was definitely above average. We truly enjoyed our short stay and hope to return soon.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring, Maryland
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013 via mobile

Nice rooms with quality furnishings. Fine touches like sculpture in the anteroom, granite and marble finishings, all the higher end treatments in the bathroom and bedding you would expect.

However, there was some wear and gaps in details. For example, the shaving / cosmetics mirror was not functional. HVAC was tempermental and I was not able to keep the room at a comfortably cool temperature over the stay, despite appeals to service (which I am not sure ever came).

These small inconveniences however were overshadowed by the general friendliness of staff and obvious sincere desire to please.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

Really well located near theaters and great restaurants. We booked a room with two queen beds, lovely sitting area, spacious bathroom, and majestic mountain views. The draperies and linens were of good quality, but a little tired. Room Service breakfast was fantastic. Restaurant Kevin Taylor was a tad overrated. Vendome and Rioja right down the street are fabulous. Service was adequate. Valet parking fees were high. The car service is an awesome feature. Bell staff outshines the front desk staff.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Teatro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Teatro

Address: 1100 14th St., Denver, CO 80202
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Denver
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Denver
#26 Business Hotel in Denver
#27 Romantic Hotel in Denver
#43 Family Hotel in Denver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Teatro 4.5*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Upscale, highly regarded business and leisure hotel in downtown Denver, centrally located within two blocks of the Colorado Convention Center, financial district, Denver Center for the Performing Arts, Larimer Square shopping and dining district, as well as the LoDo entertainment district. We pride ourselves on offering the personalized service that keeps our guests coming back. Ideal for business travel, a weekend downtown, romantic getaway, or celebrating any special event, Hotel Teatro is happy to be your "home away from home!" ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TravelClick and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Teatro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Teatro Hotel Denver

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Teatro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.