We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mediocre hotel and rooms at a high price” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Teatro

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Teatro to your Saves list
Hotel Teatro
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1100 14th St., Denver, CO 80202   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #34 of 149 Hotels in Denver
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Denver, Colorado
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
66 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“Mediocre hotel and rooms at a high price”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2012

I have stayed in several hotels in the downtown area, and can say that the Teatro is mediocre in comparison to other hotels in this price range and even ones that are in a lower price range. We decided to try it out on a Friday night, using a Sniqueaway voucher which actually was not really a great deal anyway ($120 a night when I have seen these rooms for about $150). We were given a Queen room with a bed that must be a new take on what a Queen bed is, because it was much smaller than what I would consider that. We were on the 3rd floor in a room facing a red wall and the the roof that holds the huge air conditioning unit. If this is what you get for a small price reduction from buying a Sniqueaway prepaid deal (which I bought a few months in advance), then I would rather pay full price and have a better room. the TV also did not work and the reception kept coming in and out so we shut it off.
We tried out the hotel bar, Prima, when we got back from being out in Denver. For a place that is trying to be old fashioned and classy, it was lacking in the service department. The bartender did not say a word to us other than to say that they do not have a drinks menu, but only a wine list, and later on when we asked for a Scotch menu, he once again did not have that and started reading the prices of them off his register. A few minutes later he was telling the waiters the prices of the wine per glass because other people were asking at the tables about the prices (not sure why they were not given the before mentioned wine list). Either way, we had our drinks and quickly left. At a place that is positioning itself as high end, I'd expect a drink menu or at least some personality from the bartender. Maybe we didn't look dressed up enough to get this treatment, who knows
Overall, the hotel is centrally located with average sized and furnished rooms, with a hotel bar I would recemmend giving a miss. Definitely ask for a higher up floor that is not facing the back where you have a good chance of looking at a wall.

Room Tip: A higher floor and get a King room if you can- very small Queen rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

832 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    538
    173
    55
    40
    26
See reviews for
45
363
76
258
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Clearwater, Florida
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2012

We were there for business---two of us----two rooms----I would encourage anyone wanting to stay in downtown Denver to stay here!!!!great for business and, I would think, great for romance-----not a glitzy hotel with a huge lobby, etc. but a wonderful boutique type hotel---the rooms were wonderful---great beds, fridge, granite, etc.-----I heard the restaurant is sensational in the hotel---I did not eat there---but I did eat twice in the bar and the food was great and reasonably priced---we entertained clients in the bar area and it was perfect---we also rented a small meeting room downstairs and it worked out perfectly---the staff was perfect---from the bellmen to the desk staff to Jeremy, our meeting room manager---waiters,etc.----

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2012

We stayed recently at Hotel Teatro and took our dog with us. He is by no means an easy dog, and I was worried that he would cause a problem on the trip. On the contrary, things couldn't have gone smoother! The hotel staff was incredibly helpful and accommodating, and helped us solve all of the situations that could have potentially become annoyances by having a dog with us. The room was lovely and clean and the hotel is located in a perfect spot for exploring Denver's great downtown area. I would highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johnstown, Colorado
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2012

second stay and have always had great service, staff very helpful.
bathroom sink was plugged and rapid fix within an hour after reporting.
great bedtime turndown service
convenient to all activities in downtown denver

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2012

We needed a one night stay in Denver on our return journey and we had been completely underwhelmed by the airport hotels on the way out. We drove around Denver looking for a decent hotel and had a short-list from the internet. The Four Seasons was rammed (the Steelers were in town) and they were staying at the Sheraton so we avoided that too. We found the Teatro directly opposite the Four Seasons.
The first thing that struck us about the Teatro were the three guys at the valet desk on the street at 7pm - there was a small blizzard picking up and they were all out there mustered by their Bell Captain - smiling, helpful and welcoming. At reception, the delightful young ladies gave us a great rate and we were escorted to a terrific room - huge tub, massive shower and twin basins, free wifi, much needed drinks served to us in the room, the mattress toppers were exceptional and sooooo comfortable - then we discovered that we had stumbled upon an exceptional restaurant as well -Kevin Taylor was not a name I knew but the food was excellent - we were tired after travelling and opted for the Cafe rather than main restaurant but the food and service were excellent.
Next day we had a little time to shop but needed a cowboy hat - nothing was too much for these guys - our Bell Captain drove us to Rockmount - just perfect wall to wall ranch wear, waited for us and brought us back making the whole morning relaxed and enjoyable rather than a last minute rush. Oh and what a wine selection - some seriously good wines tucked away in the basement.
Unexpectedly terrific? We had no expectations but this hotel excelled on so many levels. People make such a difference to a hotel. These guys all cared about their jobs and us!!
I would recommend this to everyone.

Room Tip: Its actually an old postal office of some sort - so look for the vaults and walk in safe!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Maarten-St Martin
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2012

I booked a night here on hotwire, so I was surprised that I got a great deal on a room, at a great hotel across from the Four Seasons.

Genuinely friendly door staff, outgoing helpful desk staff, world class dining, etc.

Really comfortable room, great bed linens, modern, nicely furnished bathroom with tub + shower, and nice amenities.

Because of a snow storm, I had to stay an extra night, and they were able to get me the low rate I had received on hotwire.

Close to entertainment, dining and some really cool bars, the location is just right.

I did not use parking, it was $24 extra.

I look forward to my next visit to the Teatro.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheyenne, Wyoming
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2012

My wife and I have stayed here twice so far and every time it is fantastic. Both times we have also done a meal at Kevin Taylor and the wine pairings are amazing. Then all you have to do is stagger to the elevator and your back in your room. They will also shuttle you to and from Coors field in a hybrid Yukon Denali for free. Can't beat it! My wife loves the bathrooms and tubs.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Teatro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Teatro

Address: 1100 14th St., Denver, CO 80202
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Denver
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Denver
#26 Business Hotel in Denver
#27 Romantic Hotel in Denver
#43 Family Hotel in Denver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Teatro 4.5*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Upscale, highly regarded business and leisure hotel in downtown Denver, centrally located within two blocks of the Colorado Convention Center, financial district, Denver Center for the Performing Arts, Larimer Square shopping and dining district, as well as the LoDo entertainment district. We pride ourselves on offering the personalized service that keeps our guests coming back. Ideal for business travel, a weekend downtown, romantic getaway, or celebrating any special event, Hotel Teatro is happy to be your "home away from home!" ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TravelClick and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Teatro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Teatro Hotel Denver

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Teatro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.