We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Boutique Hotel with Luxury Hotel Service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Monaco Denver - a Kimpton Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Monaco Denver - a Kimpton Hotel to your Saves list
Hotel Monaco Denver - a Kimpton Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1717 Champa St. at 17th, Denver, CO 80202 (Central Business District)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 148 Hotels in Denver
GreenLeadersSilver level
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
226 helpful votes 226 helpful votes
“Boutique Hotel with Luxury Hotel Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2008

I thoroughly enjoyed my recent stay at this hotel while on a business trip. The hotel has an excellent location for reaching the 16th St Mall if that's your thing, and the LoDo district.

The staff were hospitable and welcoming. I'm glad I let them talk me into staying for the afternoon wine hour and visiting with other guests. They indulged my request for extra toiletries - with such great L'Occitaine products who can resist? And late night room service was an unexpected convenience when I arrived absurdly late due to a flight delay.

The room, as you can see in the pictures, was whimsical and unique. The pillows were fantastic, but I do wish the mattresses had been the newer pillow tops that most nice hotels have. The mini bar was well-stocked and the prices weren't shockingly high. The hotel offers a bath butler with fairly expensive bath packages, which seemed weird to me since the tubs weren't even garden or jacuzzi tubs, just plain old hotel tubs.

The free wireless internet was fantastic - most nicer hotels make guests pay for this service.

Overall, this was a great place for a business trip and if I'm back in Denver I will definitely return here.

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

887 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    556
    220
    69
    23
    19
See reviews for
123
314
73
250
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (169)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Chandler, Arizona
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2008

Based on reviews I had read on TripAdvisor I booked a room with a spa tub at the Hotel Monaco to begin our Colorado trip. I wanted to be close to the 16th pedestrian mall and nice accommodations. Hotel Monaco met both of these nicely.

We love to stay at places with some history and charm but don't especially like to then have to deal with the byproducts that sometimes come along with this such as cramped spaces, smells and broken or worn furniture. So we were extremely pleased with how clean, modern and up to date everything was while keeping the charm of the property intact.

We arrived to find out that we were upgraded to a very beautiful suite that still had a spa tub. When we walked in we really liked the bright colors that blended perfectly with the style that one still felt in the room. What also surprised me was how clean the room and the rest of the hotel smelled while still being very pet friendly. We only wished that we could have brought our pup with us.

We only had one problem and that was a water leak that soaked the carpet outside our bathroom yet there was no water inside the bathroom itself. A maintenance engineer showed up within 3 minutes of calling down and determined that there was a problem that needed fixing. The hotel manager stopped by our room to apologize and gave us a nice bottle of wine for our troubles. The front desk worked very hard to make sure we could move to another room. Since there was no other similar rooms available they moved us up several upgrades so that we could still have our spa. What a room! We only wish we could have stayed longer. We enjoyed the staff and the property and will stay here in all of our future trips to Denver.

  • Liked — Decor and service
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2008

This is a fun hotel. When you arrive smiles abound and there is a chalk board on the shape of a dog where the current four legged guests are listed. If you don't like dogs, don't stay here!

The rooms are comfortable. I had a standard queen with an interior view. It was great. Huge bathroom, very comfortable bed, and the the leopard robes are a fun touch.

The "bath" menu was cleaver. What I liked about this hotel, is that it is 4 star service with NO attitude. The exceed on the basics and then do it with fun and style. It is a bit quirky, but that is the charm.

I would most definetly return to this propety on future visit to Denver.

  • Stayed May 2008, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati Area
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2008

A pet goldifsh in your room?
A shih tzu in the lobby to greet you?
Free overnight shoe shine?
Choice of four bubble baths (for a paltry $40)?
Both nightwear (yes, several sizes) and robes available for you to purchase right from the closet?
Vegetable soap bars?

Did I just overshoot Denver and end up in San Francisco?

It's a really ritzy little boutique hotel called the Hotel Monaco in Downtown Denver. One block from the 16th Street Mall, the Monaco surprised me with both opulence and gimmickry. The rooms are nice... tall ceilings and appointed well, despite their compact size. The hotel is an older one, meaning that most of the rooms have a great view of a wall or a parking garage. Just leave the blinds drawn and enjoy the comfort. There is a great bed... lots of pillows for your selection... some really expensive stuff in the frig and on the snack tray. (Walgreens is two blocks away and has all that stuff at a fraction of the cost.) And the people are kind and accommodating.

What really blew me away was when I dined in their Italian restaurant downstairs. The place is called Panzano and features the creations of Chef Elise Wiggins. I had the most wonderful veal of my life. I proposed to the chef, but I didn't have a ring on me at the time, and she wanted one really badly. Thanks for great food in a very attentive atmosphere, Elise.

Pricey? What isn't in the downtown of a major city? But yes, it was a little more than I would have liked to have afforded, but there were few choices because of some convention in town that week.

I did not find a problem with noise in the hotel, though they do have a funny way of putting ice machines on only the odd-numbered floors.

  • Liked — No one thing stood out more than the restaurant.
  • Disliked — View of a parking garage
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darien, CT
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2008

One of my better corporate stays in a while. Service was friendly and competent at every stage, from valet to desk to room service. Hotel was clean and convenient. Wine hour in the evening is a nice gesture, even if I didn't take advantage myself. Lots of others did. Am usually very loyal to hotel reward points, but would go out-of-network to stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelMonacoDenver, General Manager at Hotel Monaco Denver - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, June 13, 2008
Dear mrshortpants,
Just wanted to drop you note and let you know we appreciate your kind comments about the Hotel Monaco Denver! I am glad you enjoyed your visit with us and look forward to you staying with us again!!

Sincerely,
Hotel Monaco Denver
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, Oklahoma
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2008

I live in Denver and stay at the Monaco on occasion for fun and when I don't feel like driving or when I just simply feel like splurging. It's walking distance to a lot of the trendier, yet more refined late-night hangouts downtown. So if you aren't into the 'meat market' scene and you feel like taking in a night on the town without the hassle of making the trek home afterwards, it's great.

Also great for out-of-towners who want to enjoy good food and drink but want to avoid a mass of twenty-two-year-olds sweating all over them in an over crowded club pumping out of date techno tracks into tired ear drums after a long day's work. Both business travelers and trendy tourists alike will enjoy. After all, each room comes equipped with your very own LIVE gold fish for crying out loud!

This is Denver. It's known for relaxing, casual, edginess. And Hotel Monaco sums that up well with its trendy decor, friendly and knowledgeable staff, more than ample accommodations, and great location.

I'll never hesitate to revisit and it never disappoints.

  • Liked — Ambiance, staff
  • Disliked — price was a tad too high
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC Area
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
75 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
195 helpful votes 195 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2008

Stayed at the Hotel Monaco for 2 nights while I attended a conference at the Convention Center. I arrived early--a bit before noon. Luckily I was able to check in, but the only room available was an accessible room. This was fine, but it did make showering a bit tricky given the low-standing nozzle.

Every comment on the rooms being nicely furnished, I found to be true. The downtown location is also nice. But unfortunately I ran into some problems. My first night I could not get a good night's rest because people on my floor started congregating in the hallway and blaring loud music. The walls in the Monaco are really thin. So if you are expected a "quiet floor"...just hope your neighbors are also quiet people. And unfortunately I think this was a case of clientele not only expecting to be treated like "rock stars" or VIP (which the hotel staff does a good job of helping you live that image) but acting like them as well. I also had a hard time reaching room service, so I endedup leaving the hotel for a quick bite downtown. But I reported this issue in a Monaco stay survey and the hotel manager emailed me back a week later with an acceptable conciliatory offer. It's good to see that they are serious about customer service.

Overall, I think this hotel is a nice boutique hotel. It has nice touches luxuries some hotels lack. The hotel restaurant, Panzano, was superb. However, if you a business traveler (as I was) and have an expectation of a certain hotel vibe while you travel (beyond free wi-fi service), the Monaco might not meet your needs.

  • Liked — Friendly staff, Panzano restaurant
  • Disliked — Thin hotel walls
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Monaco Denver - a Kimpton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Monaco Denver - a Kimpton Hotel

Address: 1717 Champa St. at 17th, Denver, CO 80202
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Denver > Central Business District , Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Denver
#5 Green Hotel in Denver
#5 Luxury Hotel in Denver
#5 Spa Hotel in Denver
#12 Business Hotel in Denver
#18 Family Hotel in Denver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Monaco Denver - a Kimpton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 189
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly renovated Hotel Monaco in downtown Denver provides an eclectic luxury hotel experience inviting guests to experience an "Urban Adventure.” It captures the city’s history and adventure with the restoration of two Colorado landmark buildings. This boutique hotel, with adjacent award winning Northern Italian Panzano Restaurant and refreshing Veda Spa and Salon, is within easy walking distance of shopping, nightlife, 16th Street Mall, LoDo, Larimer Square, multiple sporting venues and the Colorado Convention Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Amex, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Monaco Denver - a Kimpton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Monaco Denver Kimpton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Monaco Denver - a Kimpton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.