We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good times downtown.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Denver Downtown

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard by Marriott Denver Downtown to your Saves list
Courtyard by Marriott Denver Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   934 16th St., Denver, CO 80202 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #33 of 149 Hotels in Denver
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersSilver level
Colorado
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Good times downtown.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2009

Arriving at the hotel, we were greeted by the valet. Check in was a breeze, even though our party forgot to reserve the correct number of rooms. The room was average to what one would expect at a comparable hotel. The bed was very comfortable, room was very clean, and the staff where all very friendly and helpful. When I first arrived I was expecting to stay longer, but found out we needed to leave 4 days earlier than expected, and yet again, the staff was very helpful and early check out was no problem. Room service was available through the restraunt downstairs, and only required a small gratuity added to the regular menu price.
Full internet is available both wifi and plug in cable in the room. Additionally, desktop computers are available for use in the lobby, as well as full print capability. The only issue I had, was every night between 7:45 and 8 pm I would have to reconnect to the internet.
For those with entertainment systems, the tv's have had the auxilary inputs deactivate. So, you will not be able to use the tv as a screen for your laptop, nor play video games if you brought a system.
The gym is nice, has a variety of machines and should be adequate for the average person. Also, next to the gym is a laundry room for those who have an extended stay or need an outfit cleaned in a pinch.
The location of the hotel is great if you enjoy commuting on foot. There are numerous restaraunts along 16th ST including the Denver Pavilions shopping mall. The night time views from downtown are nice and there is ample night life for those interested.
The only issues I had during my stay was the lack of parking options as everywhere downtown is paid parking, including the hotel. And the building next door was undergoing some renovation and noise started very early some days. Both issues were very little concern for myself.
The morning breakfast service was minimal but nice, coffee and bagels were the only items I saw.
Overall, I really enjoyed my stay and look forward to using this hotel again in the future.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

567 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    292
    195
    49
    19
    12
See reviews for
88
166
48
174
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Doylestown, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2009

The Courtyard is located right downtown in a great location. The hotel and rooms were very clean and modern with friendly staff and valet. They have a business center with a few computers and free wi-fi which was very convenient. Sam's #3 right next door is a great place for breakfast and there are several breweries, restaurants, and shops close by to enjoy as well.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
minnesota
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2009

My mom and I stayed here for a weekend away. From the moment we walked in, we experienced top notch customer service. When I booked the room, I requested extra feather pillows and a room that was on a higher floor. Both requests were made. I asked the front desk staff at different times for information about certain places and they were very helpful. They called a cab for us, and even made sure that we didn't need reservations to dine at a nearby restaurant. I felt very taken care of and felt like they appreciated my business. No request was too insignificant for this staff. If I have to stay in Denver again, this would be my first choice.

  • Stayed July 2009
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2009

This hotel is competently run. Everything in the room was in working order. The room was clean. The wifi was consistently strong. Everything in the business center was operative. However, there is a basic air of cheapness and datedness to the place. The rooms are smallish (fine for a solo traveler; I wouldn't stay here with kids). There are too few electrical outlets -- really, just enough for the lamps and the TV. The HVAC controls consist of a slide thermostat that must date from the eighties. The bath towels are two sizes too small. All of this would be okay, except for the price. The rack rate for this hotel can easily reach $200. Objectively, this is a fair to poor value. Relative to the going rate for other hotels in the area, it's reasonable. Still, there's no compelling reason to choose this hotel over any other in Downtown Denver.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Thomas, Kentucky
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2009

The hotel is located on the 16th St. Mall, great location for the mall (not for my conference, but that was the conference planners' fault). Definitely go to Sam's #3 for breakfast. Hotel room was clean although fairly small. Soundproofing was not very good, a common problem at Marriott hotels, in my experience. Internet was very cumbersome--it was free but required a code & needed 2 or 3 screens to sign in. At random times, the code sign-in would be required again, with no warning. The internet was quite slow. However, I was glad to be able to print boarding passes from the lobby.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flossmoor, Illinois
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2009

Stayed here for a conference. It's an easy walk to the Convention Center and the hotel sits on the 16th Street Mall. The room was fine for business travel and it's nice to see high speed internet included in the price of a room. My only real complaint is that my room faced into the atrium of the hotel, so I never had a clue what the weather was doing. I was up high enough that there was no noise from the lobby, but that might be an issue on a lower floor.

The location is great for being downtown, especially with the free bus service on 16th Street. It's easy to get up to the Tattered Cover Bookstore and the Wynkoop Brewery and Coors Field isn't too far away. I especially recommend Sam's #3 for breakfast, on the corner of 15th and Curtis.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2009

Stayed here in January 2009 while attending a conference. The location is very good; right on the free bus mall so getting to the convention center and conference hotels for meetings was very convenient. There is a Starbucks right downstairs, but the hotel also provides good coffee and tea in the morning. Plenty of restaurants and shopping all within walking distance. Our room was very spacious with two double beds. The windows ran the whole length of the room and almost floor to ceiling so there was plenty of natural light. The bathroom area looked a little worn, but the linens and towels were very good. Housekeeping was excellent and the front desk staff were very on top of things. We had a plumbing issue and maintenance was there and fixed it in less than 15 minutes. The complimentary WiFi was reliable and we were able to print to the business center for free. The restaurant has a nightly happy hour which was is a very good deal. All in all, a fine stay.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Denver Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Denver Downtown

Address: 934 16th St., Denver, CO 80202
Location: United States > Colorado > Denver > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in Denver
#29 Family Hotel in Denver
#31 Business Hotel in Denver
#32 Romantic Hotel in Denver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Denver Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 177
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our boutique-style Denver Marriott hotel is ideally located on the famed 16th Street Mall, just 4 blocks from the Colorado Convention Center and close to the best restaurants, attractions and shopping in the city. Visit the Pepsi Center, Coors Field, Larimer Square, Denver Pavilions and the Denver Center for the Performing Arts. Our Denver downtown hotel's stylish rooms and suites feature first-rate amenities, including luxury bedding, stylish decor, beautiful artwork and high ceilings. We are housed in a beautifully renovated historic building, and offer distinguished meeting space ideal for corporate gatherings. Guests are invited to enjoy our fitness and business centers, and free Wi-Fi throughout the hotel. Be sure to visit our on-site restaurant, Rialto Cafe, offering award-winning cuisine. The Courtyard Denver Downtown hotel delivers comfort, convenience and style! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, EasyToBook, Marriott and Priceline so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Denver Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Denver Downtown Hotel Denver
Courtyard Denver Downtown
Denver Courtyard
Denver Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Denver Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.