We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, not a restful night.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Denver Downtown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard by Marriott Denver Downtown to your Saves list
Courtyard by Marriott Denver Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   934 16th St., Denver, CO 80202 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$20 Daily Credit
Ranked #33 of 148 Hotels in Denver
GreenLeadersSilver level
Wilmington, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, not a restful night.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Check-in was easy and the front desk attendant was friendly. We stayed on the hometown sports package which came with valet parking and two free beers or an appetizer in the hotel restaurant which was a good deal. The room was well appointed with nice fixtures and decorations and the bed and pillows were very comfortable. The bathroom was a bit dark and there was a large column in the middle that made moving around the bathroom awkward. Also we were only given two towels so my wife had to use mine for her hair. Our room was not one of those you see in the pictures with a nice view of the street below. We had a view of a brick wall and windows, which wasn't a big deal since we didn't spend much time in the room. The location of the hotel is excellent, especially for the price. You walk right out into the shopping and dining area of Denver. I rated the hotel 3/5 because we did not sleep well due to the noise inside the room. The air conditioner was very loud especially when it cycled on. It was as loud or louder than some window units found at budget hotels. It definitely woke me up several times throughout the night and I'm not all that light of a sleeper. Also, our room had an adjoining door to the next room. At 1:45 in the morning the guests next door came in and were quite loud--luckily for only about 5 minutes, but the door in between failed to block out much of the noise and we were wide awake by that point. I was about 30 seconds from calling the front desk when they piped down. I do recommend this hotel if you're looking for a place to stay on 16th street at a descent price.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandra C, Front Office Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Denver Downtown, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Thank you for the candid feedback. We are looking into adding more insulation between guest rooms to correct this issue. We apologize for the inconvenience this caused during your stay and hope you will stay with us again.

Warm Regards,
Alexandra Crown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

534 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    272
    189
    44
    18
    11
See reviews for
83
155
46
164
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York, New York, United States
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

The property is a newish one in a good location. Staff was friendly on check in. My room was in the back on a high floor. It was small and dark (despite the very high ceiling) and on a airshaft. The front rooms appear to be larger, with higher windows. Our meeting room was subterranean and also dark. The food provided to the meeting was prepared and presented without much care.

Room Tip: Try to be in the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandra C, Front Office Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Denver Downtown, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
We appreciate your candid feedback. Our goal is to provide above and beyond service in all departments. We will take the information you have provided us with and discuss the contents with the appropriate departments. Trust that we will make all necessary improvements to ensure our guest satisfaction is 100% met.

Thank you,
Alexandra Crown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niskayuna, NY
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

We just finished a three night stay at this property. It is located right off a street that is closed to traffic except free buses that move across a main corridor of the city. There is a lot of positive activity in this area including talented street performers, outdoor concerts and pianos that people just walk up and play (very well). This area of Denver is one of the better downtowns we have been to. As far as the hotel itself, everything was flawless over the three days. The staff is all friendly and professional, including the front desk, valet, and housekeeping. Everyone seems to go beyond the normal service and anticipates your needs. Wonderful stay!

Room Tip: Choose a. Outside room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandra C, Front Office Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Denver Downtown, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Thank you for your review. We strive to provide above and beyond service, the fact that you noticed this is a wonderful compliment.

Thank you,
Alexandra Crown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for two nights. Selected the Romance Package which included valet parking, breakfast for two, a bottle of champagne and a Presidential Suite room. From the moment we arrive our expectations were met. Jason was excellent at check-in (ask him for a few complimentary appetizer coupons for local restaurants). Our suite was superb! The room is on the 6th floor and has a private balcony where you can sit out side and enjoy breakfast and also a drink during the evening. The hotel is located on the 16th Street Mall, which is very convenient if you are there to shop or just a night out on the town. Also a Starbucks is right outside the front door which is major plus. We'll definitely stay there again!!!

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandra C, Front Office Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Denver Downtown, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
We truly appreciate you taking the time out of your day to review us. I am glad Jason was able to deliver such excellent service. Come see us again soon!

Regards,
Alexandra Crown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Augusta, Georgia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

The Courtyard by Marriott Denver Downtown hotel is an awesome hotel! The most important benefit for me is the attentiveness of the staff. They were extremely gracious in helping me resolve a probem that had nothing to do with the hotel. The location is excellent - It is in the midst of the downtown area. I was able to walk or take the free shuttle to shops, the convention center and Coors Field. The attached restaurant served a good variety of excellent food. Many hotel restaurants aren't that great; this one is the exception. My room was well-maintained and comfortable. When I come back to this area, I'll be staying at the Courtyard by Marriott Denver Downtown.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandra C, Front Office Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Denver Downtown, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Thank you for the compliments, they are much appreciated!

Regards,
Alexandra Crown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, Tennessee
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Preface: We booked this room on Priceline for a little over $60, plus taxes and fees. As it was a Saturday night, I thought this was a great deal for a Courtyard hotel in the middle of downtown Denver.

Arrival: Other than having to find (and pay) for a parking spot on the street, check-in was smooth with no unexpected surprises. The desk clear was helpful and courteous.

Accommodations: The room was somewhat small, but compensated by having a high ceiling. It was decorated in beige and brown tones that I found very attractive and fitting for the area. Canvas prints of the Rockies adorned the walls. The room had a microwave, fridge, coffeemaker, hair dryer and alarm clock. All the furnishings were in good shape, with no signs of wear. The view was poor, but I assume other rooms on the far side of the hotel have better views of that's something you want. The towels were the thinker, fluffy kind, and the shower pumped out copious amounts of hot water.

Cleanliness: Quite simply, it was immaculate. No hair, dirty linens, carpet stains....nothing. It was as clean as you can ask a hotel to be!

My Stay: Both me and my companion loved our stay here. The hotel is located on the 16th Street Mall in downtown Denver which is fun to stroll down and see the sights. The bed was amazing comfortable, and I got some of the best sleep I've had in weeks. Everyone I spoke to was polite and courteous. The one flaw int he whole trip was the parking situation in Denver at this location. It cost $28 to park at the hotel, so we chose to park on the street and feed the meter every 2 hours. The meter said that parking was allowed after 10pm, so we fed it until 10:30pm and went to bed. Waiting on the window when we went down the next morning was a parking ticket; apparently "allowed" and "free" are two different things. Anyway, expect to pay out the nose for parking.

Breakfast: No free meals here! They had a restaurant, but we were in a hurry to get on the road and scarfed pop tarts instead.

Pool/Hot Tub/Workout Center: I didn't end up using any of these during our stay; instead I opted for a run through the city. Side note: the altitude really DOES make a difference....

Checkout: Again, smooth and painless with no unexpected charges.

Summary: This hotel was an awesome value for what we paid for it.The combinations of the nice accommodations, perfect location and great service made for one of the better hotel stays I've ever had. I highly recommend staying here, particularly if you can get it for anywhere near the price we paid.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandra C, Front Office Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Denver Downtown, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
We are so happy that everyone enjoyed their stay with us here at the Courtyard!

Hope to see you soon!
Alexandra Crown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

We were starting our vacation in Denver and chose the Courtyard in downtown because of its convenience. The hotel photos looked cool, and we've typically had very good expereinces with Marriott hotels. Chalk this hotel up to a great experience!

We arrived very early, and the hotel staff safely and methodically stowed our luggage, etc. We were made to feel very much at home from moment one. Our room became available shortly after noon, and we were able to settle in before going to a Rockies game. The room was very large, well appointed and had an absolutely fantastic city view, and it is in the heart of a shopping and dining area.

The fundamentals of safety and service are great here. And, the staff apparently takes great pride in the hotel's appearance and cleanliness. We did not try the adjacent cafe, but it sounded like people were having a good time there.

I would note there is a free city shuttle trolley system that runs up and down the 16th Street mall that helps you get around in the area and cuts the walking time to Coors Field about in half.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandra C, Front Office Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Denver Downtown, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review us!

Regards,
Alexandra Crown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Denver Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Denver Downtown

Address: 934 16th St., Denver, CO 80202
Location: United States > Colorado > Denver > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Green Hotel in Denver
#26 Family Hotel in Denver
#27 Romantic Hotel in Denver
#32 Business Hotel in Denver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Denver Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 177
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our boutique-style Denver Marriott hotel is ideally located on the famed 16th Street Mall, just 4 blocks from the Colorado Convention Center and close to the best restaurants, attractions and shopping in the city. Visit the Pepsi Center, Coors Field, Larimer Square, Denver Pavilions and the Denver Center for the Performing Arts. Our Denver downtown hotel's stylish rooms and suites feature first-rate amenities, including luxury bedding, stylish decor, beautiful artwork and high ceilings. We are housed in a beautifully renovated historic building, and offer distinguished meeting space ideal for corporate gatherings. Guests are invited to enjoy our fitness and business centers, and free Wi-Fi throughout the hotel. Be sure to visit our on-site restaurant, Rialto Cafe, offering award-winning cuisine. The Courtyard Denver Downtown hotel delivers comfort, convenience and style! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Marriott, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Denver Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Denver Downtown Hotel Denver
Courtyard Denver Downtown
Denver Courtyard
Denver Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Denver Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.