We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Margaret Brown- a woman ahead of her time!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Molly Brown House Museum

Molly Brown House Museum
1340 Pennsylvania Street, Denver, CO 80203 (Capitol Hill)
303 832 4092
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #18 of 107 Attractions in Denver
Type: Historic Sites, Specialty Museums, Museums
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This fancy antique-filled Victorian house was the home of Molly Brown, a famous survivor of the Titanic.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Margaret Brown- a woman ahead of her time!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2013

The tour was very well presented. We moved slowly through the house in a small group. That enabled us to ask questions and hear interesting side stories about her life. The docent was very well informed about history of Denver as well as the life of "Molly" Brown. We recommend the tour for all ages.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

432 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    204
    165
    48
    10
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Florence, Kentucky
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
54 attraction reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Loved the house and stories”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

This is a charming little house full of history and wonderful stories. Well worth the visit for anyone who loves Colorado history.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp
Top Contributor
188 reviews 188 reviews
73 attraction reviews
Reviews in 93 cities Reviews in 93 cities
176 helpful votes 176 helpful votes
“Very interesting for Titanic-afficionados”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

My husband and I enjoyed our visit to this house-museum in September 2013.

Margaret Brown was one of the survivors of the Titanic.
She led an interesting life. She came from a poor background and rose to be an important society figure but many facts were altered by Hollywood, who dubbed her the Unsinkable Molly Brown.

There is a guided tour each half hour, and we were lucky to have a very enthusiastic guide who enlightened us about who the real Margaret Brown had been, and gave us details about the different rooms.

After the guided tour you get the chance to watch some excerpts from the movie the Unsinkable Molly Brown, or you can browse around in the small museumshop.

It was very interesting and enjoyable.

The house is in very good condition, with many of the original decorations and furniture still on the spot.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Maine
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Just OK”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

Unless you have a strong interest in the life of Margaret “Molly” Tobin Brown or you are fascinated with the Titanic disaster, this is a museum you might pass up in favor of other attractions.

The Brown house is a substantial Victorian-era home, but certainly is not among the largest or grandest of the era (at least not on a national scale). What is more, the Molly Brown House Museum is a restoration, not a preservation; by the 1930’s, the house had been converted into a boarding house, housing a dozen or so roomers at a time; the building continued to fall into great disrepair until it was saved from demolition in 1970 by Historic Denver, Inc. So, no matter how painstaking the restoration was, based upon photos, research, paint chip analysis, etc., much of the house is not original, but re-created. If you have spent much time in Victorian homes, you will find the Brown house familiar.

Like some other reviewers, I found our guide to be a bit pretentious. Also, I got the sense that there was an “organizational culture” of “taking the subject matter much too seriously” and of “not deviating from the script”.

Unlike at least one other reviewer, however, I didn’t find the neighborhood “sketchy”, at least not during the day. The Brown House Museum is located just a few blocks from the State Capitol; to my eye, the area appeared to be one that is undergoing significant re-gentrification.

The Brown House Museum was ok, but my wife and I felt we could have made more interesting choices.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kansas city
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Hmm go and visit.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

I have been to Denver several times and always wanted to go and visit. GO! It is so worth it. I never knew what the incredible Molly Brown did for Denver, let alone our nation. She was a true dynamo. The tour guide was a little melodramatic and not super kid friendly, but the knowledge is so worth it.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Molly Brown House Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Molly Brown House Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.