We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outrageously good food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of City O City

City O City
206 E. 13th Ave, Denver, CO 80203
303-831-6443
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #66 of 2,346 Restaurants in Denver
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: American, Coffee Shop, Vegetarian
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night
Sarajevo, Bosnia and Herzegovina
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“Outrageously good food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2012

This restaurant has some of the best vegetarian/vegan food & food options! Tasty, unique and beautifully presented. The restaurant was recently remodeled, so there's more space, which is nice. The casual atmosphere is great, although the music was a little high for much conversation (we're all 62 or older, so if you're younger it's probably perfect). It looked like many patrons were regulars. We aren't since we don't live in CO, but will definitely go there next time we are in Denver.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    73
    57
    10
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Over-rated hipster joint serves horrible food”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2012

Vegetarian friends always want to eat at this restaurant, so last December I went. Service was good, but the food was not. I decided to try it again when my boyfriend suggested it. It's always best to give a place a second chance. Hostess was friendly, and we were seated in a reasonable amount of time. Our waiter was initially good--he got to the table within two minutes, took drink orders, etc. Once we ordered however, our food seemed to take a lot longer than it should have. Sometimes that just happens when a kitchen gets backed up. Finally, our food arrived. My city vegetarian burger had their 'special' sauce on it, which was basically thousand island dressing, but it had been apparently sitting for a while before it was served, as it had dribbled down on the side of the burger and all over the plate. The burger was completely tasteless. The onion rings were also terrible, because they were extremely greasy--it just tasted like a mouth full of grease. Our waiter never came back while we waited to get a side of tomatoes (which didn't come with the burger) and for some mustard. Finally, someone else helped us. When this person came back, they had the mustard but informed us that they didn't have tomatoes because they were 'out of season'. I'm not sure what restaurant thinks that it's okay to not have tomatoes when a large portion of the menu is dedicated to various vegetarian sandwiches and burgers. Eventually our waiter came back, but we had already 'finished'--we only at about half of our food because it was so terrible. My boyfriend, who is much more forgiving for terrible food even agreed and stated he would not come back either. Sorry C o C, two strikes, you're out!

This restaurant's sister place is called Watercourse Foods, and it is ten thousand times better, although not the most creative. Both restaurants serve up less than creative solutions for their meatless customers. The owner should go to New York or other large cities and dine out in the vegetarian restaurants to get ideas for more creative food than 'everything fried' or just trying to serve regular meat dishes meatless.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakewood, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“2nd largest in the US”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2011

Great food and service, but I noticed that it wasn't very "kid friendly." No Kids Menu or portions. I overheard a couple with children struggling with that.

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MEN-VER, Colorado
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Expanded but still cool and charming”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2011

I've visited City O City about 10 times over the past 2 years and I've always enjoyed my experience. The are affiliated with Watercourse, which seems impossible, since Watercourse service is worse than any French restaurant I've ever frequented. The food quality and variety at City O City is excellent. The staff are quirky, interesting, and fun. PLEASE don't change. Keep up the good work.

  • Visited November 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evergreen, Colorado
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Upbeat, tasty vegan friendly restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2011

With the renovations completed, City O'City feels bigger and nicer. And the food is still excellent. Vegetarian menu with lots of apps, salads, pizzas, and sandwiches, plus some entrees too. Most everying can be made vegan is desired. Service was very friendly and good, great music being played by the in-house DJ, and hopefully everyone knows about their amazing desserts. Big fan and we are definitely going back!

  • Visited December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed City O City also viewed

 

Been to City O City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage City O City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.