We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Getting to this HEAVENLY Lodge is an Adventure in Itself!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kessler Canyon, Autograph Collection

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Kessler Canyon, Autograph Collection to your Saves list
Kessler Canyon, Autograph Collection
4410 County Road 209, De Beque, CO 81630   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
FREE Wi-Fi
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in De Beque
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Chicago, Illinois, United States
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
74 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
129 helpful votes 129 helpful votes
“Getting to this HEAVENLY Lodge is an Adventure in Itself!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

This lodge is located outside De Beque, Colorado and an hour from Grand Junction airport. There aren't any signs, just follow the road until it narrows and you come upon two rustic spires with the name Kessler Canyon inscribed very small. Turn there and you'll be pretty sure you're going the right way because the road is marked every so many feet with beautiful stone cairns on each side about 4 feet high. You'll know you're getting close when you see some bronze statues of wild horses running free in the meadow. This little unpaved road is about six miles off the main road, also unpaved. There's no one else out there, just this little lodge nestled on 23,000 acres!!! You'll pull into a postcard setting; fishing pond, a couple of canoes, resident hounds, deer, fire pit, and a structure akin to the original National Park lodges. You will be greeted with the warmest welcome of your life and before you know it, you're staying at the home of old friends. All while surrounded by an impressive art collection in a well appointed and tastefully done western lodge.

I did not see all the rooms, but did see the suite. If you want a splurge, do that! Rooms, by design, have no television. If you need tv, this isn't the place for you anyway. The rooms are comfortable, although a little more simple and not finished out on such a high end level as the rest of the house. We didn't mind. Everything is done well and bathrooms are quite large. The food is AMAZING. Chef Lenny McNab, we are told,is the Food Network's next star. A talented man on the kitchen, he also strolled the groundswell after dinner was served, strumming tales of the cowboy life on his Ibanez. Cheatin' women, loyal dogs and drinkin' come to mind. We loved it! Lenny is a DOLL. A hoot. Go just for him...... He makes the entire experience. We just loved him. Our hosts, Jim and Kerrie (spelling?), were wonderful.

This hotel is just the right size for weddings, reunions, teams / grow, etc. It is, however, quite romantic!!!!!! The group that went on the ATVs said it was a hair raising experience straight up. Awesome! You can do some real shooting here, which could be quite fun.......1,000 yard range and everything from trap shooting to military and handguns. There is a lovely spa here as well, but due to the remote nature of the location, book it with them in advance so they can line up the masseuse for you. There is a jacuzzi, no pool. I would consider this an adult retreat, it is certainly not for small children. They have a nice gift shop as well, but know before you go that they have a lot more clothing for men than women there.

This is an upscale lodge in a casual setting. I've traveled a great deal and when we travel we like to focus on remote places that are far away from civilization. This is one of the most beautiful settings we've ever been to. I love how 'far out there' you are......but rest assured that you'll have everything you need or want. The food, wine, etc. are all top notch.

We were told there is a hunting lodge on property as well, and that it is just as nice as the main lodge. That's hard to imagine, but everything here is 'to a T', no corners were cut. The man who opened this and shares it with the exclusive few who can get there is clearly doing it because he enjoys the heck out of it. This is a retreat from the hustle and bustle of the world and you will feel amazing when you leave. Verizon works out there, ATT does not. There is wifi for those who need the ability to 'check in'. We will definitely be going back! This place is truly special.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerri M, Manager at Kessler Canyon, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, August 28, 2014
We are delighted that you enjoyed your visit with us! We hope to share the Kessler Canyon experience with you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
12
31
4
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

My son and I arrived after a grueling drive from Chicago to arrive at paradise! We had embarked on a golf/photography road trip and made reservations just a couple of days before we left. Not expecting anything like this! We were immediately met by Megan and Chef Lenny to appetizers and drinks which were really needed after a long drive. That evening our personal Chef, Chef Lenny, who is competing for top chef on the Food Network prepared an exquisite dinner. The first night we didn't have time to request dinner because we arrived late so Chef Lenny prepared rib eye steaks for us. Now I am not a steak eater, just not my favorite thing but this was cooked to perfection and spiced perfectly, first steak I loved in years. Then he played and sang a cowboy song for us while we had desert! Chef Lenny is multi talented! We were able to request dinner the next two nights and we had lamb chops and elk wellington. With the outstanding talents of Chef Lenny I needn't say anything more, JUST PERFECT!!. Another surprise is that we were the only guests at the hotel! This incredible mansion lodge we had all to ourselves. When we got over that amazement we just relaxed for three days. One of the days Megan took us on an ATV trek to the top of a mountain, while a little scary at first it was completely safe and spectacularly beautiful. For breakfast and lunch we had Chef Clark who again prepared tremendous meals totally at our request. Carrie, the manager, was as kind and friendly as you can imagine. While not accustomed to such lavish trappings we felt so at home here because of the staff that I can't wait to go back. Now I only have to win the lottery or more realistically save up but I will be back.

Room Tip: Every room is great no matter where they put you
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, TX
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

I arranged for a three day turkey hunt with a guide from Epic Outfitters in Loma Colorado. He selected Kessler Canyon about 15 miles north of DeBeque, Colorado, and 30 miles east of Grand Junction.

The approach to the lodge is down a spectacular canyon lined with field stone plinths. Larger than life statues of horses greet you as you approach the lodge across a lake. The lodge is spectacular, with a large dining area and lounge, meeting rooms, a full service spa (massage, steam and sauna rooms), gun room, and the whole thing decorated with original bronzes, paintings and carvings, most in a western or African wildlife theme. The accommodations are in an adjacent building, which contains the suite and individual rooms above an area to store hunting and fishing equipment and a large billiards / lounge / meeting room.

Jim and Kerri, the managers, greeted me and gave me a walk around the facilities. I then met up with my guide, and we, being the only guests at that time, had a spectacular dinner of elk wellington served in the kitchen at the chef's table by Chef Lenny and Sous Chef Clark. This was only the first of many gourmet meals I enjoyed at Kessler.

My guide had scouted the area and we made a final tour that evening before setting out early the next morning. My 3-day hunt was over in an hour, with a trophy tom turkey taken and later served for dinner. But there was so much more to do at Kessler, including a quail hunt, fishing for trout in the "technical" pond and several beaver ponds, shooting clays, and sighting in my rifle for an elk hunt this Fall. Jim and Kerri accompanied John and I on many of these activities, and I felt like part of the Kessler family. It was a full three days.

Whether or not you hunt (turkey, upland game, elk, or mule deer are offered), fish, or just want to relax and explore the area on foot, Kessler offers a high standard of luxury accommodations and truly gourmet meals in a spectacular setting. It is also an ideal setting for a business retreat.

Room Tip: If the suite is available, you cannot go wrong on this luxury apartment.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2014

Found this unique resort by chance. What a wonderful and beautiful experience. Definitely beyond our expectations. The Staff made us feel at home. Jim and Kerri, co-operations managers, welcome their guests as family. Chef Lenny's creations are fabulous. The experience of Black Mamba (AKA Chef Lenny) was an added bonus to the experience after dinner. We stayed one night, but wished our trip was extended to two or three more days. Definitely a resort for the remote, unique experience. Best defined as a once in a life time unique, memorable experience that is worth the investment.

Room Tip: The ground floor suite is worth the additional cost if you are an outdoor lover.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia, United States
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

I got a chance to spend four days at Kessler Canyon in early September. I am not a hunter, but was there for a weekend with some friends. What a wonderful experience. From the warm welcome by the staff, to enjoying great meals prepared by an authentic chuck wagon chef who then serenades the guests with song and cowboy poetry, everything is done with excellence. It is like staying in an art gallery. Much of the furniture is hand made, and the rooms were very spacious and comfortable. It is hard to believe such a luxurious resort is in the middle of nowhere. They have developed 23,000 acres which includes a beautiful canyon and a mesa 2000 vertical feet higher. Driving an ATV up the switchbacks to the mesa was quite a thrill, with hundred foot drop offs at the edge of the road. I tried skeet shooting for the first time and really enjoyed it. If you are looking for a getaway to get an authentic western experience with incredible food and accommodations, try this place.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, CO
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

Kessler Canyon is a small luxury resort located miles from the nearest paved road. The property includes most of the mountain valley in which it sits, but do be prepared for a bit of a trek to reach your destination. You'll get a spacious room (no TV and cell phone coverage is limited at best), a lodge packed with art (much of it for sale), a welcoming staff, and generous meals in the dining room. There is no swimming pool, but the lake is fine for a dip.

Kessler is very much how Coloradans view hospitality: The staff will make sure your needs are met and the rest is up to you. A hunting lodge at heart, you can grab your hiking shoes, a mountain bike, or an ATV and explore the fabulous beauty of this dusty western canyon. As is proper for a hunting spot, shooting ranges are available and the staff will be happy to set up a lesson or two. Or you can just sit on the porch, fish a little in the lake, snooze on a hammock in the old orchard, and wonder what's for dinner.

Meals are not from a menu, but the kitchen and dining staff will be happy to oblige any needs you might have and supply you with between-meal treats, to boot. If you're lucky, the local reprobate known as "The Black Mamba" may show up at the end of the evening meal and sing a cowboy song or two!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I spent 2 glorious nights here and absolutely loved it. There were only 8 guests here during our stay so the service was very personalized. All staff are friendly and service-oriented and Chef Lenny is Amazing - as a chef, entertainer and host. The art collection is outstanding. It's like being in a gallery. Guests can be very active or very lazy and just enjoy the tranquil setting. My husband surprised me with this trip and I had no idea where we were going. As we headed farther and farther away from the Grand Junction airport into a very remote setting I was beginning to wonder where we were heading! I was delighted when we finally arrived at the lodge and remained delighted during the entire stay. I would highly recommend Kessler Canyon for a special getaway.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Kessler Canyon, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kessler Canyon, Autograph Collection

Address: 4410 County Road 209, De Beque, CO 81630
Location: United States > Colorado > De Beque
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in De Beque
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kessler Canyon is a Colorado resort located on the western slope of the Colorado Rocky Mountains, the hotel is just 45 minutes east of Grand Junction and two hours west of world-famous ski resorts. This Colorado resort's location provides an unparalleled outdoor sportsman's paradise with a large variety of recreational opportunities, including fishing, wing shooting, big game hunting, hiking, and shooting sports. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott so you can book your Kessler Canyon, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kessler Canyon, Autograph Collection, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.