We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice facility” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Carr Manor

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Carr Manor to your Saves list
Carr Manor
350 E. Carr Ave., Cripple Creek, CO 80860   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 11 Cripple Creek B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersSilver level
Catonsville, Maryland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Nice facility”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

Although the historic facility is very interesting, the inn keepers left a bit to be desired. Upon arrival is was more about what we could not do (smoking, dogs, etc...which we don't do) that what we could. We were directed to our upstairs rooms (no elevator) and were only offered help with out luggage after we started up the stairs. During breakfast, the inn keeper hovered around us watching us eat, and taking the plates as soon as we put our fork down - felt very rushed. The cook and another lady were also there in the kitchen watching us eat - very uncomfortable. It should also be advertised that there is no A/C or place to hang clothes (Room 25) and its very noisy when the bars close. We won't go back to stay - but the tour of the building is worth the 30-minutes.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    172
    8
    0
    1
    1
See reviews for
6
128
10
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento, California
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Well-decorated, nicely re-furnished. Interesting photos and historic momentos. Reserved parking right in front was a nice thought for guests. It's a steep walk up from the casinos! Chalkboards in the rooms are different, but added some charm. My only recommendations would be to upgrade the pillows - they were flat, hard, and uncomfortable. I stayed in the Carr Suite, and the TV was so far from the bed you couldn't read the words on the TV channel guide (which is ok, but why have a TV if you can't see it?). You do hear the folks ripping it up coming out of the casino late at night, and in the afternoon can here the fairly constant whistling of the tourist train that runs in and out of town, but the property itself is quiet. Breakfast was good, seemed like too many staff floating around, all asking the same questions about orders over and over - might be good to provide a menu in advance so each guest could just make a selection - wasn't very peaceful during the ordering process. Also noticed that there is no real table assignment, so the early birds got their own two-tops and those that arrived later for breakfast were forced into potentially sitting with strangers as there were no other options (which I don't mind, but others might). There's no place nearby to get a decent espresso - might be nice if the Carr manor invested in a machine. Great place though! just my two cents.

Room Tip: Pick one with a door!
See more room tips
Green Features: I found the Carr Manor to be very environmentally friendly, everyone was smiling.
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westminster, Colorado
Top Contributor
196 reviews 196 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
138 helpful votes 138 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

Our room #1 had a remote control ceiling fan. We had a chalk board in our room. The bed was comfortable. You can get a tour guide to tour the beautiful rooms. Its cool a high school bed and breakfast. Thank you. Rita Bennett and Steve Nordstrom from Westminster Colorado.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013 via mobile

The Carr Manor is one of those must return experience's that we rarely find today . From the decor to the friendly gracious staff every small detail for your comfort and enjoyment is provided. Once you stay here you will want to return.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granbury, Texas
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

This is a very unique bed and breakfast in Cripple Creek. It was once the school for the Cripple Creek area. The school rooms have been changed in to rooms for guests. The décor has been kept so as to preserve the history of the building. The innkeepers are very hospitable and nice and the breakfast was excellent. We would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

Beautiful hotel, Superb staff. Highly recommend
parking on site. Rooms are decorated beautifully. Stayed there on business, after working all day what a place to come to, perfect.
view is fantastic. Inn keepers are sweet and welcoming

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurora, Colorado, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

Carr Manor is a beautiful diamond surrounded by Cripple Creek gold. The atmosphere was quiet and relaxing; it was definitely a home away from home. We stayed in the "principal's office," a lovely suite that I would recommend to anyone. Everyone from Wini and Gary, the owners, to the grounds keeper were so hospitable. We have been to many bed and breakfast inns, but this one was the best by far!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Carr Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carr Manor

Address: 350 E. Carr Ave., Cripple Creek, CO 80860
Location: United States > Colorado > Cripple Creek
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Cripple Creek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Carr Manor is the perfect place for your Colorado vacation rental, romantic getaway, honeymoon, family reunion, retreat or wedding. We are located in the historic gold mining town of Cripple Creek, Colorado, surrounded by a wealth of history & activities that offer year-round fun & adventure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Carr Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carr Manor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.