We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean room and fun place to stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Double Eagle Hotel and Casino

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Cripple Creek
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Double Eagle Hotel and Casino
Save
You added Double Eagle Hotel and Casino to your Saves list
442 E. Bennett Avenue, Cripple Creek, CO 80813   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Cripple Creek
Golden
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Clean room and fun place to stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2011

The rooms there are one of the cleanest I have ever stayed at. The Casino is nice and nice people at the casino.The restaurant Lombards is ok nothing spectacular.
The continental breakfast was ok. The Casino is one of the larger ones in Cripple Creek
and the area is beautiful.
No big winnings to take home but enjoyed the stay.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    38
    24
    11
    13
See reviews for
20
54
5
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
1,778 reviews 1,778 reviews
157 hotel reviews
Reviews in 351 cities Reviews in 351 cities
738 helpful votes 738 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2011

While we went to the casino we are writing this review about our experience in the Coffee House which is on the ground floor street side of the casino. They have about everything in this coffee shop you could desire in the way of a coffee drink plus they have ice cream. Out the front door you are on the main street and out the rear door you are directly in the casino. Very nice proprietor of this shop. He gave us several suggestions and recommendations on what to see and visit around the town. Also very good coffee.

Room Tip: My review is only about the coffee shop in this casino/hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2011

We went to the Double Eagle for our 10th Anniversary just to get away for the night and had a coupon. Room was standard, clean. TV was a small tube TV. Hotel staff was friendly. Nothing spectacular. If it was full price, it would not have been worth it. Had coupons to the hotel restaurant Lombards also. Ate dinner as well as breakfast. Restaurant was not busy at dinner time. Lots of staff just walking around doing not much of anything. Husband had the philly cheesesteak which he said was good but there wasn't a whole lot of it. I had a sausage/chicken noodle plate. Sausage was good. Noodles tasted old and chicken tasted like airplane chicken. Was not very good. Breakfast was better, very busy. Same amount of staff from night before was utilized. Breakfast buffet didn't look too appetizing. We had skillets which were pretty good. Breakfast was definitely better than dinner.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2011

I stayed for three nights at Double Eagle Hotel and Casino recently and I was sad to leave. The Casino and Hotel are very nice. The bathtub in the suite was perfect to try out my bath salts I brought for a relaxing soak in the tub. It is so deep and so long you could lay back and just thoroughly enjoy the experience. The views from the hotel are beautiful. The staff at check in, the staff at the casino and the staff at the restaurants make you feel like you are someone very special. The gambling is so fun I met so many friendly people there, I can't wait to return.

Room Tip: Our only dilema was our suite was near the housekeeping elevator so it was a little noisey in the ea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2011

We've been staying at the Double Eagle Hotel and Casino for years. It's the most modern and accommodating casino on the Cripple Creek 'strip'.

The rooms are clean, and always presented nicely. The beds are firm, but still comfortable for the most part. The staff has always been pleasant and helpful. I don't think it's the kind of hotel to stay at for a week or a long stay during your trip, but for one-and-two night getaways, it's just fine. I have to agree that the restaurants are hit or miss, we eat mostly at the Parrot Dice grill, they never disappoint for a quick burger or sandwich wrap, and the cooks hustle to get your order up quickly!

The casino is one of the larger ones in Cripple Creek. The staff at the casino has always been nice and helpful and the wait staff comes around frequently to offer refreshments to players (they'll come around more often on weekend nights when they are most busy). All in all it's a nice play to play and stay!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Bend, Kansas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2011

we stayed over nite this past week the room was nice and the staff at the hotel very accommodating on the down side if you get the standard room you get a very crappy breakfast at the coffee shop next door and that guy was very nasty to get along with gave the guy in front of me allot of bull because he wanted an extra cup of waffle mix if you upgrade your room to a suite you get a restaurant breakfast so you get what you pay for

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glendale, Arizona
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2011

To toughs who have posted a negative comment, I don't think you know what your talking about. I stayed over the 4th of July weekend, and had a great time. The beer and drinks never stopped coming each of my 3 days, I think they were trying to get me drunk and everyone I encountered was friendly and always willing to help. The rooms were very clean and the beds were great. Not like sleeping on the street like some people claimed. We ate at the cafe each meal instead of choosing their free breakfast, but that was our choice. Although a bit pricy, guess you need to remember where you are. Their is no question the best bang for your buck is right here at the Double Eagle.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Double Eagle Hotel and Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Double Eagle Hotel and Casino

Address: 442 E. Bennett Avenue, Cripple Creek, CO 80813
Location: United States > Colorado > Cripple Creek
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Cripple Creek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 158
Also Known As:
Double Eagle Hotel Cripple Creek
Casino Cripple Creek
Hotel Cripple Creek
Double Eagle Cripple Creek

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Double Eagle Hotel and Casino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.