We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of J.P. McGills Hotel and Casino

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Cripple Creek
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
J.P. McGills Hotel and Casino
Save
You added J.P. McGills Hotel and Casino to your Saves list
232 East Bennett Ave., P. O. Box 976, Cripple Creek, CO 80813   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Cripple Creek
Austin, Texas
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Good value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013 via mobile

View was of the parking garage. The first two floors are the casino, and the top two floors are the hotel rooms. There are no table games in the casino. You have to go two doors down to where there are eight blackjack and just one craps table. There are three casinos in a row which are associated. Friendly dealers. A lot of restaurants to choose from. My bill was lowered from about $130 to $104 (including tax) when I checked in, which I thought was nice. The room was very small, but clean. It is on old, but well maintained, building.

Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    12
    8
    3
    2
See reviews for
4
20
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

Spent two nights here last weekend and once you get checked in and in the room it is good. The check in is hard to find and inconvenient. The people working at the check in desk there seem completely disinterested in their job and unhelpful. The other employees we encountered in the restaurants and casinos were much more friendly and personable. Free parking garage was nice and very convenient. Room was clean with a comfortable bed. Restaurants were both great with the breakfast at the Midnight Rose unbelievably good for the price. Good selection of slots and video poker, a few table games. Spotty drink service in the casino which was surprising. Altitude takes a little getting used to since you are walking quite a bit.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

I arrived in town late on a sat afternoon, and tried two other hotels (at random) which were all out of rooms. I then got the last room available at JP McGills, once I actually found hotel reception, which is on 3rd floor. As you can imagine, the last room they hand out is not the prize room. It was small and had no windows, so no natural light. Which suited me as I was planning on staying up late and sleeping in ( I appreciated the 11am check out). At $110, it was pretty expensive for such a small room, but I was not in a position to haggle (although I noticed that others thought they were). Price also included two discount vouchers to hotel restaurants, which balances out cost as well. Aircon, TV and wifi worked great, and room/bathroom were clean and comfortable. Casino was fun in a low key sort of way, and restaurant had good food and service.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

We had a king non-smoking room over-looking Bennett St. Nice view, quiet, clean, and if you didn't want to walk outside you didn't have to. The casinos of Brass Ars, Midnight Rose, and ours were all connected with wonderful restaurants to choose from. With a players card we got 10% off of our room and a money coupon for $5.50 each day for each person staying in room to be used in their restaurants. The casinos had free drinks including mixed drinks with Co. laws, plus several of them had snacks of popcorn/cookies. We were within walking distance to all of the casinos and shopping. If you wanted to do more family activity you would want to drive to the heritage center or gold mine. We definitely enjoyed our time spent there.

Room Tip: Ask for room with window facing Bennett St.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swadlincote, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
269 reviews 269 reviews
107 hotel reviews
Reviews in 140 cities Reviews in 140 cities
239 helpful votes 239 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

I booked this hotel as it was less expensive than the others wish I had paid a bit more and stayed elsewhere. On arrival we were asked to wait for 8 mins as check in began at 4pm we were early!! We had booked a queen smoking room $90 plus tax, the room was very small we did not have room to open our suitcases. Whilst one of us was up and about the other had to sit on the bed. The room was very dated and the carpet needed replacing. At midnight there was lots of banging like construction work. The bed was very uncomfortable as the mattress was worn and it dipped in the middle. I did report this issues the following morning but they were not interested as I always like to give them a chance to say sorry but they did not. Please also note that some rooms do not a have a window, I did know this when booking the room, but never again as you needed every light on all the time as no natural light.

Room Tip: If you do stay check your room has a window - please note all smoking rooms have no windows
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

We stayed at this hotel on Sunday, August 12. The room was quite small but fine for two of us. There was no window. The temperature control was crazy - we turned off the thermostat, not wanting air conditioning but the fan continued to blow on and off randomly. The hotel front desk is on the third floor, so quite a trip from the main street. Upon check out, there were 4 people at the desk and NO ONE knew how to print a receipt. Only Tammy, who wasn't there at that moment. I think they should train at least one additional person how to print a receipt. The hotel is in a great location and since we were there on a Sunday night, it was fun to have only very few people around. Beware, other than the casinos, shops close early on a Sunday.

Room Tip: Select a room away from the main street for quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton
Top Contributor
142 reviews 142 reviews
78 hotel reviews
Reviews in 87 cities Reviews in 87 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

No view but we didn't really plan on a view. We wanted the experience. It'd been 20 years since we were in CC and knew where we wanted to stay back then. Things in CC are jammmmmmmed together to take advantage of all the available area. The hallways in JP's are narrow and sometimes the rooms have dead spaces but maybe that's where they keep the ghosts. The beds are super sleepable. The bathroom has good counter space and the shower is excellent. We had a queen bed, 4 pillows, nonsmoking, wifi and lcd tv. No frig or microwave but the food in the restaurants and cafe is good. Be sure to sign up for a players card and they will give you $5 off your meal.The room was clean and quiet. We were on the 4th floor and the chiller makes a rumble but not too bad. I like JP McGills Hotel and Casino.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to J.P. McGills Hotel and Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about J.P. McGills Hotel and Casino

Address: 232 East Bennett Ave., P. O. Box 976, Cripple Creek, CO 80813
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Cripple Creek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Cripple Creek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the most spacious casinos in historic Cripple Creek, JP McGills Hotel and Casino boasts unmatched variety and excitement, with a variety of video poker, slot and progressive machines to choose from. Designed for comfort, convenience and excitement, the mezzanine in JP McGills Hotel and Casino overlooks the main level of the casino and has the hottest coin games in town. When you're ready to call it a night, JP McGills Hotel and Casino has a wide selection of affordable hotel rooms, located just upstairs from the casino. Our deluxe standard rooms, feature plasma TVs, FREE wireless Internet and a two meal vouchers per room/per day. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
j.p. Mcgills Hotel Cripple Creek

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage J.P. McGills Hotel and Casino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.