We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful scenery” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Shelf Road

Shelf Road
Cripple Creek, CO
Improve this listing
Type: Scenic Drives, Landmarks
Activities: Four-wheeling
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Mostly unpaved, this road travels between Cripple Creek and Canon City and promises outstanding views.
Tucson
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Beautiful scenery”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

If you are searching for Window Rock on the Shelf Road, you don't have to look too hard. You will know it when you see it and it is lovely. We drove the road down from Cripple Creek to the Window Rock view. Yes, the road is narrow and you do have to keep an eye out for the nearest turnout spot if you meet an oncoming car. We have driven on much worse roads. This one is worth the experience of being under the trees and next to the running creek.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    11
    2
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Canon City, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Drive it Everyday”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

I drive the Shelf Road everyday to and from work. I really enjoy the drive. I do get to see all sorts of wildlife. The scenery is beautiful. I recommend the road if you have time and are looking for a nice drive away from the cities. Also lots of photo opps on the road.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alvin, Texas, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Better than Pikes Peak”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

We got on this road by accident! We were leaving Cripple Creek heading back to Canon City when our iPad map directed us this route!!! It was just beautiful. If you love nature and the outdoors you don't want to miss this route!! AWESOME VIEWS, plus it was FREE,

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
Top Contributor
599 reviews 599 reviews
203 attraction reviews
Reviews in 163 cities Reviews in 163 cities
405 helpful votes 405 helpful votes
“Don't Look Down!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

Great road, unless you are driving! Sometimes, Shelf Road seems less wide than your car! Great views. I started in Canon City and it seemed like about a 1/3 of the way, there were sheep up the mountain side. Always pay attention to the road and know where the turnouts are incase you meet traffic. The road isn't wide enough for both of you... Enjoy!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A little bit scary”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

For me it was a bit scary and I wasn't driving. The views are great though and although we like Phantom Canyon Road a lot more this was definitely worth the drive too.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shelf Road also viewed

 

Been to Shelf Road? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shelf Road, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.