We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lodge at Mountaineer Square

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Lodge at Mountaineer Square to your Saves list
Lodge at Mountaineer Square
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   620 Gothic Road, P.O. Box 5700, Crested Butte, CO 81225   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Crested Butte
Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Loved it!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2009

Everything was wonderful it is so beautiful there. Everyone is so nice and the food is really great... Except dont eat at PRIME the only steak house on the mountain and its really not good. Service is not good. Everything else is just perfect.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    156
    15
    8
    4
    1
See reviews for
67
72
4
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Thousand Oaks
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2009

I came to Crested Butte with a Veterinary ski association. I've spent years skiing Colorado and this was one of the best experiences. Everyone is very pleasant and eager to help. We had new snow almost everyday. The terrain is very challenging. The town is updated classic old Colorado mining town. The restaurants vary from funky to fine. The Lodge at Mountaineer Square was unbelievably convenient. The two bedroom suite was plush, roomy and pricey, but well worth it.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shreveport LA
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2009

We had the best time at the Lodge at Mountaineer Square. The condo's were fully equipped and if we needed anything, we called and the item would be there in less than 5 minutes. Top quality staff , more like a 5 star than 4. I would highly recommend this to anyone. The convenience of being right at the base of the mountain is ideal for those with small children. The rooms are extremely well insulated. Even with housekeeping across the hall from our room, I never heard them. EVER. Nor did I hear any of the other guests. Superb.

Stayed January 2009, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
camarillo, ca
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2009

Although the mountain and Lodge were great I must say that the food at the Rustica restaurant was probably the best we have ever had (including Stein Ericksons at Deer Valley, Utah), the oysters were unbelievably fresh and suculent and the food imaginative and perfectly prepared, and served by a very friendly staff. The wine list was superb, affordable and showed both effort and thought. Price for value was unbelivable!! Can't imagine why anyone would eat anywhere else on the mountain!!
Also don't miss Djangos Restaurant in the Mount. Square....again food was spectacular, wine list expansive, fun and affordable. The owners definately make you feel at home and go out of their way to make the whole experience a memorable one.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis Md
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2009

Overall what we expected. As another reviewer mentioned not glitzy but very comfortable. I was very happy the room wasn't the usual heavy dark Western decor we're used to seeing in Colorado. The accommodations are more reminiscent of the Jackson Gore accommodations in Vermont. (Not surprising as they were both designed by the same people). We had a two bedroom two bath room. Very large living area. Housekeeping was excellent. Staff very helpful.

Nice village, although small right now (lots of new accommodations planned). Overall it reminded us of Copper's Village.

Super convenient bus service into town, every 15 minutes. Also a bus available to Gunnison several times a day.

Great restaurants in the village (Woodstone Grill, Django's) and in town (Ginger Cafe, Bacchanal, Pitas in Paradise). Great places for lunch in the village Firehouse Grill and Avalanche.

Fun shops in town and very friendly shop owners.

The hill has lots of gorgeous wide groomed green and blue terrain. (The Mueller's are the King and Queen of grooming and snowmaking) You can actually still find corduroy at 11:30 in the morning here! Also great extreme terrain for those who want it.

Crested Butte is a fantastic area. Gorgeous, remote and what we so liked is that it is not pretentious like Beaver Creek and Telluride. We spent one week in Telluride then one week in Crested Butte. We liked CB so much we decided next year we'd skip Telluride and spend two weeks here.

Stayed February 2009
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2009

Excellent accommodations. Had maid service EVERY DAY! Very close to lifts and easy in-and-out. Concierge was very helpful. Very comfortable condos/rooms. Not glitzy at all; nice, warm, Western-style decor. Didn't use the pool/spa but it was very attractive and could accommodate a lot of people.

  • Liked — Comfort; location
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plantation, Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2009

12 of us stayed at the Lodge at Mountaineer Square in January. Not one of us had one negative thing to say about it. The pics on the website are accurate. My husband and I booked a King room and it was spacious and everything was new and clean. The full bathroom was a great plus! I also called prior to us arriving with some requests and on arrival everything was as I requested.
The staff were very helpful and friendly. The location superb. All in all we had one of our best ski vacations ever. Crested Butte is a gem. And the weather was gorgeous. If we ever go back to Crested Butte there will be no hesitation in booking our accommodation at The Lodge again.

  • Liked — New and clean, spacious rooms, location
  • Disliked — N/a
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lodge at Mountaineer Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lodge at Mountaineer Square

Address: 620 Gothic Road, P.O. Box 5700, Crested Butte, CO 81225
Location: United States > Colorado > Crested Butte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Crested Butte
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lodge at Mountaineer Square 3.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just steps from the ski lifts, the Lodge at Mountaineer Square in Crested Butte, Colorado features premier studio, one, two, three, and four-bedroom suites with deluxe amenities, including indoor/outdoor heated swimming pool, outdoor hot tub, sauna and fitness room, bell, valet, concierge services and a full-service front desk. Relax in front of the fireplace and enjoy a drink with friends or associates at the on-site Trackers Bar & Lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Lodge at Mountaineer Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lodge At Mountaineer Square Hotel Crested Butte
Hotel At Mountaineer Square
At Mountaineer Square Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lodge at Mountaineer Square, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.