We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I really liked it, however I feel deceived...” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Lodge at Mountaineer Square

Save Saved
You added Lodge at Mountaineer Square to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Lodge at Mountaineer Square
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   620 Gothic Road, P.O. Box 5700, Crested Butte, CO 81225   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 12 hotels in Crested Butte
Colorado
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“I really liked it, however I feel deceived...”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

I loved this hotel and it's location. Almost every detail was covered except the one that I'm concerned with in the summer, that being heat. I would recommend this hotel to anyone, take away the fact that this place has an air conditioner but then deliberately disables it in the morning hours without warning. Imagine going to sleep in a a cool, pristine environment and then waking up at 2AM in an "Africa Hot" scenario with absolutely no control...welcome to the Mountaineers Lodge . Great place if you want someone else to control your environment. If you can differentiate the difference between 68 degrees and 90, never go here. Everything else was right, but the temperature control was absolutely offending.

Room Tip: Don't choose a room here in the summer...go for an room with no air conditioner so you will not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LMSFOM, Front Office Manager at Lodge at Mountaineer Square, responded to this review, October 5, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to complete a review of our property. We strive to exceed our guests’ expectations, and we are disappointed that we failed to meet yours.

I would like to assure you that we do not “deliberately disable” the air conditioning in the hotel during the early hours of the morning. Although yours is the first complaint we have received regarding our air conditioning, we reviewed our system to ensure that the system was not turning off without our knowledge. As with all air conditioning units, it does cycle on and off as temperatures fluctuate throughout the day and evening to attain the proper temperature set point. However, we have found no evidence that the system was completely turned off in the early hours of the morning.

We feel that the issue with your room during your stay with us was more than likely due to the fact that the air conditioning was not actually turned on. Our thermostats can be challenging to operate, requiring that they be turned to “auto and cool” in order for the air conditioning to function in each unit. If the thermostat is set to “fan” or “heat,” the unit will remain warm, and temperatures can certainly rise at night if all windows are closed.

We certainly hope that you will allow us an opportunity to redeem your opinion of us by returning to stay with us next summer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

178 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    153
    14
    6
    4
    1
See reviews for
67
70
4
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Colliers, West Virginia
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

We stayed at many hotels during our trip, but this was by far the best one. We requested a mountain view and although we didn't have one in our first room, within 5 minutes, they had us booked in another room with fantastic views. The bed was large and comfortable. The bathroom was large and the bathtub! I didn't want to leave!!! Nice refrigerator and microwave and plenty of water and drink selections, even some popcorn for the late night munchies!! Would stay here again in if we visit Crested Butte.

The lighting in the bathroom is a little low. They do provide a make-up mirror to help with the lighting. But that is my one and only complaint!!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midland, MI
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

My wife, daughter and I stayed in a room in the residence section of this hotel and it was outstanding. Lots of room, nicely appointed, very comfortable and clean. There was a minor glitch at check-in when they had us booked for a different type of room than we had reserved through Hotels.com. Luckily I had printed a copy of my reservation and the front desk quickly straightened out the problem. Ruby was the housekeeper on our floor and she was extremely attentive, friendly and helpful. We stayed here in mid-August and the property was a bit on the quiet side- the hotel bar was closed and the on-site restaurant closed a bit early. Free parking is nearby so you can avoid the $20 parking fee if you don't mind walking a few hundred yards to your car (although that is probably more pleasant in the summer than in the dead of winter). The free local shuttle bus to town stops right at this property, so we took that into downtown Crested Butte for shopping and dining and that worked out very nicely. Overall we thoroughly enjoyed our stay here and would highly recommend it for a visit to Crested Butte.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roseville, Minnesota, United States
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

This hotel room was clean and nice, however, nothing is open past 9 and we were told to hurry up if we wanted dinner. (we arrived later due to our travel schedule and was starved) no vending machines other then pop and what we selected, something else came out. Staff was very nice but for what the room cost to what we received in value did not seem worth it. I probably would not stay here again. Downtown Crested Butte was awesome though! And even though we didn't use it, there is a bus that goes downtown from the lodge and back up again so that would be handy.

Room Tip: I wouldn't stay on the side that is facing the little mountain as the bus kept sitting there lou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

My wife and I only planned on staying in CB for 2 days but extended our trip for the full week due to how much we enjoyed the Lodge at Mountaineer Square. We typically stay in town but we found it really nice to be located at the base of the mountain. The rooms will not disappoint - very well decorated, high end features, clean and plenty of space. I have lived in Denver for 7 years and I will say that Crested Butte provides some of the best (if not the best) skiing, camping, biking, 4-wheeling and hiking in the state. Very diverse/cool offering of restaurants in town.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

Best hotel at Crested Butte, period!! We have stayed in the Lodge At Mountaineer Square several years in a row and we once again echo all of our comments from the previous visits! This slope side hotel is great. The suites are beautiful; the views of Crested Butte are awesome; walking out your door almost on top of the ski lifts is convenient; and the service ethic is just fantastic. Everyone was helpful, pleasant and appeared honestly interested in making sure we were happy. Our three bedroom suite must have had 31 places to sit, 4 large flat screen TVs, blue ray players in every room, 4 phones, the most comfortable beds/linens, etc. So, when we weren't skiing or shopping we felt surrounded by luxury. Chuck Donnelly is a great General Manager and pays constant attention to his guests needs. The house keepers are polite, efficient, thorough. I haven't even mentioned the great mountain and quaint town. Crested Butte has some of the best back country advanced skiing around, but not at the expense of blue and green trails. My wife is a beginner and she had plenty to ski. I am comfortable with single black diamonds and also skiied all week without getting bored. My daughter was searching for cliffs and woods and never ran out of terrain. And lift lines? Forget it, there are none. In addition, the town of Crested Butte is fun and has a surprising number of great restaurants. We really liked Soupcon, Marchitelli's Noodles, Ryce Asian Bistro, and Wooden Nickel. Uley's Cabin (the ice bar) is another great dinner spot half way up the mountain). Crested Butte might be a little harder to reach then Park City or Vail but it's a great resort and Lodge at Mountaineer Square is the best hotel at the resort!

Room Tip: Don't forget to wander down to the lobby mid afternoon for fresh baked warm cookies. Ask to f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stone Mountain, Georgia
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

Greeted nicely. One must pay an extra $20 a day to park in the underground garage which is ridiculous. You can park free on the dirt lot which is a block away. Careful of walking into the wrong hotel coming back for the first time. The Lodge was not occupied very much. In fact we never saw another guest in the hallway or elevator but yet they assigned us a room on the 2nd floor facing an interior courtyard! I called the front desk and within 15 minutes they moved us to the 4th floor facing the mountain which was very nice. Room is nicely decorated though a bit small. They need bigger pillows for bedding but the linens were top rate. The bathroom is poorly designed and lighting is very poor. The lights above the sink were set too low. It is actually dark in the shower. The shower had no holders for soap and shampoo. There was very limited counter space and only one sink thus on,y one person could use the bathroom at a time. They place a ceramic Kleenex holder on top of the toilet and of course I knocked it down and it broke into pieces. I told the front desk about it and they did not charge me. The TV had unusually poor picture quality 90% of the time. HD came in and out and mostly out. The picture was dark and faded. I called the front desk which they were to contact the engineer but they never got back to us. The one gratis lift ticket was nice but the extra resort fee during summer usage was not. The location was great.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lodge at Mountaineer Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lodge at Mountaineer Square

Address: 620 Gothic Road, P.O. Box 5700, Crested Butte, CO 81225
Location: United States > Colorado > Crested Butte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Crested Butte
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lodge at Mountaineer Square 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just steps from the ski lifts, the Lodge at Mountaineer Square in Crested Butte, Colorado features premier studio, one, two, three, and four-bedroom suites with deluxe amenities, including indoor/outdoor heated swimming pool, outdoor hot tub, sauna and fitness room, bell, valet, concierge services and a full-service front desk. Relax in front of the fireplace and enjoy a drink with friends or associates at the on-site Trackers Bar & Lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel and Venere so you can book your Lodge at Mountaineer Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lodge At Mountaineer Square Hotel Crested Butte
Hotel At Mountaineer Square
At Mountaineer Square Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lodge at Mountaineer Square, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.