We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another great stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lodge at Mountaineer Square

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Lodge at Mountaineer Square to your Saves list
Lodge at Mountaineer Square
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   620 Gothic Road, P.O. Box 5700, Crested Butte, CO 81225   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Crested Butte
Washington DC
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Another great stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

We had another great stay at the Lodge. The staff is very friendly and eager to help you in any way. They had great restaurant recommendations as well. We were there a few years ago when it was brand new, but everything was still up to date and clean. We had a studio deluxe room which was more of a one bedroom as it had a separate bedroom from the living/dining/kitchen area. The movies were a little pricey, but easily fixed if you bring your own iphone/ipad, adapter, and HDMI cable to hook into the TV. There are lots of new places on the mountain for breakfast/lunch/dinner so be sure to check out my other reviews. My only suggestion for the Lodge is to offer whipped cream for the hot chocolate in the room :)

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    156
    15
    8
    4
    1
See reviews for
67
72
4
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fairhope, Alabama
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

We always have a great time in Crested Butte - We love the wide runs on the slopes and all the many choices for each ski level. It is a ski town paradise. Even though sometimes it can be hard to get to, it is always worth it!!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canton, Georgia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

Just spent a full week at the Lodge with my family, 2/16-24, and lets just say we were blown away. Planning this ski trip months in advance, and dealing with the staff at the Lodge more then a dozen times over the phone, their customer service was incredible. They accommodated every request we had. It was my wife's 40th, we wanted it to be special. From the bellmen, to the front desk managers, to the cleaning staff, everyone was top notch. They made you feel you were getting Ritz Carlton quality, in a small ski town mountain setting. Our room was 509, 2 bed, 3 full bath, balcony, fire place, full kitchen, dining table, with direct mountain view, really spectacular. The room was immaculate, our girls 9 and 16 had their own room and full bath, small fridge, and everything they could need. Very nice to come home everyday from a long day on the slopes to a clean room. The 3rd full bathroom came in handy when we were all getting ready in the morning, plenty of room for all. You can look up these rooms on Youtube and check them out before you go. We thought they looked great on Youtube, but they look even bigger and nicer in person. The Lodge is right next to the lifts, approx 50 yard walik, the ski valet is right outside the door, superb location. All in all, our trip was great because of the great beautiful mountain, great town, great local people, but it would not have been half as good if we stayed somewhere else. The Lodge at Mountaineer Square made it all special. We are planning a summer trip, and will be back for skiing next winter!! Cant wait!!

Room Tip: Watch youtube room details, and call the Lodge staff. They will help you pick the perfect room. I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013 via mobile

Our large family had a wonderful experience in Crested Butte at the Lodge at Mountaineer Square. From reservations, to check in and out to on and off mountain experience everything was wonderful. We reserved two three bedroom condos at the lodge. The rooms and the location were terrific. Right in the center of the base area. Although the cost was certainly expensive I feel it was worth the price as the value of the experience was outstanding. We'll certainly return to the Lodge at Mountaineer Square for our next family skiing reunion.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mechanicsburg, PA
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013 via mobile

We are at the end of our 7 day stay over Presidents' Weekend in a slopeside 2 bedroom/3 bath condo. Can't beat the location even if it isn't ski-in/ski-out. Lift ticket office and restaurants conveniently located on ground floor. Skis stored at Outpost make for an easy walk to the Red Lady Lift. Daily housekeeping was great at beginning of stay but compromised over the busy weekend. I expected cleaning to be done when we were out skiing 9-4 not at 4:30 upon our return. A minor inconvenience. Note that the 2bed/3 bath units are really a 1 bedroom condo with 2 baths and a hotel room lock-off which was fine for us. Comfy beds but could use larger and more mirrors as well as hooks for hanging towels, robes, ski clothes, etc. recommend Django's for dinner and Jefes for lunch located on ground floor. Overall a good experience!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new jersey
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Wonderful, upscale condo conveniently located at the base. The staff were all friendly and were eager to help with suggestions on restaurants and activities. From the minute we entered the condo with soft music playing we knew we had picked a great place. Housekeeping replenished coffee, tea, hot cocoa and bottled water daily. A nice perc!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilbert, Arizona, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

The staff at The Lodge at Mountaineer Square in Crested Butte were very friendly and accommodating. The front desk staff and bell staff was very welcoming to us and our three small children... not all hotels are as happy to have little ones. We were very happy to find two pack and plays already set up and ready to go when we checked in to our room. We understand that not all hotels appreciate having small guests but they went above and beyond. They even provided two child sized bathrobes for our oldest boys. Our boys especially loved the cookies and hot cocoa that were served every afternoon.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Lodge at Mountaineer Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lodge at Mountaineer Square

Address: 620 Gothic Road, P.O. Box 5700, Crested Butte, CO 81225
Location: United States > Colorado > Crested Butte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Crested Butte
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lodge at Mountaineer Square 3.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just steps from the ski lifts, the Lodge at Mountaineer Square in Crested Butte, Colorado features premier studio, one, two, three, and four-bedroom suites with deluxe amenities, including indoor/outdoor heated swimming pool, outdoor hot tub, sauna and fitness room, bell, valet, concierge services and a full-service front desk. Relax in front of the fireplace and enjoy a drink with friends or associates at the on-site Trackers Bar & Lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Lodge at Mountaineer Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lodge At Mountaineer Square Hotel Crested Butte
Hotel At Mountaineer Square
At Mountaineer Square Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lodge at Mountaineer Square, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.