We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice staff, not too crazy about the hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Lodge at Mountaineer Square

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Lodge at Mountaineer Square to your Saves list
Lodge at Mountaineer Square
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   620 Gothic Road, P.O. Box 5700, Crested Butte, CO 81225   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Crested Butte
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Michigan
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Very nice staff, not too crazy about the hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

I have to to say that despite not liking the hotel itself, all of the staff at the hotel were very nice. I think our problem was with Crested Butte itself, it was just not what we were expecting and I think it is a place more for mountain bikers than hikers. We decided we wanted to leave a day early, but we had prepaid through Expedia. Expedia said it was up to the hotel whether they wanted to refund us or not, and the hotel manager was very nice and refunded us the one night. The hotel charges a resort fee, but I don't consider the hotel a resort. The room we had was very small, but very clean. The biggest complaint comes from the size of the pillows. They are postage stamps, and flat as pancakes, and they only give you 3 unless you want to use the icky decorative pillows to prop yourself up. The TV is also very small, and our room only had one mirror, a very small bathroom mirror. The workout room was also very small. It has just 2 treadmills, an elliptical, and minimal free weights. I guess if your going to charge resort fees have resort amenities. If your looking for a clean place to sleep with nice customer service this is the place, but don't expect a "resort."

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    168
    16
    9
    4
    1
See reviews for
71
81
4
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

The Lodge at Mountaineer Square is the perfect location to enjoy activities at Mt. Crested Butte. And when visitors want to explore the town for dinner or shopping, the free shuttle bus is just outside the hotel's courtyard. There are new activities on the mountain for families to enjoy in the summer, and you can still zipline in the winter. The Lodge is a premier hotel with beautifully maintained condos. (If you stay on the 5th floor, Ruby will take very good care of you!) There are several cozy areas where you can visit with friends or read by the fire near the lobby. We were very pleased with the lovely furnishings and the friendly and helpful staff.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

We came here for our 10 yr anniversary and were treated like royalty. The staff were really great and went above and beyond for us. I can't imagine how fun this place would be in the winter!! Very clean, great pool and hot tub with a beautiful view!!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Randolph, New Jersey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

My husband and I had our 10 year anniversary at the Lodge at Mountaineer Square. The moment we arrived the front desk staff was helpful and checked us in right away. The room we stayed in was a basic studio apartment and we had a nice view of the courtyard with mountains in the background. Every person we encountered either staff at local establishments or inside the hotel was friendly and inviting. We had lot's to do the week of 8/20 since the USA Pro Challenge bike race was happening. We took a zip line tour, biked and climbed Mt Crested Butte to the Peak! It was an exhilirating experience to see the 360 degree views! We will be coming back to Mt Crested Butte in the winter to try skiing. We also might be looking to buy some property in the near future!! ;)

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manitou Springs, Colorado
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

Arrived by car. Upon pulling up to the front of the hotel the first thing that you see is a sign telling you that you will be towed if it takes you more than 20 minutes to check in. Perhaps a more thoughtful hotel management would at the least have more prominent signage offering a WELCOME to their arriving guests.

Check in experience was clumsy, aloof, and everything expect warm and welcoming. 0 offers of information, "how was your trip in?", "are there questions I can answer?", etc. Zip

There is a fee for parking. Upon leaving the parking garage for the day (day 2), we had to pay the automated attendant $40. Upon checking out, we were charged an additional $40 for parking. Another poorly trained and in need of a personality desk clerk at check out was not empowered to make any adjustments to our bill, we will have to wait until tomorrow when her "Manager" comes to work.

Employees not empowered to resolve even simple customer issues. IT's all adding up to a trend.

Room - the smallest TV that I have seen in many years in ANY hotel room. Cheap shampoo that doesn't lather, plenty more but running out of time.

A hotel that obviously is in need of basic lessons on what brings customers back.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LMSFOM, Front Office Manager at Lodge at Mountaineer Square, responded to this review, August 29, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review the Lodge at Mountaineer Square on Trip Advisor. We value the comments of our guests, and we regret that you left our hotel with such a negative overall impression of our facilities, operations and the level of service provided throughout your stay.

We apologize that our 20-minute parking warnings did not convey a welcoming first impression of the hotel. As we are at the center of the base area of Mt. Crested Butte, we do have many people who stop in front of the hotel to make deliveries or drop off guests accessing the base area, and these 20-minute parking signs are intended to ensure that these cars do not remain for an indetermintate amount of time and prevent easy access of our guests to the lobby and parking garage at checkin and checkout. By no means are guests restricted to checking into the hotel in 20 minutes or less. We appreciate the fact that you have made us aware that these signs convey a negative message, and we will take your comments into consideration when updating our signs for the winter season.

We also apologize that your experience at checkin and checkout failed to meet, let alone exceed, your expectations. Our Front Desk staff are certainly not lacking in personality, training or empowerment to resolve guest issues, as many of our prior Trip Advisor reviews will illustrate. We are typically highly attentive to our guests’ needs, seeking to exceed expectations and create repeat guests whenever possible. We are not above mistakes, however, and we clearly missed the mark in your overall guest experience on several levels.

We apologize that we failed to provide a friendly, welcoming and thorough checkin experience. In addition to a warm and friendly welcome and providing specific information on the area and the hotel, ingress and egress to the parking garage should have been thoroughly explained to you at checkin. I apologize that this did not happen during your checkin experience. We typically stress to each guest that parking charges will be added to your incidental folio due to the Front Desk at checkout and that you should NOT pay to exit the parking garage. Front Desk staff are empowered to reverse parking charges paid to the automated attendant up to the amount posted on the guest’s folio. We appreciate that you have brought to our attention the fact that this did not happen with you, and I have reviewed these procedures with all Front Desk staff to ensure that this does not take place again.

While each of our units do have flat screen TVs, the size and location of each TV differs by unit type and each unit. We are in the process of upgrading the TVs in each of our units to include larger TVs, and we would have been happy to have moved you to a similar unit type with a larger TV had you so requested this.

The shampoo provided as a guest amenity in each unit is Gilchrest and Soames, which is a highly respected line of products used throughout the hotel industry and by many higher end hotels. Yours is the first complaint we have received regarding this product, and we are researching whether or not we received a bad shipment of what is normally an excellent product.

Thank you again for taking the time to share your concerns regarding your recent experience with us. I hope that you will consider staying with us again in the future, and allowing us an opportunity to alter your opinion of our facilities, operations and the level of service we provide.

Heather Leonard
Front Office Manager
The Lodge at Mountaineer Square
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highlands Ranch, Colorado
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012 via mobile

I will admit I have been spoiled by a previous trip to Telluride last year and a stay at Hotel Madeline. I expected a lot from the Lodge and was underwhelmed. We booked a king room and while it was a good size room nothing about it said more than average. The room was sparsey decorated, the hutch with the TV angled away from the bed, we were in one of the only rooms without a patio. The mirror in the bathroom was tiny, again nothing wrong just nothing special. I do appreciate the free bottles of water. Be aware that you get charged a $12 resort fee and $20 to park per day. When you take the elevator to the courtyard I was not thrilled to see the kitchen of Django, again just a small pet peeve and we decided we didn't want to eat there even if it ranked #1 in Crested Butte by TripAdvisor. I recommend if possible doing a rental home, the houses in Crested Butte are beautiful and I think you will appreciate a trip to Crested Butte more than we did. Oh we left a day early and we prepaid, found it interesting that when we checked out nobody asked why or seemed to care if it might be something they could do. Got that impression of non caring when we checked and when we checked out.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

We decided to try the hotel based on others recommendations on tripadvisor. We weren't disappointed! Check in was wonderful. Staff were very accommodating and informative of the area. We were in our room in no time. Maintenance was called to check on television reception and arrived and fixed the problem in less than 5 minutes. The front desk even called to check on our satisfication. Like others said there is a shuttle to go back to town every 20 minutes and the hotel will provide their own service to and from town if a bellman is available. We were so impressed we decided to stay another night!

Room Tip: Ask for a balcony. They are amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Lodge at Mountaineer Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lodge at Mountaineer Square

Address: 620 Gothic Road, P.O. Box 5700, Crested Butte, CO 81225
Location: United States > Colorado > Crested Butte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Crested Butte
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lodge at Mountaineer Square 3.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just steps from the ski lifts, the Lodge at Mountaineer Square in Crested Butte, Colorado features premier studio, one, two, three, and four-bedroom suites with deluxe amenities, including indoor/outdoor heated swimming pool, outdoor hot tub, sauna and fitness room, bell, valet, concierge services and a full-service front desk. Relax in front of the fireplace and enjoy a drink with friends or associates at the on-site Trackers Bar & Lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Expedia and getaroom.com so you can book your Lodge at Mountaineer Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lodge At Mountaineer Square Hotel Crested Butte
Hotel At Mountaineer Square
At Mountaineer Square Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lodge at Mountaineer Square, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.